Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dundee-Crown High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 7, 2014

I'm an incoming junior for the 2014-2015 school year I've had one year at Jacobs (freshmen) and a year at crown (sophomore). I am very happy with the change that I made, crown has a more involved community they have clubs for everyone and a wide variety music, welding, plastics, robotics etc. I have gotten myself more involved when I made the change. Dundee crown has very little "gang" issues like people seem to think. It has definitely helped me realize who I am and grow as a person. Jacobs kind of pushed me to the side teachers and friends. Dundee is more professional and I have met a lot of great friends! If recommend this school to everyone!


Posted October 12, 2013

This is my second year at Dundee-Crown and I love the school. We have great sports teams and a great student section. Last year as a freshman it was so cool winning Battle of the Fan from Comcast. I mean Dundee-Crown is not talked about as a good school but it really is. No you are not going to get shot walking down the hallway. So many things have changed through the years, and it's not as bad as it was a couple years ago. Teachers are helpful and do suggest tutoring a lot, the only downside is if you cannot go to after school because of other commitments, you have no asp (Juniors, and Seniors) or you have other classes you're failing. But all in all it's a great school with great students and staff.


Posted June 8, 2013

There are a lot of gang members at this school! It's not a very safe place to be at -_-
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2012

Dundee Crown is a great school. My children have been very successful here, graduating with honors and attend Big 10 schools with scholarships. Dundee Crown represents a real world high school experience and prepares the students well for their future. The staff and administration are in tuned with the student body and their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

My son is a freshman! He is in many honors classes and feels challenged academically! He has been accepted socially and really enjoys his classes and the learning environment! He is a football player and wrestler! My son loves being part of the audience for varsity games! Dundee Crown is a perfect fit for my son! I can't wait for my daughter to have similar experiences when she enters the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2012

I am a freshman at Dundee Crown this year, and my experience hasn't been very welcoming. The environment is chaotic, there are people misbehaving without punishment, and many things are to my dislike. The teacher's here are good, and I have no complaint on them. I do believe there should be a different punishment system. Out of school suspensions are practically giving students a vacation. In school suspensions are neither beneficial to the school or to the students. I think there should be a more efficient punishment that teaches students a lesson for what they have done, so they do not misbehave. I also believe that there should be a stricter dress code for girls. A lot of them come to school in ridiculously short shorts, and shirts that go way too low in the chest area. Personally I find it sickening. If you have a choice to go to a different school, go to a different school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2012

Horrible school with chaotic environment. The truancy numbers say it all. My IEP student got absolutely no support or help at this school---they failed him miserably. Overcrowded classrooms and teachers have given up trying to control the awful behavior. Removed our child from this toxic environment. View the Illinois state report card. No responsible parent would deliberately choose this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Fantastic leadership, fantastic teachers and fantastic extracurriculars and clubs. What a great school this is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

The teachers and counselors are excellent. My son has only received support from all of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Dundee Crown High School takes the time to acknowledge students who excel academically. My daughter has been an Honor Roll Student throughout her school years and was never acknowledged by previous schools she attended. Dundee Crown High School was the first school to give her a certificate for High Honors. Thanks Dundee Crown for acknowledging her hard work:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My daughter is in her second year at DCHS. She really likes it there and we haven't had any problems. I attended a top 3 Chicago H.S. and I think that DCHS is equal if not better then the H.S. I attended. There is a diverse student population which I believe just adds to her education experience. I highly recommend DCHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

I have had three children attend Dundee Crown. This is not the worst school, but it is not a good school either. If you have a choice, pick a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

We were amazed at how many Ill. State Scholars came from Dundee Crown, and how many students who have attended have scored into the high 20s and low 30s on their ACT scores in the last several years, GO CHARGERS! #1 ranked Boys B-Ball in Suburbs 2009. Thank You staff at DC! Thank You Parents! Thank You students, you have one great school here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

Quite a few teachers can be disrespectful but there are some amazing teachers too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

Dundee-Crown provided challenging curriculum and vast amounts of opportunities to get involved, both in school and in the community. I recieved an education that prepared me for college while building relationships with teachers and coaches that took an honest interest in seeing me succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2009

We have recommended DCHS to our friends for their children, and everyone has been extremely satisfied wth the staff, spirit, counselors, academics, athletics, honors classes, parental involvement, and how well their children grown from their experience at the high school. Go Chargers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I went to my freshman year at Crown and am now doing my sophomore year at Jacobs due to boundary change. And I think that Crown is by far a better school, they teach you life lessons, and the kids over their are great and not judgmental what so ever. So if you have the opportunity go to Crown!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2008

As a parent with several students at DCHS, I feel staff could be more requiring of the entire student body, not just those on a college track. In fact, upper District administration need to recognize this and offer same number of AP and Honors classes provided at other district high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

I am a freshman at Dundee Crown. DC has the most spirit and we get a good education. If a child fails, it's not the teachers fault, but it's the students and parents fault.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2008

I'd have to say I disagree with the comment below. The school does offer an amazing Honors program and we have been adding AP courses in History, English, Math and Science that are available to junior ands seniors. There is a lot of diversity in the student body and our athletic program continues to grow. Just this year, our music program was acknowledged as one of the Top in our NATION.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female39%
Male45%
Black17%
Asian50%
Hispanic30%
Multiracial33%
Native Americann/a
White61%
Low income29%
Non-low income63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities45%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female48%
Male43%
Black15%
Asian58%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial47%
Native Americann/a
White67%
Low income28%
Non-low income71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities48%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students38%
Female33%
Male43%
Black10%
Asian50%
Hispanic19%
Multiracial40%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Low income20%
Non-low income67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities41%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

81.9%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 24%
White 41% 51%
Black 8% 18%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Kings Road
Carpentersville, IL 60110
Phone: (224) 484-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oak Ridge School
Carpentersville, IL


Oak Ridge Rssp
Carpentersville, IL




Summit School
Elgin, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT