Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Next Generation School

Private | K-8 | 262 students

We are best known for accelerated academic programs.

 
 

Living in Champaign

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

NGS is very strong in science and math. The middle school has used the Project Lead The Way curriculum for science for several years, and NGS is among few elementary schools in the US that were selected as a test site for PLTW curriculum. Most 8th graders take either algebra 1 or geometry. NGS won the 2014 middle school IL regional in the National Science Bowl. Their history curriculum is outstanding, and middle school world and US history curricula are as rigorous as any high school history classes. All middle schoolers take French or Spanish, and they consistently perform extremely well on national exams. In 2014, all 4 gold medal winners from downstate IL in level 1 National Spanish Exam were 7th graders from NGS, and their competition included all high schools in downstate IL. NGS won the 2014 IESA state championship in Scholastic Bowl, and they were the state runner up in 2013. English/Language Arts curriculum is also superb. PE, fine arts, and music programs are also extensive and well-taught. All teachers and administrators are friendly and nurturing. When it comes to academic excellence, NGS is as strong as any in the state of IL. I am so glad we found NGS for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

We have sent 3 kids to NGS, and we couldn't be happier. The teachers are awesome, and if a teacher cannot meet the challenges and high expectations of NGS, he/she does not stay. The curriculum is very good and challenges the students. But, students are well-loved and nurtured. NGS sees your kids as you see them and values their unique qualities. I can't say enough about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

Incredible teachers at every level, focuses on critical thinking and discussion for the purpose of understanding rather than the "right answer." Rigorous math program, especially if your child works one grade level ahead. Stronger programs in academics rather than the arts. Top notch PE teachers. My only criticism is that there have been occasions that the administration has made certain student discipline decisions that were either too lenient or too harsh, and that the administration does not know the children as well as they should. Teachers have always been willing to accept feedback and adapt to child's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

I don't understand why there are so many negative reviews. I have been going to Next Generation since I was six weeks old, and I am now 13 years old. I have always loved this school. It's like one big family. I have learned so much and made so many friends. I can honestly say that I am friends with every single kid in my grade and most in the middle school. We all have a ton of fun and are very grateful for the amazing experience we get at Next Generation. The teachers are so nice, helpful, and so much fun. I didn't know how ahead I was in academics until I started going to a math and science camp over the summer. All the classes are great, and every year, when school ends, I find my self signing up for the summer scholars program to learn even more. I was recently accepted into the University Laboratory High school (Uni High) and will be VERY sad to leave this place. I think that this school was a wonderful experience. I felt safe and at home here and was never afraid to be myself. Everybody was so kind, and I learned so much. In fact, I will be taking sophomore level classes at my high school next year even though I will only be in the eighth grade. -A student


Posted April 30, 2013

The review below makes me very sad. My heart goes out to whoever you are and I am so very sorry you feel that way about your time at NGS. Our experience has been so very, very different. My daughters have all attended NGS starting at the early education level through middle school (10 years now). None of them have ever had any issues with bullying. There were the standard issues that arise when children are together all day long. The teachers were very receptive and went above and beyond to ensure that all of the students were treated appropriately. In fact, not too long ago my 10 year old and I watched the documentary "Bully" together and she was very surprised and shocked. She had never seen students treat each other in that way. She said that she was very glad that she was at a school where that never happens and would not be tolerated. Both of my older daughters have moved on to high school and are also surprised by the stories their classmates tell of bullying from their own elementary and middle schools. Again, I am sorry that was your experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2013

I went to NGS and it was one of the worst experiences of my life. The teachers are great and the facility is state of the art but the kids, the kids are terrible. If you don't start attending NGS by the third grade be prepared for isolation. The kids all have cliques. Honestly I was bullied there and the staff did nothing to help. Two kids used to have contests to see who could kick my foot the hardest. The winner was decided by who I screamed loudest for. And that is just one example of my experience. The quality of education was great but I am scared for the reset of my life. I feel I can never return to Illinois


Posted January 14, 2013

As a Professor of Education, and former literacy consultant for the State of Illinois, I know a thing or two about curricula and learning. Our children have been better off at Next Generation than any gifted program. From day one, thirteen years ago, Next Generation has emphasized individual needs and individual enhancement in terms of learning. The program at Next Generation has enhanced and enriched our children s learning, allowing them to explore the curricula in greater depth and breadth than any other educational setting. They have prospered academically through inquiry, problem-solving and stimulation of their talents. They have also enjoyed significant instructional time in Art, Music and Physical Education. Academically and beyond, Next Generation is second to none in the enrichment of the whole student. You will find the environment at Next Generation to be great academically, while being a small enough school to also be nurturing. The teachers are wonderful and the administration is always looking to make sure that they make decisions based on what is best for the children. I can tell you that they are meeting the needs of our children to the very best of their ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

We have 3 children at Next Gen (for 5.5 years now) starting in pre-school and now up to 7th grade. The teachers are fantastic, the curriculum is challenging but fun (my son created his own civilization) and balanced (art, PE, music). I love that they provide Spanish starting in preschool. The administrators are very helpful and there is always someone at the front door to greet the students (and parents) every morning and every afternoon. The administrators and teachers are constantly re-evaluating the curriculum to spot areas for improvement. We get an email every day from each class giving a summary of the important topics covered and what homework is due. Very helpful. Communication is excellent! All teachers and administrators are always accessible. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

Our DD absolutely loved her teachers! We loved her classmates and her class. She grew so much in a short time and we think it's due to her teachers. Unfortunately, the administrators are not so great. They seemed more interested in money than in anything else. They nickled and dimed you to no end! For example, every year you had a pay a registration fee. This registration fee did absolutely nothing! It's the same paper form that you fill out every year. Also, they had ZERO vacation policy. Our family took a much needed vacation... they refused to hold our spot unless we kept paying the full tuition - even though we had already paid registration for the next school year! The administrators were snobby and didn't really care whether parents/students stayed or not because they had other parents that were willing to pay the costs and put off with their punitive policies. With their high costs and strict standards you'd think they would treat their teachers better and have better benefits. Nope... all of money goes straight into the pockets of the administrators. We found another school, spent more time with DD at a library... and now she's doing better than at Next Gen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

I wish it was a little bit more affordable...although if I could keep up with the cost I would definetly enroll my child. I absolutely loved this place as a new comer in this town we did some pre-school browsing and visited everyone of them and not one can compare to Next Generation. You won't find this curriculum elsewhere they even teach science at such short age and the kids love it I had the opportunity to attend one of them as they made a "volcano experiment" and the interest and excitement in these kids was AMAZING. Others are more focused on childcare services while this one will definetly have your child ready for school. The quality of this school is outstanding. The bad part is that its about $215 a week! and another $300. to be added to a loong waiting list and if you don't make it they get to keep the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

Both our daughters attended this school from the time they were 10 weeks, until we moved when they were 3 yrs and 6 mos old. We had overall fantastic experiences! Infant teachers were great and really helpful with feeding, getting and maintaining sleeping schedules, development etc. Spanish and music were great as well as everyday "life skills" that kids loved - and taught us as first time parents exactly what our kids could be expected to do! Our oldest had some temporary special needs from age 11 weeks to 6 months and contrary to our expectation that she wouldn't be able to attend, NG was happy to take her and did a GREAT job with her care. Had a few small communications issues that were eventually worked out to our satisfaction, but overall a great experience. I must echo someone else - we always appreciated NG, but appreciated them even more when we moved away from CU and had to find childcare - nothing compared!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My daughter has attended NGS since 2007. Not only does she love the school, but she is sad that the school year has ended and want to attend summer camp there as well. We didn't think twice about enrolling our 2 year old in the early education program, even though it does stretch us financially. The school is like a large family. Is there change? Yes. Change is what makes us grow. I am so happy to have a school to send my kids to that places the value on education and nurturing the hearts of my children. I would work three jobs to send them there if I had to. I highly recommend NGS as the best place to send your kids for an excellent education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

I have recently joined the Next Generation School family after more than thirty years of teaching in public schools. I have been delighted to find a very caring, talented, and dedicated faculty and staff. The administrative team is equally strong and devoted to creating a climate of excellence and high standards, while offering the support needed to reach those standards. People here seem to embrace a collaborative model in which to develop and maintain a challenging and rigorous curriculum, while at the same time providing a supportive, positive, fun and happy atmosphere for all to be the best that they can be, adults and children alike! Areas that might need to be addressed are discussed, and problem solving methods are employed, with input from those involved. Change happens, and a great school becomes even better because people here are willing to grow and learn. After all, isn't that what education is all about! I can't tell you how fortunate I feel to be a part of such an outstanding and dynamic place as Next Generation School!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 11, 2011

We sent my son to Next Generation School starting in 3rd grade. He is now in high school and doing extremely well. As a working class family living 50 miles away from the school, it was very difficult for us to afford the tuition and make the commute but we found a way to make it happen because the school is just that good. The learning environment is stimulating, the curriculum is integrated, the teachers are talented and caring...I could go on and on. I highly encourage people to visit the school, especially if you have a child who loves to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

Next Generation is an amazing school that provides a positive learning environment for all of its students! Teachers and staff are kind, caring, and nurturing to all students (and to each other), creating an atmosphere where children feel confident in themselves and are eager to share their ideas and try new things. As a teacher, I have always felt supported by our strong and dedicated administration. Teachers and parents at NGS are in constant communication with each other, truly partnering to ensure each child's success and happiness. Each Primary grade level has co-teachers who work collaboratively to ensure that every child in the classroom is receiving instruction and enrichment at their level. Students are challenged academically, but also have opportunities for fun and play. The music, art, Spanish, and science departments all do amazing things with these kids, and students are fortunate to have such dedicated and knowledgeable specialty teachers. I m so proud to be part of Next Generation School!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2011

I am so glad to have Next Generation School here for my children. I know they are safe and learning amazing things every single day! Teachers send information by email every day about what students have done in the classroom, and post pictures so I can see my child participating in daily activities which include making music, talking to peers about high-level books and conversing in a foreign language. I saw some of the other posts by parents, and it seems that Next Generation has made several changes to their safety protocols, in that the play area is fenced and every exit door now has an alarm that requires a code to be punched in to enter. I also rarely see the front desk without a staff member or two present to welcome me and my children to school. If there has ever been a problem, I know I can talk to the teachers and administrators who will listen to and respond to my concerns. I know they care about my children. I think it's a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

My family has been a part of the Next Generation community for nine years. From infant learning all the way through to middle school, I have seen first hand how well NGS educates and cares for its students. It makes me sad to see bad reviews from obviously bitter ex-employees who, through their posts, show none of the professionalism for which the NGS teachers are famous. I won't deny that the administration has high expectations for its teachers, but how else to guarantee the quality that parents have come to expect? I think the parent comments speak louder and more honestly. I am a very happy NGS parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

this school indeed has state-of-art gym and neat environment but they also values their wood floor maintenance more than students' safety. A school puts students in center should not be like this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

We have had nothing but GREAT experiences at Next Generation. All the teachers are wonderful and my children have learned an amazing amount. We really appreciate their diverse curriculum and attention to the fine arts as well as the emphasis on outdoor play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

We have had mixed experiences--in fact, we have noted everything that other reviewers have, both good and bad. The good part: there are some really wonderful teachers and expectations are high. The bad: oppressive and financially punitive policies, lack of security (especially at the front desk, which is often left unattended), and inconsistency among the teachers, a few of whom are really inadequate. We left after 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 32% 4%
Black 6% 18%
Hispanic 3% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish & Chinese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Chris Bronowski
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Rigorous, individually tailored programs
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish & Chinese
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$10000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University Laboratory High School
Centennial High School
Central High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2521 Galen Drive
Champaign, IL 61821
Website: Click here
Phone: (217) 356-6995

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Matthew School
Champaign, IL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT