Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Countryside School

Private | K-8 | 22 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Champaign

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2013

We've had kids at this school for three years and I am very pleased with the education they are getting. The teachers and staff are so attentive and caring. They create an environment that kids love and it makes the kids love learning. Yes, the kids work above grade level and learn interesting things, but it's the love of and interest in their own education that leaves a mark on their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

Countryside ranks as the best K-8 school in the community. The teachers are smart, nurturing and bring out the best in the students. We've had two children with very different strengths attend this school since kindergarten, and both have soared academically and socially at C-side and now in high school. My kids loved going to school here because of the hands-on learning. The head of the school stays on top of school trends and enables teachers to bring innovation and creativity to their classes. Also, it's the only non-sectarian, not-for-profit, academically challenging school in town. A governing board made up largely of parents has governed the school since its inception 20 years ago. Even more amazing, each and every year, the head of school solicits written comments from the parents regarding the school's strengths and weaknesses and actually follows up on what is written!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

A great school. Our 2 boys have each spent 7 years at Countryside. Unlike any other public or private school . A diverse population of kids who are given the freedom and resources to excel. Math counts went to state competition , sports are fun, emphasis on academics , but with a compassion that is rarely seen in other venues. Usual for a high percentage of countryside students to be admitted to University Laboratory High School, one of the nations premier high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

I looked at this school and it was amazing. The odyssey of the mind and 'outdoor break' are great for the kids. This school is wonderful and different.


Posted November 26, 2008

Countryside was a wonderful experience for our family. The administration and staff are experienced, knowledgeable, approachable, and caring, and the academics are very strong. The return was well worth the cost of tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

Countryside is a very positive alternative to the public and private schools in Champaign-Urbana and the surrounding area. As far as I know, it is the only significant non-profit and non-sectarian school in C-U, funded solely by tuition and contributions from families and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

Our two children have thrived at Countryside.A caring and warm environment with challenging academics which are tailored to meet the individual needs of the student. The kids there are a diverse lot and the parents are very involved.All schools should be as well run as this school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

Countryside fails to deliver on any of it's promises. The staff and administrators selectively support and nurture favored students and allow others to fend for themselves. It is not uncommon for students to have vastly different experiences. While the classic education is on par for the community the expectations for respect and character building are seldom met. Indeed bullying is common, in our experience and goes unchallenged. We would never recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2007

Countryside delivers the highest quality education in Champaign County, is known for its caring and family friendly atmosphere, and is in *outstanding* financial health. We have three children there, and there is no doubt that this school will be delivering excellent education in a nurturing atmosphere for generations to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2007

We send our daughters to Countryside and are absolutely in love with this school. Not only are the academics incredibly strong, but the school has a very friendly and open atmosphere, where every teacher and staff member knows the name of every student (and usually also the names of siblings and parents!) It is the most nurturing environment we could imagine. I wish I had been so fortunate to attend a school like this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2007

My child has been at Countryside School for almost 7 years and I love nearly everything about the place. The facilities, the curriculum, the atmosphere, the administration, the teaching methodologies are all terrific. I especially love the focus on the basics. It's like the 3 R's but more rigorous and sophisticated than anything I ever got when I was that age. Countryside offers a much higher level of basic education. The thing I like best about this school is that my child loves it! I've never heard 'I don't want to go to school'. I've only heard 'When will break be over so that I can go back?'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

A great school.We have 2 sons who have attended Countryside, one k-7, one k-4. We are very pleased with the environment at the school. We find the school administrators and teachers extremely sensitive to the school environment and culture. The head of the school and the teaching staff at very accessible.The school and the teachers encourage feedback at every turn. My older son emails is teachers and they respond, and encourage such communication. They really get to know our kids well.The focus is on students and academics. Great cultural diversity and a low student /teacher ratio are real experience enhancers. The school sends a message that 'its cool to be smart and creative'.There are academic enrichment opportunities at every turn. The teachers are superior. The parents are dedicated and involved .A great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

Caution required before enrolling at Countryside. - mover - Dec 2, 2007 As a former Countryside School board member, board v.p. and board president over a period of 6.5 years I am saddened to say that in spite of efforts to stop this, the school has deteriorated, lost sight of it's mission, failed to stop bullying on it's campus, and taken some, at least in my opinion, very questionable financial moves that place the future of the school at risk. If I were today considering the enrollment of a child at this school, I would be seriously concerned as to whether the school would still be in business year to year. Annual steep increases in that tuition should be anticipated if one enrolls a child here. It is time for Countryside to disclose anticipated tuition increases required to keep this school afloat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2006

Grades from K-8. Grades K-5 are combined classes (K/1, 2/3, 4/5) followed by 6/7/8. Excellent, caring teachers and staff. School recently expanded in 2005.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

I was a former student at Countryside School, and I must say that it was very enjoyable. The environment was great and I learned a great deal. The best years of countryside for me, was during the seventh grade. I felt extremely safe during the middle school years. The teachers were excellent and they cared about us. And the care showed as well. I am now Uni High, and i miss Countryside Terribly!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2006

Quality of academic programs is outstanding, with valuable individualized attention. Extracurricular activities are very good for a school of this size, with interesting and challenging alternatives. Parent involvement opportunities abound, with most families very active participants in school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

We are absolutely thrilled with Countryside School. Our child has now completed two years at Countryside (K and 1), and we could not be happier. The class sizes are small (about 14-16 per grade level), the teachers and staff are outstanding, the students are at or above grade level, and the activities are plentiful. Countryside is a very close 'community' -- parents are quite involved (in a positive way!), and every teacher and staff member knows every child in the school. Countryside really delivers on its promise of delivering 'joy in learning' and 'excellence in education.' Our child absolutely loves going to Countryside every day, and is finding learning to be a joyful and engaging experience. The K/1 teachers are phenomenally nurturing at the same time that they are teaching our child so much. We could not be happier with Countryside!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

Countryside provides an outstanding education that combines academic rigor with fun in learning. The small class size allows teachers to devote time to each student and the broad curriculum provides each student the chance to develop his/her own special talents. Extracurricular activities include: chess, chorus, math club, soccer, volleyball and basketball. Children participate in science fairs, plays, musical performances, and Invent America. Parental involvement in the classroom is welcomed and encouraged. Teachers and administrators are excellent. In my opinion, Countryside is a good investment in my child's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

We have been part of the Countryside family for 8 years and have all been very happy with the Countryside experience. The Countryside program is excellent, with creative and very caring teachers and staff. It has been a 'front-end investment' in our child's education and we have appreciated the opportunity for this truly superb education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

Grades from K-8. Grades K-5 are combined classes (K/1, 2/3, 4/5) followed by 6/7/8. K/1 and 4/5 teachers are particularly excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 32% 4%
Two or more races 17% 3%
Black 3% 18%
Hispanic 2% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Binky Bognar
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4301 West Kirby Avenue
Champaign, IL 61822
Phone: (207) 355-1253

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St Matthew School
Champaign, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT