Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

CICS Ralph Ellison

Charter | 9-12

We are best known for great ACT scores!

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $62,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2014

This school is ridiculous, you have a few good teachers who care and quite a few who don't. These children are always either suspended or in detention. I understand that they have to be disciplined but the rules are TOO strict and something needs to be done. I've noticed that the enrollment is lower and I now understand why. If they don't make some serious changes soon, they too will be on probation. I regret sending my son to this school and will be transferring him out at the end of the school year. If had listened to what other were saying, I wouldn't be going through this foolishness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

I am a student at CICS Ralph Ellison, and contrary to everything on here, the scores on the ACT are low. Students are scoring 15's on these ACT's. There is gang-banging at the school, or at least symbolising. Its not actually them trying to start a fight. Although the girls are thirsty to fight any and everyone who comes at them the wrong way. Its mainly the student body thats a sad case, unfortunately. They have low moral standards; alongside low academic standards. Most of them just want to get by with a C to graduate otherwise there attendance is horrible and there grades too. The teachers try to do there best with the students, and they're are great teacher there. However. the students are just a reflection of their poor home life. Academically, if your child is focused its most definite the can succeed and be supported. Yet, scoially, depending on what type of person they are; it will weigh in on them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2013

CICS-Ralph Ellison is a high school on the cutting edge. We offer a rigorous, college-preparatory curriculum designed to help students excel in their post-secondary endeavors. There are teachers who are dedicated to meeting and exceeding the students' needs. There are great student-student interactions as well. Ellison offers an environment conducive to helping your child become a productive contributor to society.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 28, 2011

I am very pleased with the education my son has received here. Teachers are knowledgable and caring and the academic programs are great. I would highly recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

Every year, CICS Ralph Ellison becomes stronger in student achievement and community relationships. As a teacher, I am proud at the development of the faculty, students, and parent involvement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 18, 2011

Ralph Ellison has great thing going on for the students. There are a couple of groups there at Ellison to assist the children,teachers and parents. I'm looking forward to the end of the year do to the senior class activities. The communication with the staff has been wonderful this last 4years. i've been on several different boards here at Ellison. My son has also been a member of several boards and loving it! If you want your child to learn were he/she can feel as like they can talk with any staff member Ellison is the place to be. More parent participation is also welcome here at Ellison. We welcome all new Elite's. GO LIONS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

I love this school it has a great academic program, as well as strong leadership skills for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

The students are challenge to learn, and the school staff really do listen to their students and parents concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

Students are cared for and there has been changes made that show this again. It is better than me sending my child to the school in our neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

I was worry about the area but the school has done a good job with the Parent and Police patrol. I have no worries about my son going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

I couldn't ask for a better school they challenge my son and make him want to be the best at what ever he does.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Turon Ivy
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (773) 478-4494

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Chicago International Charter School- Ralph Ellison Campus is part of the Civitas network of Schools. Civitas Schools works to ensure that our students demonstrate the intellectual skills, the cultural competence, the belief in self, and the engagement in community necessary for success in school, college, the workplace and life.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1817 W. 80th Street
Chicago, IL 60620
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 478-4434

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT