Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 600
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Darwin Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of a student at Darwin, I am very concerned about the leadership at Darwin. Mr. Segovia does not seem fit to lead at an elementary school. The stories that I've heard from teachers about his abusive behavior toward veteran teachers, and on the other end the blatant favoritism towards a privileged few of his staff; is completely unacceptable. "His" LSC also doesn't help because everything and everyone are kept in the dark about the budget, programming, and teacher hires/cuts. The only way we as parents are informed is through a monthly newsletter that is full of extremely poor grammar. I have heard great stories from friends of mine of wonderful principals at various other CPS schools, I wish that I could say the same about my child's principal. Unfortunately, I am not in a financial position to pay for private school tuition. I just hope that the LSC would listen more to the teachers, the parents, and the community...not simply to him.

Darwin Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2015
- a community member
Darwin is a great place with dedicated teachers and administrators. I used to work at this school and I witnessed first hand the hard work and dedication from all the staff, including administrators. I have been at different schools during my career and Mr. Segovia is by far one of the most involved and hard working principals I’ve met. From the beginning he has worked tirelessly to bring positive programs to Darwin such as PBIS and The Leader in Me. These programs have proven to promote the wellbeing of our students.


Darwin Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 01, 2015
- a community member
The principal expects the students to say "Good Morning" in unison to him when they pass him in the morning. If they don't say it he then refers to himself in the third person and reminds them to greet the principal. However, if they happen to be middle school students who display more of a willingness to challenge and oppose, he will shy away from confronting them about their boisterous behavior, public displays of affection and below the buttocks pants-wearing. It is quite a site to see this happening even during fire drills where certain classes come running down the stairs laughing, talking and in disarray during a fire drill and rather than confront these students he acts like he doesn't notice it. You can then see the seething anger in his face because he knows that he should confront these rowdy teens but he is too timid. Then, if another classroom comes along that is slightly talkative or not in a straight line (and usually led by a female teacher and below sixth grade) he then finds a great deal of courage and resolve and whips that class into shape, for sure!

Darwin Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 01, 2015
- a community member
Well, again, there is this whole forced program they have implemented at the school that takes up a whole lot of instructional time. It consists of a lot of mindlessly repeated mantras that have no real meaning to the students. It’s all about putting up a facade, a show, for people to come and look at a bunch of posters on the walls with trite sayings and robotic and forced performances by teachers and students when they have "leadership days". They also spend an extraordinarily inappropriate amount of instructional time making the kids comply with directives in order to achieve "lighthouse" status. How this program improves educational outcomes at this or any school is unproven, yet the principal forced the whole school to buy into this. It all about the principal festooning himself with achievements that don't necessarily benefit the students. If your child attends Darwin Elementary, they will spend a lot of time collecting obnoxious and repetitive data about themselves in a "leadership binder" and rehearsing their lines for the big "show off" day where the principal likes to put on his chef's hat and expect you to marvel at the incredible work he is doing. The principal also coaches students on how to answer a survey that results in a school rating. Certain teachers will take time out of learning to prep them for this survey. He also has one of his lieutenants go around the school with a clipboard checking the names of teachers who have completed the survey and reminding them to give the principal a good rating because he is so great. This is so the principal can tout himself . The principal will also seek to exact vendettas on other teachers by "punitively" reassigning to grade levels and positions that he knows will be difficult for the teacher. One teacher taught kindergarten for many years and then was reassigned to a middle school science position and later reportedly said that he hopes that she retires as a result of the reassignment. Or go ahead and attend one of the Local School Council meetings and observe how disrespectful he can be towards members who disagree with him. All of this does not go unnoticed by students at Darwin who are very intelligent and observant.

Darwin Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted July 30, 2015
- a community member
No. The administration will allow every opportunity to detract from meaningful learning and embroil the students in senseless programs and testing regimes that don't improve educational outcomes. He will dedicate a whole day to kids mindlessly repeating the digits of pi every March 14th yet makes now effort to organize meaningful educational activities like African-American heritage month or President's day. Despite some testing being optional he will voluntarily subject the school to these testing sessions such as three MAP assessments and 2 PARCC assessments. He seems to have this grandiose idea that latching on to every Board suggested directive will demonstrate that he is a pioneer of some sort. Students become overwhelmed with all the testing and lose interest. The principal thinks that by holding pep rallies and pleading with them that their scores are going to raise. Its like the old saying where you keep weighing the animal but you never feed it.


Darwin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a teacher
I have known Mr. Segovia for many years. His integrity and work ethic drive him to be the very best each day. His commitment to the community, his staff, and most importantly the students of Darwin School should be the model used for all CPS Schools. Thank you for all your hard work!

Darwin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
For years I have witnessed the work of a committed, caring and hardworking principal. Some teachers are incredibly caring, talented, and dynamic. Those are the teachers that jump on board in a heartbeat for the good of achievement, students, and the future of Darwin School. What tough jobs some principals and teachers have! I thank our Principal and those teachers that do it with dedication, respect, love and courage.

Darwin Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
For years I have witnessed the work of a committed, caring and hardworking principal. Some teachers are incredibly caring, talented, and dynamic. Those are the teachers that jump on board in a heartbeat for the good of achievement, students, and the future of Darwin School. What tough jobs some principals and teachers have! I thank the Principal at Darwin School and those teachers that do it with dedication, respect, love and courage.


Darwin Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
I do feel the Darwin elementary school is caring and involved with their students not only because teachers spend hours in school getting material prepared for the students but they also say today for after school to teach students more are given more help that they need

Darwin Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
I think that Darwin elementary school is a great school because the teachers are caring and very involved with the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Darwin Elementary School
3116 W Belden Ave, Chicago, IL  60647
(773) 534-4110
Last modified Darwin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Darwin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top