Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robeson Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

My child attended in 2011-2012 for only four months and four months was enough. In his classroom alone he saw the following behaviors: a child cursing the teacher and climbing up a bookcase, a child who would often come into the room angry and slam the contents of his desk onto the floor, throwing his chair and picking up a wastebasket and hurling it at a fellow student, fighting, yelling, at least on other children throwing a chair, even a hard football hurtling across the room on the day a substitute was there. These were some angry children with real behavioral problems and the school did not have the matter under control at all. Our son was traumatized. We had to remove him. On the bright side, I understand that the school has new leadership now, so hopefully things will be improving soon, thanks to the efforts of some brave and bold parents. I know the earlier principal was doing her best, but she really had her work cut out for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

My daughter loved her kindergarten experience here! When I toured several Champaign elementary schools, Robeson stood out from others. It is my top Champaign choice for many reasons. The building is smaller and is located in a safe neighborhood. The classrooms and playgrounds are small so teachers can easily observe all the students as they learn, play, talk, and have free time. I wanted the teacher to be able to stop any chance of bullying immediately, which she did. My daughter never had a problem with other children mistreating her. I like that the Kindergarten students are sheltered in their interactions with older students. The Kindergarten classrooms have their own bathroom, hallway, and lunchtime. The kindergarten students are picked up from school 5 minutes before any older students are let out. This was important to me because I wanted her 5-year-old innocence to be preserved. This school emphasizes respecting others. I have seen the teachers, students, parents, and principals respect each other in every situation I have observed. My daughter's ability and desire to read and write escalated very quickly in Kindergarten. Great learning environment! We love Robeson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Administration here is very poor. Much unprofessional staff. Many parents unhappy with their children's experience at this school.


Posted May 31, 2011

There has been a gradual decline in the school environment over the last couple of years. I understand the pressures of testing, it just doesn't feel like my child is getting the education he once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

Very poor leadership and lots of parent and teacher dissatisfaction. School is in desperate need of competent, ethical and compassionate leadership.


Posted March 6, 2011

After debating whether to send our kids to private or public, we ended up at Robeson and are THRILLED! The kids are challenged, well-disciplined and have fun! This year my son got to eat bugs as part of a science project (only if they wanted to)! The teaching staff is energetic, motivated and full of TLC for the kids. The PTA and parent support is amazing! We are so happy to have chosen public schools and continue to be impressed by Robeson and it's staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

I am the parent of a current kindergartner. The whole idea of controlled choice was worrisome to me and my husband. We, like many first time kindergarten parents, wanted our child to have the best experience possible. We could not be happier! The teachers at Robeson are exceptional. They are well-educated, creative people who show the students genuine care and devotion. He loves school and that means so much to us. The expectations--both academically and socially--are high at Robeson. The teachers and staff dedicate each day to the progress of every student and it shows! Plus, the PTA is fabulous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

I don't even feel that this school should even rate a 1-star. My children were here and even though my daughter never had problems my son was verbally and physically harrassed. It escillated in to 3 physical "gang-like" attacks on the playground. Not even once was I called by the school. We finally pulled our children out and now attend private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

We have 2 children at Robeson and have had an EXCELLENT experience. The teachers here keep the kids challenged and excited about learning. The PTA is very involved and all of the teachers my kids have ever had have been extremely welcoming in having parents in the classroom. The adminstration is on top of problems as soon as they arise, and I am so impressed with the education the kids are getting at this elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Robeson is a school where the students come first. The teachers are always willing to attempt new things and they continue to be life-long learners along with their students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2008

I have to grads and a current student. . Robeson has a no tolerance level for bad behavior. The location is in fact easy to get to. There are numerous ways in and out of the neighborhood. At present time there is construction but that is not the schools fault. Great ways they get families involved: family arts, reading, science, math nights and a fall carnival. Parents that can stay home should volunteer because of the 24:1 ratio!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

Great school! Nice location with Involved teachers and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2007

It isn't that bad over all, but a high (24:1) student-teacher ratio for kindergarten is a problem for me. Location for getting in and out is awkward. Some student bad behavior is tolerated, however, if you assert yourself with the administration they will deal with problems. Teachers do follow up with parents by phone if there are any significant issues with your kid on any subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2006

Three years with this school and no real problems. It is in a great location, has great teachers, and great staff and very involved PTA that does much to enhance extra activities. Highley recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Robeson has a very positive way of handling discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

I have 2 current students at Robeson and one graduate. I am very satisfied with the staff. They are very adept at meeting the individual needs of my children. I have one child who tested gifted but I didn't want to move him. The teachers were very accomodating. I have another child who is borderline learning disabled and again the teachers all work very hard to help him reach his potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female58%
Male66%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income45%
Non-low income76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female57%
Male66%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income49%
Non-low income72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female58%
Male43%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Low income27%
Non-low income76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female53%
Male42%
Black10%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Low income23%
Non-low income73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students69%
Female75%
Male63%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Low income48%
Non-low income93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)47%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female68%
Male69%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Low income55%
Non-low income84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female53%
Male54%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Low income39%
Non-low income71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 51%
Black 29% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 4% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Heather Livengood

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2501 Southmoor Drive
Champaign, IL 61821
Phone: (217) 351-3884

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Matthew School
Champaign, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT