Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cary-Grove Community High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2014

Cary-Grove is the best high school in McHenry County, and competitive with those in other Chicago collar counties. Their offering of honors and AP courses is expanding as they try to challenge students to reach their potential. Most of the teachers are very good or better and care about the success of their students (although there are always some better than others). Most of the athletic teams are top in the conference, and the fine arts (especially music) department garners high participation rates from the student body. In fact, a new auditorium is being built this summer. Yes, there are a minority of kids who are involved with drugs and alcohol, but I think that's impossible to avoid anywhere. I haven't heard of much gang activity at the school, if any. Bullying seems to be at a minimum, and in fact know of a student who transferred here from the nearer NW suburbs who was bullied at her old school, but finds C-G to be very friendly and welcoming and much better than her old school in this area. If your children apply themselves and seek opportunities to be involved at this school, they will have a wonderful high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Cary-Grove is a great high school. I'm not involved in any sports but there are so many other options to choose from. For example, interact. Interact is something everyone can do and you just help out your community. All the teachers are really great and understand that you have other classes that you need to tend to. I'm pretty positive nobody ever gets 5 hours of hoework everyday, thats a joke.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2008

I think Cary Grove is a fine high school-in saying that I think people need to understand high school is high school. There are rowdy seniors, PDA filled hallways, and crowded hallways. But CG also has amazing teachers, classes, and extraciriculars. It is a healthy safe environment that welcomes newcomers like old friends. I'm happy to go to CG.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2008

teachers here are great. only if the students take them to the full advantage. they really can make a difference!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2007

Cary Grove High School is a results school based on studnet involvement in and with a highly deversified activitiy program. Since the student programs emphasize student involvement and community connection, students who do not naturally extend themselves to extra-curricular activities will not fully benefit from their Cary Grove experience. The academic program is on par with Illinois State Standards and rates higher than the state's academic performance norms. We believe our 2 students in the Cary Grove program will elect to enter college / university and be accepted to the degree program of thier choice because of the preparation they recieved at CGHS. We are most satisfied with CGHS and thier new principal, Jay Sargent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2007

I'm sorry but this school just stinks. The teachers give hours of homework to my son everynight. They think their class is the only one. My son works from 4-9 pm on homework every night. It has taken over his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

I've been very happy with Cary Grove, and I think it prepared my son well for entering college at UIUC. They offer many AP/Honors classes where the students are challenged but get the personal attention to help them learn critical thinking skills. There are some really great teachers here, I'm sure there are also a few 'bad apples', but fortunately I've had few complaints from my son. The overall attitude of the students is pretty typical of sheltered and somewhat narrow-minded suburban kids, not a lot of diversity here. The administation is okay at best. There are some great supporting staff members in the guidance office, but the guidance counselors can be detached and impersonal. They weren't helpful at all in the college admissions process except in sending transcripts and paperwork, so best to educate yourself in that matter and not depend on the GCs for advice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

Not Happy at All with this school. There is no attention to a Character Building Program with these kids and it shows in their attitudes towards eachother. Most Teacher here don't really care and it reflects on the students. Not enough help for kids that need it even with communication with the teachers. Very dissappointed and wish I never put my children in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female77%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Low income36%
Non-low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female79%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracial69%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Low income43%
Non-low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)41%
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial81%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Low income43%
Non-low income83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

94.7%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 51%
Hispanic 9% 24%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2208 3 Oaks Road
Cary, IL 60013
Phone: (847) 639-3825

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Prairie Ridge High School
Crystal Lake, IL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT