Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
416 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Matthew School 2

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
Discipline problems could be the result of what appears to us to be favoritism practiced by some teachers and the principle. Might be helpful for there to be another person parents could voice their issues. Current leadership in our opinion falls short.

St Matthew School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
It has been our experience some teachers and the principal show favoritism, which in our opinion overshadows all else. Very disappointing.


St Matthew School 2

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
When we decided to send our child to a Catholic School, we were told the school was full. A month later, we found that the school was allowing other children in (in the same grade). I was never given an answer why this happened. I am very upset how we were treated.

St Matthew School 1

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
When we decided to send our child to a private school, we thought he would receive a better education. We thought that by paying tuition somehow would ensure his safety. They say bullying happens in every school, but it is our feeling that a private school should be held to a higher standard of care.

St Matthew School 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
St. Matthew school is wonderful. Our child has been a student there for seven years. He has excelled academically, spiritually and socially. The staff is great and the leadership provided by the principal and Pastor is fantastic. Our family would highly recommend St. Matthew school!


St Matthew School 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
If we had to do it again we would have explored our options in the public school system, sent our children to CCD, and saved a lot of money. There is an elitist feeling to this school, and the bullies know how to put on an act. ALL of my friends' children went through the public school system, and are doing well today.

St Matthew School 1

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately, we have not had a favorable experience at St. Matthew School. As a whole we feel there are just too many discipline problems with children being disrespectful to the teachers and each other. Obviously, every families experience is different, but this school was not a good fit for ours.

St Matthew School 5

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in kindergarten this year and we have had an excellent experience so far! He has 13 students in his class and has an amazing teacher who encourages and challenges them. The amount of parent-teacher contact and communication is wonderful as she is very accessible by phone, email, notes and in person. I have felt informed and involved since school began. He went to Next Generation Preschool for 3 years and St. Matthews School has picked-up right where Next Gen left-off academically. The overall atmosphere at the school is calm, respectful and happy. The amount of parent involvement during the school day and during after-school activities is great! Spiritually, the Word of God is interwoven in all that they do...how they treat others, how they apply themselves and how they can help those who are less fortunate. St. Matthews School seems to be the best of both worlds....it is very traditional in values while very progressive in academics, arts, sports and social issues. When I drop my son off at school, I trust that he is in good hands.


St Matthew School 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
St. Matthew School is one of the best schools in the area. We have had children in this school for the past eleven years. My children have been challenged to perform at the highest levels both spiritually and academically. Students are actively engaged in the learning process with little time spent off task. Our principal is professional and creates genuine relationships with the students. We have been thrilled with the education our children have received. We are also feel blessed to have met so many wonderful families that have shared this incredible journey. If you are looking for a school that has strong leadership, rigorous instruction, and active parent involvement-St Matthew is the place for you and your child!

St Matthew School 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
We love this school. From the atmosphere to the teachers to the principal, it is top-notch. Our kids get a great education, and most of all a Christ-centered experience. We couldn't ask for a better school for our two (soon to be three) kids at St. Matts.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Matthew School
1307 Lincolnshire Drive, Champaign, IL  61821
(217) 359-4114
Last modified St Matthew School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St Matthew School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top