Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jonas E Salk Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
I have had 5 children attend Jonas Salk over the last 7 years and I am very pleased with the curriculum, activities and faculty that are available to my children. They are trying very hard to make this school a great learning environment for kids and provide them with the tools needed to suceed. It is common sense that it is not only up to the school, it is also up to the children and their parents to make that happen.

Jonas E Salk Elementary School 3

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
Our family has nothing but stellar things to say about this school's administration and teachers, and our children consistently score in the 95th+ percentile nationwide. I would give jonas salk 5 stars, but obviously there are many children not "making the grade." I don't know if the school is to blame for this, though. I can tell you my kids have great attendance, always do their homework, and we attend every parent/teacher opportunity...these small steps go a long way.


Jonas E Salk Elementary School 1

Posted June 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attended Salk for kindergarten & first grade. The curriculum seems to focus on those that are behind, allowing the children that are average to above average to fall below the radar. I felt her time spent there was wasted as the material was never challenging. I asked for more challenging material for two years and I was told we would receive it.. but we never did . I definitely would not recommend this school unless you are looking for a cheap daycare facility that offers only socialization.

Jonas E Salk Elementary School 4

Posted March 02, 2012
- a parent
Salk is a great school with excellent leadership from the principal and school administration. The teachers we have dealt with (six in total over two kids thus far) have ranged from excellent to average, but never below average. Parent involvement is frustratingly low - too many parents seem to look at school as a daycare. After school activities that rely on parent involvement have suffered in recent years. The neighborhood is nice but older, however this school is about a block away from a middle school and sometimes the middle school students can be a bit unrefined and use coarse language around the younger children. The middle school kids are not allowed on the grade school campus unless they are picking up a sibling - this rule is strictly enforced. Almost all of the interaction between middle and elementary students is from students who are walkers.

Jonas E Salk Elementary School 2

Posted February 16, 2012
- a parent
The teachers and the staff are pretty good, and there are alot of after school activities and childcare and bus service. however, the classes are maxed out to capacity for the student/teacher ratio. The Neighborhood around the school is ok. I have had some problems with older teens hanging out cussing listening to nasty rap music and have even had some fights and some theivery from these older kids.


Jonas E Salk Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Jonas E Salk Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Jonas E Salk Elementary School 3

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Jonas E Salk Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Jonas E Salk Elementary School 4

Posted February 08, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jonas E Salk Elementary School
500 King Arthur Way, Bolingbrook, IL  60440
(630) 739-3603
Last modified Jonas E Salk Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jonas E Salk Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top