Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 1,575
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 70 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


75 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walt Disney Magnet School 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughter's first quarter at Walt Disney and so far the school has been absolutely great! She is on the Honor Roll and loves going to school every day. The student body is diverse and representative of the city. As a parent, I've had only positive interactions with her teachers as well as the administration. My daughter is being challenged on a daily basis; which is what a great school should do. She attended a small school beforehand and we found no problem with her transition. Good job Disney!
1 person found this helpful

Walt Disney Magnet School 1

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
School is very cruel Principal is a drill sergeant docent let kids go out front too Get picked up from the inside schools have many problems some teachers are very rude


Walt Disney Magnet School 1

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
Principal is a drill sargent, she has no business working with children. Principal will not work with parents or teachers. It is her way or the highway. Principal has no understanding of children and early childhood development. Principal has a representation that proceeds her, when I bring up Disney Magnet School on Marine Drive, I have had CPS teachers, speech therapists, social workers, special education teachers, all complain about the Disney Magnet School principal. Teachers who work at Disney are under allot of stress, due to the principal. That is no way to work. If teachers are stressed and treated poorly by the principal,how do you expect them to have patience with children?

Walt Disney Magnet School 2

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Fell out of love with Disney. Tremendous emphasis on testing, and not much in the way of enrichment programs even though the school is well-funded. Other schools offer a diversity of before- and after-school activities. Now that school starts at 7:30 a.m., the students walk around in a haze. It's unfair to expect the same level of performance when kids are fatigued.

Walt Disney Magnet School 4

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
I have one graduate student and one upcoming 5th grader . About the teachers , they are all gifted , very hard working and helpful except for a few (new) The principal knows how to run the school .I'm very impressed. 8 years have been awesome. The school offers lot of activities and I've been happy and looking forward for the coming years. Good luck Disney I gave you a child and you gave me a star back!


Walt Disney Magnet School 2

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
I am disappointed with how this school has gone down hill. Had a child there who graduated and was considering enrolling our other child. Convinced my sister to transfer their children out of there. The principal is a drill sargent and only cares about money. If parents dont agree with her she will not work with you. If you are one of her puppets then she is your best friend! I am sorry I let my child stay there so long, but glad they are done. This school is not challenging the students to their fullest. There are some good teachers but the principal is the same way with her staff, do what she says and play by her rules or your out. Just ask some of the teachers who have challenged her. Good luck to future parents who enroll their children there for this school year.

Walt Disney Magnet School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
Both of our children graduated from Walt Disney Magnet School. Our experience was positive; the teachers were great and the administrative team was tough but fair. Our children thrived in the POD environment and loved having classmates from all over the world. Our children were recommended to the gifted program but we turned down the offers (We did not see the need for the extra work.) Our son was accepted to North Side College Prep and our daughter was accepted to Lane Tech. They are doing very well and have great memories about their grade school years.

Walt Disney Magnet School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
The school is big and frantic but I think it prepares children for what big city life workforce is all about. The priniciple, although super tough, really does care about the kids. I guess you can't be too soft when you are running such a large school or it would probably be a disaster. They need to make improvements on how to properly and efficiently get the kids out to recess and anything else that involves free time. Also, like anywhere else, there are a few teachers who can use an attitude adjustment. One in particular, the art teacher. Very good school.


Walt Disney Magnet School 4

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
My school is too noisy and too large. Not enough, none in fact, attention is given to processes involved in solving complicated math problems. Teachers have too much to do in a short amount of time. More teacher training is especially needed with language classes and math. Inexperienced instructors need more guidance. Parents are working overtime to make up for the deficiencies.

Walt Disney Magnet School 2

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
This school has gone down the tubes. We've been there for 5 years and it used to be excellent. It just isn't the same this year. No recess, silent lunches, no running allowed on playground. I'm just sick of it. We have to move, I think. It's such a shame.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walt Disney Magnet School
4140 N Marine Dr, Chicago, IL  60613
(773) 534-5840
Last modified Walt Disney Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walt Disney Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. Top