Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Buffalo Grove, IL
Students enrolled: 668

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Cooper Middle School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Cooper is a great school. My two older kids went there and now my youngest is Cooper student. The school principal and the teachers played essential role in my children development and their placement into advanced programs. That definitely helped them in being admitted to the best colleges in the country. In addition to gifted math, reading, communications, Spanish classes, Cooper has phenomenal band program led by one of the most talented educators I ever met. The band constantly wins all contests in the region.

Cooper Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a student
Amazing School! I'm a current student in 8th grade, and all my 2 yeas at cooper have been nothing but fun. However, there were some cases where the teachers would be ignorant to the students, and some have openly discussed that they don't care about the students, just there for the pay checks. Mostly women teachers that have retired, so nothing to worry about :) overall, the new principal is amazing, shows that he cares about us, and I hope he does later on. Great school!

Cooper Middle School 5

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
Great school in a great district. Teachers are caring. I am pleased with the diversity of this school and feel it is another one of its strengths. Very welcoming neighborhood.

Cooper Middle School 2

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
Great extracurricular choices--something for everyone (garden club, art club, ski club, and lots more). That's on the good side. On the bad side are the academics. Yes, the teachers are nice, but the curriculum is sorely deficient. Gotta feel bad knowing these kids are going to be thrown into high school totally unprepared.

Cooper Middle School 1

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
Just moved to the area, the secretary is unpleasant/ uncooperative. I'm unable to get a tour of the school during the day, only after hours. Very disappointed as I pay about $6K in taxes per yr for the schools alone.

Cooper Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I have a 6th grade student at Cooper. It is a great school - the best i have experienced yet. The teachers are very knowledgeable and i love the extra curricular programs the school offers, in terms of Sports and music - for the childerns involvement. Great allaround!.

Cooper Middle School 5

Posted October 12, 2013
- a parent
My child is a new sixth grader and is loving it so far. He is on a great team with very nice teachers. He is a bright student and comes home telling us he is having fun. He is doing great things and is challenged...can't wait for the opportunity to get his hands on the new Chromebook!

Cooper Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2013
- a community member
I am student at the school, and I think that all the teachers are great. The school has a great accelerated program, and all students are in the classes that fit their needs. We do a lot of hard working, but still have fun. That keeps students attached to the learning and ready to learn, ALWAYS! -a current student-

Cooper Middle School 1

Posted May 27, 2013
- a community member
The teachers don't care about the education of the students, they're just here to collect their paychecks. Many of the teachers have actually admitted to not caring about students and have stressed the fact that it's just a job to them. Many of the teachers are clueless about the subjects they teach about. They google most of the questions that students ask them. Also, teachers think that they let students have "fun" in the school. That's a joke. They yell at you for talking (even while they're not talking), they yell at you for being in the hall after the passing period even if you have a pass, they don't allow you to use the bathroom no matter how much of an emergency it is but whenever they need to use it they just leave the class and use it and ask another teacher to watch over the students, teachers also bully students and talk bad stuff about them to other students, and teachers will openly tell other students your grades. The principle doesn't do anything. Read her reviews from students from Thompson Middle School and you'll see. This school is terrible. Avoid it at all costs. -- Current Student

Cooper Middle School 1

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
Only send your child to this school if you are for bullying, blatant discrimination against the students and a lack of true education. One of the worst experiences of our childrens life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cooper Middle School
1050 Plum Grove Circle, Buffalo Grove, IL  60089
(847) 520-2750
Last modified Cooper Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cooper Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top