Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cary-Grove Community High School 5

Posted January 20, 2016
- a student
The teachers at this school promote an environment to which I can learn about things beyond the assigned curriculum. The staff at Cary-Grove, in my opinion, is put to a very high standard, and the majority of them reach those standards, often surpassing them. Not only are the teachers passionate about teaching in their field, but many of them are equally as passionate about numerous clubs, activities, and sports teams, which truly creates an excellent environment for learning and growing.

Cary-Grove Community High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 07, 2015
- a student
At times I feel pinched but I feel that it is apart of hs. Most of the time homework is just right.


Cary-Grove Community High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a student
Teachers work hard to keep you from failing. They are willing to work with you during, before, and after school to ensure success.

Cary-Grove Community High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a student
Yes all teachers and most students are sympathetic to our situations no matter how different.

Cary-Grove Community High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a student
Cary-Grove athletics have taught me to be humble and always do the best I can. We play classy sports.


Cary-Grove Community High School 1

Posted December 11, 2014
- a student
Cary Grove is the worst school I've ever been to. The kids here are stuck up, the teacher are rude, none of the counselers that are suppose to give you advice don't care about you, too much drama, and the list just go on and on. If I were you never ever go to this high school, it makes me sick to my stomach coming here everyday.

Cary-Grove Community High School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a student
Cary Grove is a great high school with great academics and sports. We have great teachers, however there are a few that aren't so good, this is to a minimum. I feel very lucky to be going to Cary Grove. The bad ratings coming from parents about this are just wrong. I feel as though their student is misleading them or lying to them, however, I am not certain. Please not that no students have given this school a bad rating.

Cary-Grove Community High School 5

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
Cary-Grove is the best high school in McHenry County, and competitive with those in other Chicago collar counties. Their offering of honors and AP courses is expanding as they try to challenge students to reach their potential. Most of the teachers are very good or better and care about the success of their students (although there are always some better than others). Most of the athletic teams are top in the conference, and the fine arts (especially music) department garners high participation rates from the student body. In fact, a new auditorium is being built this summer. Yes, there are a minority of kids who are involved with drugs and alcohol, but I think that's impossible to avoid anywhere. I haven't heard of much gang activity at the school, if any. Bullying seems to be at a minimum, and in fact know of a student who transferred here from the nearer NW suburbs who was bullied at her old school, but finds C-G to be very friendly and welcoming and much better than her old school in this area. If your children apply themselves and seek opportunities to be involved at this school, they will have a wonderful high school experience.


Cary-Grove Community High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
Cary-Grove is a great high school. I'm not involved in any sports but there are so many other options to choose from. For example, interact. Interact is something everyone can do and you just help out your community. All the teachers are really great and understand that you have other classes that you need to tend to. I'm pretty positive nobody ever gets 5 hours of hoework everyday, thats a joke.

Cary-Grove Community High School 4

Posted April 30, 2008
- a student
I think Cary Grove is a fine high school-in saying that I think people need to understand high school is high school. There are rowdy seniors, PDA filled hallways, and crowded hallways. But CG also has amazing teachers, classes, and extraciriculars. It is a healthy safe environment that welcomes newcomers like old friends. I'm happy to go to CG.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cary-Grove Community High School
2208 3 Oaks Rd, Cary, IL  60013
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (847) 639-3825
Last modified Cary-Grove Community High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top