Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


CICS Ralph Ellison 1

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
The school does not represent what Ralph Ellison, himself stood for in his struggles. The policy is "PPP", Policy Per Student. They send our children out as if they're garbage, not caring about their future behind Ralph Ellision. Also the teachers especially the Deans are not qualified to handle issues among students. This school is horrifc for our childrens future.

CICS Ralph Ellison 1

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is ridiculous, you have a few good teachers who care and quite a few who don't. These children are always either suspended or in detention. I understand that they have to be disciplined but the rules are TOO strict and something needs to be done. I've noticed that the enrollment is lower and I now understand why. If they don't make some serious changes soon, they too will be on probation. I regret sending my son to this school and will be transferring him out at the end of the school year. If had listened to what other were saying, I wouldn't be going through this foolishness.


CICS Ralph Ellison 2

Posted April 28, 2013
- a student
I am a student at CICS Ralph Ellison, and contrary to everything on here, the scores on the ACT are low. Students are scoring 15's on these ACT's. There is gang-banging at the school, or at least symbolising. Its not actually them trying to start a fight. Although the girls are thirsty to fight any and everyone who comes at them the wrong way. Its mainly the student body thats a sad case, unfortunately. They have low moral standards; alongside low academic standards. Most of them just want to get by with a C to graduate otherwise there attendance is horrible and there grades too. The teachers try to do there best with the students, and they're are great teacher there. However. the students are just a reflection of their poor home life. Academically, if your child is focused its most definite the can succeed and be supported. Yet, scoially, depending on what type of person they are; it will weigh in on them.

CICS Ralph Ellison 5

Posted January 02, 2013
- a teacher
CICS-Ralph Ellison is a high school on the cutting edge. We offer a rigorous, college-preparatory curriculum designed to help students excel in their post-secondary endeavors. There are teachers who are dedicated to meeting and exceeding the students' needs. There are great student-student interactions as well. Ellison offers an environment conducive to helping your child become a productive contributor to society.

CICS Ralph Ellison 4

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
I am very pleased with the education my son has received here. Teachers are knowledgable and caring and the academic programs are great. I would highly recommend this school to others.


CICS Ralph Ellison 5

Posted February 21, 2011
- a teacher
Every year, CICS Ralph Ellison becomes stronger in student achievement and community relationships. As a teacher, I am proud at the development of the faculty, students, and parent involvement.

CICS Ralph Ellison 4

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
Ralph Ellison has great thing going on for the students. There are a couple of groups there at Ellison to assist the children,teachers and parents. I'm looking forward to the end of the year do to the senior class activities. The communication with the staff has been wonderful this last 4years. i've been on several different boards here at Ellison. My son has also been a member of several boards and loving it! If you want your child to learn were he/she can feel as like they can talk with any staff member Ellison is the place to be. More parent participation is also welcome here at Ellison. We welcome all new Elite's. GO LIONS!

CICS Ralph Ellison 5

Posted February 14, 2011
- a parent
I love this school it has a great academic program, as well as strong leadership skills for the students.


CICS Ralph Ellison 5

Posted February 14, 2011
- a parent
The students are challenge to learn, and the school staff really do listen to their students and parents concerns.

CICS Ralph Ellison 4

Posted February 14, 2011
- a parent
Students are cared for and there has been changes made that show this again. It is better than me sending my child to the school in our neighborhood.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

CICS Ralph Ellison
1817 W. 80th Street, Chicago, IL  60620
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (773) 478-4434
Last modified CICS Ralph Ellison is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12
Top