Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Heritage Academy - Chicago Campus

Private | PK-3 | 80 students

CHA is best known for exemplary education with Christian values and principles.

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $275,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2014

We have been blessed to be a part of this special school for 4 years. It has nurtured our daughters academically, socially, and most importantly, spiritually. The foundation of instruction is a Biblical worldview, and the teachers live what they teach. It also offers a loving and inclusive parent community with many opportunities to serve in the classroom and connect both inside and outside of the school. We love CHA Chicago!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

Christian Heritage Academy is a hidden gem in Chicago. The school has an amazing community of parents and teachers. The parents are actively involved with the school and with the staff. The small class sizes allow for students to have a good amount of attention from their teacher. The Christian teaching during chapel are one of children's favorite lessons during the week. The school focuses on great education, but also strives to raise children into adults of integrity. CHA has a unique approach to discipline that is unlike any school I researched-- it is a peace keepers method which teaches children how to resolve conflicts with each other in a way that is respectful and kind. I truly love this school and my daughter who is attending for her second year loves this school too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

CHA is a marvelous addition to the Chicago educational landscape. It is unlike any other school in Chicago, offering a nurturing environment with a highly qualified staff, involved parents and an excellent education. All of this done through a Biblical worldview which grounds and disciples students in their faith and cultivates in them a heart for service to others.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2013

Christian Heritage Academy (CHA) Chicago is the best Christian education in the city of Chicago. Hands down. The teachers and administrators are incredible, with resumes that boast child development, education, and Christian theology expertise. Class sizes are kept small on purpose so each child receives one-on-one, tailored attention in each subject. Last, there is a culture that is fun-loving and enthusiastic about learning. This is a place that wants kids to know that their life journey is one of faith, learning, academic excellence, and FUN. It just doesn't get any better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

After researching nearly EVERY school in Chicago (which is a lot--magnet schools, neighborhood, classical, montessori, private, parochial, the list goes on . . .) we were a little discouraged. We wanted something academically rigorous but with small class sizes. We didn't mind paying for a private school, but didn't want to pay so much that we couldn't save for our kids' college. And we wanted our kids to have the arts and faith as a part of the curriculum. Then in 2009, CHA Chicago was formed! I believe it to be the BEST education in Chicago--offering components of classical and montessori schools. The curricula is play-based which is fantastic for helping young children to develop a love of learning. And it integrates Christian faith and learning (meaning that faith isn't relegated to chapel time, it's incorporated into all aspects of the school day, helping kids to learn to put other people first, to share, to never exclude a friend, etc.) Once children begin full-time school, it becomes the place that most influences them--even more than their parents. We are SO GRATEFUL to have CHA as the place that is most influencing, instructing and INSPIRING our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

CHA has truly been a blessing to our family since moving to Chicago in 2010 when we were utterly confused about preschools and grade schools. We have been met with open communication, understanding and love about anything we needed more information on, any question, concern about our child, etc. The director is an amazing mentor to the teachers, wonderful partner with the parents and has a huge love and heart for each and every child in her care. We are incredibly thankful for CHA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

Christian Heritage Academy has been the ultimate blessing for our family! This school offers a solid, exemplary education, while at the same time providing a Christ-centered environment. The director is unmatched, as far as her level of higher-knowledge, her application of this knowledge, and her ability to connect, in an authentic way, to every person she comes in contact with, from parent, to teacher, to student. In addition to the curriculum and Christ-centered environment, the teachers are held to the highest standards and definitely serve as role-models for both the students, as well as the parents. The parents, too, are an extraordinarily bright, talented, loving group of people greatly committed to their families. Finally, communication is a major strength at Christian Heritage Academy. The teachers go out of their way to maintain a healthy, open-line of communication, with the parents, which ultimately contributes to a very strong partnership. Overall, I would go out of my way to highly recommend this school! Keep up the amazing job, CHA!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

We are so blessed to have found CHA. ALL of the teachers and staff have such a love for Christ and the children. Christ is always at the center of the activities at this school. The children learn at an early age to not just pray, but to pray for others in need. As for academics, CHA teaches at a grade or two higher, which is largely due to the small classroom sizes. The school is mostly parent governed and the parents are very active in the life of the school. Everyone is so welcoming and loving and its just a wonderful place to be. My son has made tremendous leaps and bounds from kindergarten to now (2nd grade). He is not just reading chapter books but has a love for reading, math, and especially Christ. If you are looking for a wonderful Christian education in a Christ-centered school, CHA is the place for your family. We can't imagine our family at any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

Our family discovered Christian Heritage Academy Chicago campus a year ago and we are very happy. My oldest daughter has been attending their Pre-K 3 program this year and will be attending their Pre-K 4 program next year. Our younger daughter will be attending the Pre-K 3 next year as well. The teachers are wonderfully loving and the curriculum is excellent! If you are a Christian faith based family, I urge you to discover this school for your little ones. Our family could not be happier with our experience so far! My daughter LOVES going to school each week!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Korean
French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Accreditied by ISBE (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Origami club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kathy Severson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NCA-CASI
Fax number
  • (312) 787-8100

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Origami club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

March 01, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Discounts (referral, multi-child, etc.)
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 N Crosby St
Chicago, IL 60610
Website: Click here
Phone: (312) 361-0550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT