Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Buffalo Grove High School

Public | 9-12 | 2082 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2014

Excellent school and welcoming neighborhood. The faculty is truly committed to teaching every child. This is an accepting place of any and all kinds of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

Yes Dist. 214 is "SUPPOSED" to be a great school dist., however, I beg to differ. I'm a graduate class of 2010. I did not start at BG but I did start my fresh. and soph. years off at Wheeling High School. Just to let you know there is a big difference between both Buffalo Grove and Wheeling. Wheeling HS had a welcoming atmosphere, Buffalo Grove not so much. When I went with my mom to get enrolled in school, some of the staff was rude to us and they pretty much acted like they didn't want to go through the hassle of trying enrolling me. I had to get a new counselor, because the first one I had wasn't trying to help me find my best interest after HS! I kind of felt like some of last year was a complete waste to me. I do believe that Dist. 214 is a good school dist. but fails to meet EVERY CHILD'S EXPECTATIONS when it comes to learning, which every kid needs his/her learning experiences fulfilled to the greatest maximum.


Posted January 9, 2011

If you are thinking about moving to this area do it. Its a great community to grow up in. I live in Arlington Heights and i am a current student at BG. I am in my senior year. This offers a slew of courses... auto shop, robotics, 2 bands, orchestras and choirs, and even strength training. They also have AP level, Honor level, "regular" and preparatory level courses to choose from. I feel like i am completely ready for college with all the prepatation i have gotten over the past 4 years. I got into a bunch of different universities; Northwestern, Tulane, U of Illinois, etc. I will be going to Illinois next year and have no academic worries. While BG is not the most diverse school it is rare to find a truly diverse school. We are a predominately white school but we also have Hispanic, European, and African american students. There are parties that go on, alcohol is consumed, drugs are used... but unless you are at a military academy these things happen. If you become involved in school then the chances of direct exposure to these activities are greatly reduced.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2010

As a former student, I can attest that I never saw a class with more than 25 students. Most of my classes were small (range of 15-20). If I had difficulty in a subject, my teachers were all easy to contact and arrange for additional assistance. There are a large number of clubs available to students. I never felt pressure to fit in with any group of peers, drive a stunning car, or wear particularly fashionable clothes. I never encountered alcohol or drugs. Though there was security at sporting events, I am confident that this is standard in the interest of the safety of the attendees and not to stifle fun. I disagree with the person who claimed the school was diverse. 88% of Buffalo Grove is white, and the student body reflects those demographics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2010

This school has failed to make AYP (Annual Yearly Progress) during the past 3 or so years. It has quite a drug and alcohol problem. There's cops at every home sporting event at BGHS. There's a high pressure to excel at BGHS and be in the right groups, have the right friends, drive the right car, wear the right clothes, and only hang out with those like you. There's a lot of cliques. Many of the parents are rude and look down on anyone who isn't like them and their student(s).


Posted October 27, 2008

Great school. Offers many activities and events. I enjoyed learning in this school and got accepted into a great university.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

A top 3 school in the area!! Teachers care about the student and his/her success. Diverse school, but not too diverse, gives just the perfect amount needed to let our young adults learn and go through life experiences. Great culture and learning environment. Keep up the good work!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

too many kids in classes. Some teachers arent very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

its pretty fun i suggest getting in sports, thats how you will meet alot of people and just be active active in school events
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2007

I suggest your kids being in AP classes, thats the best route to go in don't worry about fitting in.. I can't count the number of people I already see messing up there lives. Other then that all I have to say is good luck. Many after school activites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2006

I am a freshman at Buffalo Grove and so far the teachers are good and people are nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

I think BGHS is actually a pretty good school, some people think the 'drug content' is an issue, but what high school now adays doesn't have drugs. Overall BGHS keeps a pretty tight knit on students, and the teachers are some of the most caring people. The kids are usually friendly but of course your always going to have a few that aren't. The school just added on an addition and it looks nice, from the inside to the out BGHS has pride.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female69%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian87%
Hispanic36%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White83%
Low income35%
Non-low income81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities76%
English language learners22%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female64%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian76%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial70%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Low income33%
Non-low income72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities68%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students68%
Female62%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Hispanic32%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Low income31%
Non-low income76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities72%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

92.6%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 51%
Hispanic 18% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Black 2% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 West Dundee Road
Buffalo Grove, IL 60089
Phone: (847) 718-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

James Whitcomb Riley School
Arlington Heights, IL




John Hersey High School
Arlington Heights, IL


St Viator High School
Arlington Heights, IL


J Slowacki School
Wheeling, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT