Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 600
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Darwin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a teacher
I have known Mr. Segovia for many years. His integrity and work ethic drive him to be the very best each day. His commitment to the community, his staff, and most importantly the students of Darwin School should be the model used for all CPS Schools. Thank you for all your hard work!
1 person found this helpful

Darwin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
For years I have witnessed the work of a committed, caring and hardworking principal. Some teachers are incredibly caring, talented, and dynamic. Those are the teachers that jump on board in a heartbeat for the good of achievement, students, and the future of Darwin School. What tough jobs some principals and teachers have! I thank our Principal and those teachers that do it with dedication, respect, love and courage.
2 people found this helpful


Darwin Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
For years I have witnessed the work of a committed, caring and hardworking principal. Some teachers are incredibly caring, talented, and dynamic. Those are the teachers that jump on board in a heartbeat for the good of achievement, students, and the future of Darwin School. What tough jobs some principals and teachers have! I thank the Principal at Darwin School and those teachers that do it with dedication, respect, love and courage.
2 people found this helpful

Darwin Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
I do feel the Darwin elementary school is caring and involved with their students not only because teachers spend hours in school getting material prepared for the students but they also say today for after school to teach students more are given more help that they need
2 people found this helpful

Darwin Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
I think that Darwin elementary school is a great school because the teachers are caring and very involved with the students.
3 people found this helpful


Darwin Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 17, 2015
- a community member
Given how much time is spent preparing for their Leader in Me performances, they could probably use a lot more homework.

Darwin Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
Darwin School has so much to offer to the students, parents and community. I am so happy that my children come to Darwin. This is their second home, where they not only prepare themselves for their future education but also where they feel safe and loved. Thank you to everyone at Darwin School, for working so hard!
4 people found this helpful

Darwin Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
Darwin school is a Leader in Me school, thank you to Mr. Segovia school principal for always putting the students first priority. Students from grades 6th - 8th with chrome books, great academy programs, so many programs to offered. The school develops integrity and fairness in its students. Safe environment where students like second home. Students and families feel respected and welcome as they come into the building. Teachers always caring for their students to succeed and become great leaders. The end of the year carnival for all students for the last six years, the principal participating with the students, laughing and just having a great time. Please consider this school as one of the best Chicago Public Schools. Love Darwin!!!
4 people found this helpful


Darwin Elementary School 1

Posted March 23, 2015
- a community member
As someone who worked at Darwin I can say the school has a BIG BULLY not only with students but with his colleagues and staff his name is Mr. Segovia the principal. When working there he had me sit at the security desk 3-4 hours and when I would could be doing my job. Which was attendance clerk when I would bring up the subject of the school needing 2 security guards for each building he told me before he hired a security guard he would get rid of me so than he can have $$ to pay the security officer. So from what I know til this day he still only has 1 security officer for both buildings.
2 people found this helpful

Darwin Elementary School 4

Posted March 20, 2015
- a community member
Great teachers but probably one of the worst places to work in the city. These teachers are pressured, overworked, and bullied by the administration. I should know I worked there and was basically forced out by a principal who cared more about his own political ego and success than the actual success of the students and working staff. I give four stars for the people that work there and the history of the place but make no doubt teachers here are miserable! I write this not to bash him but to support and let it be known about the working conditions for the teachers at Darwin.
3 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Darwin Elementary School
3116 W Belden Ave, Chicago, IL  60647
(773) 534-4110
Last modified Darwin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Darwin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top