Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
76 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 104 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walt Disney Magnet School 5

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
2015/ 2016 school yr is my daughter's first yr at Disney. What a wonderful school yr it has been. I was on the fence about sending her here bc of distance. It's the best desicion I could have made. I've read a lot of ratings & reviews from various sites & didn't know what to expect. Now I'm happy to share my thoughts & opinions. The principal runs a tight ship. This is fine in my opinion bc I like structure & feel kids need it. I've never had a problem, question, or concern that wasn't address in a timely manner. Also the school welcomes parents for trips, field day, & various other events/ activities. My daughter's classroom, music, dance (Ms. Smith), & Mandarin teachers are the best. Disney is so diverse that my daughter's Kindergarten class looks like a rainbow of children from everywhere. My daughter learn a lot academically but also from all the different cultures right in her classroom. The PTA is great & will help out in anyway possible. I have not 1 compliant. Hats off to the staff & principal. Job well done. I love this school. My daughter reads & does math on a 3rd grade level & she's only in kindergarten. Thanks Disney for a wonderful school yr!!!!

Walt Disney Magnet School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
I'm grateful to Mr. Szymanski, the accelerated class First Grade teacher. He's done a great job throughout this year of shepherding all of the kids into a love of reading and math, and a sense of wonder for the world around them. He's always been super responsive whenever I've had questions or concerns, and has translated those concerns to the entire class when appropriate.


Walt Disney Magnet School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
My daughter every day tolke about her teacher how hi teach them she's very happy and she's love to be a teacher like him .

Walt Disney Magnet School 3

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
My son is in second grade at Disney and it's been a rough year . This is my son's second year at Disney and I am seriously considering and applying to other schools. First of all my son left kindergarten reading at fourth grade level and testing in the 99th percentile in reading standards and 89th percentile in math and he came to Disney and was not moved to the gifted classroom for first grade. My son is very active and a typical little boy and I'm guessing that is why . The school doesn't have any programs besides the occasional cac performance and awards assembly. The teachers focus more on discipline than they do teaching or learning the children ...My guess is because of the principal. They rarely ever go on field trips and the Parent -teacher communication is very poor ! If something happens in school I rarely ever hear about it from a teacher , I hear about it from my second grader . Part of the office staff are rude and unprofessional and a lot of the rules just don't make sense .. And again the communication with parents is horrible . My son was sick for an entire day just a few days ago and no one contacted me , he slept through a gym period and I wasn't contacted .. And he had a virus ! They don't seem to care about the children , that aren't the occasional "little grown person". They don't challenge children or use fun techniques . I honestly don't think they care .. They are not what they once were. I enjoy my sons reading teacher this year and I loved my sons first grade teacher , she was amazing ! I guess it's a better option than other Cps schools... However, they really need to fix so many things !!

Walt Disney Magnet School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank Ms. Brandt , she was a lovely teacher who really cared about her students and paid attention to them and their growth and Ms. Bedell .


Walt Disney Magnet School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
The good teachers are great teachers and the ones who are not are not. It's all on the individual and how they choose to run their classroom.

Walt Disney Magnet School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
I haven't seen a school wide initiative to help students strive for excellence , with the exception of the gifted classes.

Walt Disney Magnet School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
This school practices fear in its students with the exception of some teachers. This is just in my experience.


Walt Disney Magnet School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
This school honestly doesn't do anything meaningful . They don't talk about feelings or have sharing or community exercises ..

Walt Disney Magnet School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
There has been shaming that I have seen in this school by teachers and students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walt Disney Magnet School
4140 N Marine Dr, Chicago, IL  60613
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 104 reviews. (773) 534-5840
Last modified Walt Disney Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top