Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
When we moved to Champaign several years ago, we asked around a lot of people, and the name Barkstall came up highly recommended over and over. We moved next to the school and enrolled our son to Barkstall. We were not disappointed. My son, who is rather shy, quickly made friends, and the teacher made great efforts to make him feel at home. We were very pleased with his growth in math, reading, and writing throughout the year. His growth both academically and socially were very noticeable. This is a great school.

Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2013
- a parent
We have three children at Barkstall. The teachers are AMAZING. They are incredibly hardworking and involved with the students and parents. The office staff is top notch and the new principal is professional AND accessible. My kids don't like the uniforms, but they sure make the mornings run more smoothly around here. :)


Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School 4

Posted April 22, 2012
- a parent
Overall a great school to send your child to. My only complaint is the time it takes them to resolve any given situations. In the end they are however resolved. Specifically when speaking about IEP issues.

Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School 4

Posted July 25, 2011
- a parent
Terrific atmosphere for learning. Emphasis on the arts is great. Love having uniforms (relaxed and easy to follow).

Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
I transfered my child here this semester from Garden Hill, and What a difference!!! The teachers and staff are great and the atmosphere is amazing. The only drawback is the parents are very stuck up. At events they will stand in front of small children to be first in line.


Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School 1

Posted October 17, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2005
- a parent
Emphasis on the arts is fabulous! All students, regardless of race or socioeconomics, are treated with respect and empowered to achieve their best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School
2201 Hallbeck Drive, Champaign, IL  61822
(217) 373-5580
Last modified Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vernon L Barkstall Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top