Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dundee-Crown High School

Public | 9-12 | 2512 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2008

What is with all of these parent reviews? Shouldn't students be the ones rating the school since they attend the school? I graduated from Dundee Crown in 2007 and think the school is not very good. I suppose it isn't a problem with Dundee Crown itself, but the entire public school system. Don't get me wrong, the people are great, but the education obtained from the school is garbage. IUpon attending a four year university, I had to revamp my entire outlook on school. What I mean is,
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2007

I am a former student from Dundee-Crown and have only great experiences from it. The schools diversity sets it a part from any school in the area and gives you life lessons as well as a great education. I am a scholarship athlete at a University and I believe Dundee-Crown was obne of the main reasons I've been so successful!!!


Posted September 19, 2006

As a 'new' parent of an incoming Freshman, we have only rave reviews and not only from us but our daughter 'loves' her school. DCHS has made the transition into High School so smooth and a very wonderful experience - we would choose DCHS over any other High School in out district! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

My son has been to Dundee Crown. First impression was not that good. However, the school has got high education standards and takes keen interest in the education of each students by keeping parents in check with the grades and performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

For motivated students, every opportunity is there at D-CHS to succeed. The teachers are on average out-standing and the principal runs a tight ship. Guidance department is tops but very over-loaded. The key is to plan the four year curriculum up-front. Parents should be involved early and stay involved through out the four years. Many students go on to successful careers from this diverse high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

I attend this school and its an alright school. there are much better high-schools out there but i wouldn't go anywhere else. I dont know if i'd reccommend this school to anyone i guess you'd have to go there and experience it yourself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2005

I think Dundee Crown is amazing. My brother went to the other high school(Jacobs) in our district and my parents have been very impressed with DC. I'm involved with poms, 5 different clubs, and the music programs. I feel that if there was anything I was into I would be able to find some kind of group who enjoyed the same things. I also love the diversity because there are so many interesting people and it makes high school more like college and the 'real world'. I disagree with the previous comment, except for our english dept. we also have amazing history and math teachers. Our bands and orchestras are phenominal and the sports teams are well-recognized and are appreciated by the school. Thanks DC for 4 awesome years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2004

My experience is that this school does not stand by or help it's students or parents. My son was an average student and a excellent athlete. But received no help with college prepration. My son actually thought he didn't excell in sports. Even though he broke several records and holds several. I wished my son would have taken my offer to transfer, but he loved his school. I think they should take a stronger role in helping parents like myself who knows nothing of the system. Not to be totally negative I must also add that the English Dept has one of the best English teachers around. Mrs Ferrel. My son loved her. She is one teacher who cares about her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female39%
Male45%
Black17%
Asian50%
Hispanic30%
Multiracial33%
Native Americann/a
White61%
Low income29%
Non-low income63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities45%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female48%
Male43%
Black15%
Asian58%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial47%
Native Americann/a
White67%
Low income28%
Non-low income71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities48%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students38%
Female33%
Male43%
Black10%
Asian50%
Hispanic19%
Multiracial40%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Low income20%
Non-low income67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities41%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

81.9%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 24%
White 41% 51%
Black 8% 18%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Kings Road
Carpentersville, IL 60110
Phone: (224) 484-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oak Ridge School
Carpentersville, IL


Oak Ridge Rssp
Carpentersville, IL




Summit School
Elgin, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT