Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Christian School

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

GreatSchools
mobile

Finding great
schools is
now at your
fingertips »

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2013

This school is not a bad school, and I hope it evolved over the years. When my daughter went to school back in the 90's, they were a stickler for nailing bad behavior often giving children as young as 5 detention and had them writing exhausting lines. It was ridiculous! Also, my daughter was very talented, and when she expressed her, they labeled it as a behavioral problem. Don't get me wrong! When it came to the instructors, the administration didnt care who they hired and allowed these family and friends who weren't certified as teachers or substitute teachers to substitute and run the afterschool program. What a lack of quality. There are so good things about the school. Students learned good penmanship, learn how to read at an efficient level, and how to have good etiquette.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

My oldest daughter attended Cornerstone from 4th through 8th grade. All her teachers were amazing and helped her succeed. My son started in Kindergarten and is now in 5th grade. I would not put him any where else. He is challenged to do his best and encourage every day. He has been able to be a part of soccer, basketball and volleyball teams and is looking forward to bowling on the bowling team this year. We love Cornerstone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

My granddaughter attended school here since 1st grade. She is now in 5th grade. All I can say is "kudos" to Cornerstone. Her academics are off the chart. I don't know if they see themselves as a school to deal with behavioral problems, therefore parents should probably steer away.


Posted November 20, 2012

>My oldest child attended Cornerstone Christian School from 3 year old preschool thru 8th grade. My middle child started in the 3 year old preschool and is currently in 3rd grade. My baby started in the 3 year old preschool and is currently in Kindergarten. THERE IS NO OTHER PLACE I WOULD WANT THEM TO BE FOR THEIR EDUCATION...CCS is the best. From the sprirtual foundation, to the academics, to the athletic program and extracurriculars like student government, to the loving safe family environment, this is the place to be. >Watching my oldest, who is now a freshman at a well respected high school, making straight A's in all honors classes shows what kind of academic foundation she has; listening to her high school professors praise her character and demeanor when I went to her parent teacher conferences shows what kind of spiritual foundation she has. >I am so thankful for CCS being a part of our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

Cornerstone is the only school that my grandson has ever attended and his parents and I shudder at the mere thought of him attending any other school. Cornerstone's challenging academic curriculum was the deciding factor in our decision to enroll him at the school, which has proven to be very beneficial. Each time that I visited the school, the Principal as well as the staff has always been friendly and very pleasant. When we are notified about a disciplinary issue concerning my grandson, the administration has always been accommodating and willing to discuss the circumstances that led to the issuance of a detention. The parents' suggestions to prevent the incident from occurring again were also taken into consideration, which I consider to be a win-win situation. I have nothing but praises for Cornerstone!


Posted February 20, 2012

Academically, Cornerstone will challenge your child. I agree with the last parent . . the FUN-O-METER is way too low. Individuality and forward thinking are non-existent. So if you deceide to send your smart child to Cornerstone, have plenty of social and outside enrichment activities planned to round out your child. Parent involvemnet is null and is not encouraged by the administration. The school needs to come into the 2000's in terms of technology and resources that are available in even some of the not as privileged "public schools". They sell way too much junk to the children, that only seem to be an attempt to "fund-raise". Be prepared to fight daily battles with your child about healthy eating, since the junk is even sold by classroom teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

Academically I am pleased with my child's success CCS. However this school is too rigid and will suck the life out of a vivacious child. "Robots or military" is a perfect term for how the children are expected to behave. I would rather my child develop a terrific personality & be encouraged to ask questions & laugh & get involved in sports rather than being an intelligent robot. My child was also not allowed to join the sports team that she wanted because she did not know how to play. In third grade? Maybe we could TEACH the children the rules of the sport & give them a chance to be apart of a team? The staff is not too friendly & you will not get much assistance from the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

Cornerstone's academic curriculum is great. However, once the children get to 1st grade through 6th, if their behavior is age appropriate, and they are not acting like robots or military students, they get discipline for bad behavior. Kindergarden students are given detentions at this school. The principal does not solve any problems, she wants you to do her job and solve the problem with the teacher. If your child acts like a robot and doesn't say much. This is the school for you. If your child has age appropriate behavior and has a personality, this is NOT the school for you. The enrollment has gone down tremendously! Not because of the economy, but due to administration. This is considered a Christian School! Lord, bring forth wisdom, training, and compassion to the administration and teachers at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

My daughter has been going there since she was 3 and I can't see her attending another school. It's amazing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

I had three boys and they all read very well and are great at math. They were involved in many extra curricular activities ie. Honor roll, band, sports, choir, spelling bee and drama. My boys received high marks on standardized tests all five years that they were there. The staff love the Lord Jesus and are willing to work with you. My only disappointment is that we moved far away. The principal is the best principal that I have ever had. God Bless this School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

I am pleased with the level of learning provided by Cornerstone. My daughter was reading at the age of four and is now moving on to kindergarten where I know she will continue to strive. The ABEKA curriculum is one I would recommend to anyone. The staff is outstanding and the activities are great. I love Cornerstone Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

As my children are entering college now, I am very greatful to Cornerstone School and the staff there for the outstanding education they recieved during their elementary years. Small class sizes and caring attention made us feel at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

well worth every penny. my kindergartener is reading and writing (in my opinion) much more advanced than her age level. Such a warm and organized/disciplined atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

Cornerstone uses the Abeka curriculum and I think it is great. My kindergartner is learning to write in cursive and my 6th grader is doing geometry. Cornerstone has various sports programs for boys and girls from 5th to 8th grade. They now also have band for 3rd to 8th grade. These are just a few examples of what the school has to offer. Parents are expected to be involved and receive periodic progress reports about every 3 weeks. This makes it a little easier to try and steer your child in the right direction instead of being hit with a negative report card without warning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Alison Donald
Gender
  • Coed

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 9
Chicago Heights, IL 60412
Phone: (708) 756-3566

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jefferson Elementary School
Chicago Heights, IL


St Agnes School
Chicago Heights, IL



Roosevelt Elementary School
Chicago Heights, IL


Lincoln Elementary School
Chicago Heights, IL


St Pauls Lutheran School
Chicago Heights, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT