Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dd Eisenhower High School (Campus)

Public | 9-12 | 1802 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2014

I have had students enrolled at DDE for 7 years. The education is wonderful. Honors and AP courses provide rigorous challenges for the students. There is a positive, safe, friendly atmosphere in the school. All staff are helpful. Extra-curriculars are varied and high-quality. The school continually works to improve and the results are noticeable and commendable. I think the rating of 2 is inaccurate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

My grandson who is a Junior at DD Eisenhower loves his school. Anytime a young man can say that that about his school, has my approval. He is doing above average work too. He is academic scholarship eligible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

I graduated from DDE in 2001. I went to college on scholarships As a teacher myself, I can appreciate how hard working and devoted the teachers of Eisenhower were. It is encouraging to know that many of them are still at DDE. The school offers a lot. The programs are good and the attention paid to related services, such as social work, is of high quality and sincere. There is also a true "team" approach to educating and caring for students. The student and staff are diverse, not only racially, but also linguistically and economically. I remember sitting next to other students who lived in huge old mansions as well as those in section 8 housing (though those were extremes.) This exposure to different people and cultures did not seem important at the time, but it was invaluable in college and now, in my professional life. DDE has a higher graduation rate than the other schools in the district. Unfortunately, though, many people- particularly white, upper middle class people, look down on DDE students. Still, I highly encourage everyone to check out this school.


Posted November 17, 2010

This school does not care to keep good teachers. Only cares about the budget and looking good on paper. The Special Ed. dept. is the worst due to the administration. She needs to go.


Posted August 23, 2009

I am a parent of a young man who attended this school for four years not only did he learn, he played football all four years and went on to graduate college . I think it is a darn good school with caring teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

academically below expectations.poor parent teacher communication only available via report card forget email parental involvement not permitted nor thru board meetings not a day goes by when my child wittnesd a fightthe parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

This school district is horrible. My husband went to this school and they did nothing to help him with his reading problems, the teachers never even took enough interest in him to be able to notice that he had a problem, they just figured he didn't care enough about school. If you're caucasian, then be prepared to deal with a lot of Spanish programs and having your announcements done in Spanish also. The cater more to the Spanish speaking students then they do anyone else. I have a child in kindergarden who also went to preschool in this district. She will be starting 1st grade in the fall, and after the problems I have had with this district, I am transferring her to another district. I want my daughter to get a good and respectable education. I don't want her to suffer academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

I have 2 children who attend here, basically the school is ok but my children are caucasain and are the minority. The teachers are good but be prepared to hold your own. It is a diverse school and english is the 2nd language there. It is not as bad as I thought it would be, my kids are doing ok there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

Well I am a sophomore I am attending to Eisenhower I love this High school its been the best 2 years of my life.. I met new friends, the teachers are very nice and help a lot with the things students don't understand .. The Deans are always there to help students succeed and help them to think about their future and not waste their time getting into trouble, they helped me a lot and made me realize that getting good grades will get me into a better collage.. well I'm very pleased to be attending this high school.. -- aka-- == JC ===
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

Eisenhower offers students superb administration, careing teachers, and a wonderful environment to be educated. The district goes above and beyond to give their students a great education. Students with special needs are never fall between the cracks. The support services are amazing.. What a great school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2008

they take good care of there students and makes it a great learning envoiroment for success
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2007

I'm a former student from D.D.E. I met new friends and teachers.The teachers really care about you unlike some other schools.I had the time of my life there and think others would to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2005

Fantastic High School, it's full of extracurricular activities, the teachers are wonderful and well educated. I was a student and now I am a parent looking forward to my child attending here.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 24, 2004

Ok I'm not a parent, but I can tell you this school is what you make of it. Most of the teachers are superb (except foreign language dept)! Get in to honors courses and extracurriculars and this school is the best!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

I am a former student of this school,and I did my freshman and sophmore yr here and then transferred to a texas school and this school had more to offer than all three high schools in my area i had to go to all three just to get in all my extracurricular activities as well as other classes. good school,staff,spirt thank you - would be class of 95 --go big red!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students24%
Female22%
Male25%
Black22%
Asian45%
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Low income23%
Not low income26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities26%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students29%
Female30%
Male29%
Black29%
Asian55%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Low income28%
Not low income33%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities32%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students23%
Female21%
Male24%
Black20%
Asian55%
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Low income23%
Not low income23%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities24%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

71.7%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 24%
Black 38% 18%
White 14% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Gary Rauch

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12700 Sacramento Avenue
Blue Island, IL 60406
Phone: (708) 597-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Blue Cap School
Blue Island, IL





Marist High School
Chicago, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT