Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westinghouse High School

Public | 9-11

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

My daughter is a sophomore at GWCP and we are extremely happy with the school. The teachers and administrators really give their all to help each child achieve academic success. Teachers are available after school and my child feels welcome to see them anytime she wants extra help. They also have a really neat medical program that is often invited to Northwestern Memorial for interesting field trips. While it is not in the greatest neighborhood my daughter feels comfortable walking to the Chicago bus with a friend and we have never had any problems. My daughter is white, which does make her a minority at this school. She has a very large diverse group of friends and participates in sports and extra-curricular activities. We have found the student body to be motivated academically, kind, friendly, helpfull and respectfull.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

My child is a sophomore at GWCP. This school was not her first choice when she was applying for Selective Enrollment schools. It is far from our house and in a not-so-great neighborhood. BUT it has turned out to be a fantastic opportunity for her. The teachers have really taken the time to get to know her, to push her and move her into higher level classes when appropriate. She has excelled academically at GWCP. While that is great, the school is still new and working on developing strong parent involvement and extra curricular activities. These things take time and they are on the right track. I highly recommend Westinghouse College Prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

I knew nothing about this school to begin with, except that it was in a bad neighborhood. I can now say it is a very good academic school. I also very happy with the students there, I pick my child everyday and I noticed all the students are very respectful. I highly recommend this school for others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

My experience with GWCP has been awesome. This is a great school in the heart of the westside of Chicago. My son has attended all 4 years and is about to graduate. The principal, teachers and staff care about the students tremendously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Great School & Teachers!!!! Good CLEAN state of the art school. If you're looking for a academic excellence, you're found the school. I'm proud to say my son attends GWCP. The teachers are second to none. They really care about the students and push them to achieve higher goals. The principal is awesome, she loves to interact with the parents and students. I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I have two daughters attending George Westinghouse College Prep H.S. It is well endowed with technology, academic programs, and the atmosphere conducive for learning!! The Principal is proactive, innovative, involved, and personable. She inspire and motivate her students. She implemented programs to prevent failure. This school has Freshman FX for homework help or clarification of new lessons. Teachers are available daily after school for every subject. Sophomores - Seniors can arrange a time to meet with their instructors if additional help is needed in any subject. Teachers are reliable. This school offers the academic curriculum that will allow your teen to compete nationally, and it offers a community of support. The Principal works to provide resources to the parents, as well. The parent committee meetings ensure parents receive information needed to help their teen succeed. The meetings address college planning; frequently asked questions about financial aide and scholarships; plan events to inspire and motivate students for success; and plan events to boost student morale. I love this school! This school has all the resources needed for the success of its students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Brand new facility with state of the art everything. Amazing, talented, highly professional teachers. Top notch administration. Plenty of challenging courses. The school is focus on College Prep so their is a robust offering of Honors and AP classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

WCP is an excellent high school. As a parent of a sophomore I have been pleased with the overall quality of the institution. WCP offers the best of everything for its students. They are very understanding, organized and aware of every students needs. The teachers there are very supportive when a student is falling off track. They will help the student in every way possible to get him/her back on track. Through my experience the teachers will communicate with the parent and will set a plan on helping the student achieve in every aspect to receive passing grade in the class. The staff and counselors are very well educated individuals and will also help the parents with any question or doubts that they may have. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Great school with great teachers. The acedemic program is great with multiple honors and AP course offerings. The sports programs are also great with a vast array of athelitic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

When my daughter was looking into the Selective enrollment schools in Chicago, Westinghouse was #1 on her list. I cannot be more happy with the school. As a freshman she was enrolled in all honors classes as well as an ap course. She is now a sophomore and is taking all honors and 2 AP classes. She already planned her classes for next year which will put her in a few more AP classes and the rest honors. The school definately challenges my daughter and she loves it (although she may not like the 2-3 hours of homework a night) I think students and parents looking into the school worry about the neighborhood in which it is located, but my daughter takes public transportation and has never had a problem. If you want your child to succeed and be all they can be, Westinghouse is definately will that will happen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Westinghouse is a great school. I have the pleasure of being an Alumn (class of 1996) and the pleasure of my daughter also attending the school. I love the new look and feel of the school and all that it has to offer to the students. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Westinghouse is GREAT! My daughter will be in it's second graduating class this year, Go Class of 2014! I really loved it when Dr. Jones was the assistant principal with Dr. Jackson and would refer to them as the Dynamic Duo! They have excellent programs and teachers. My daughter is part of the inaugural group with Northwestern Memorial Hospital (Scholars Program). I can't say enough good things about it! They paid for ACT prep classes that help her to score a 26 on the ACT. What can I say: Love, Love, Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

The school and principal are amazing.My son likes the clean, new environment. The teachers are really invested in the students and families. I walk in the door and know I can expect excellent outcomes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My daughter is a sophomore at GWCP & she loves her school. She is active in school activities & sports as a member of the Lady Warriors Volleyball Team, a honor student, and new inductee to the National Honor Society. Although she has long nights with papers to write, and other HW assignments, she's really enjoying what she's learning. My daughter talks to me in great detail about her world studies class, and her English readings, which lets me know that she's truly learning. I am happy with the educational, conversational, & creative development she's getting at GWCP. Oh yeah, they also have a phenomenal Art , & Music Department too! the teachers at GWCP are top notch educators as well! I could go on and on, but I think you get my point...Westinghouse has proven to be an EXCELLENT Choice for my daughters High School Education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My son is a Westinghouse sophomore. We didn t know anything about the school until he was accepted & it turned out to be the best thing ever! The school is accessible by public transportation. The building is NEW & fantastic tennis courts, swimming pool, theatre, enclosed outdoor area in the center! I like the size compared to Lane, which is huge. Big enough to warrant a variety of classes & extra curricular activities & small enough that the teachers get to know the students. From my vantage point the Principal is doing a stellar job. When I ve seen her speak she s confident but not brash, intelligent, hands-on & very approachable. Email ommunications are regularly forthcoming. Students & teachers I know love the school. Unfortunately the location probably concerns many parents. It s not a perfect neighborhood but the Principal is on top of it and morning & afternoons are fine. Students staying late can wait inside until their ride arrives. Like any location your student needs to be aware of their surroundings, walk with friends & report issues. It s not as diverse as other selectives. Not an issue for our student but I hope the population balances out over time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female62%
Male79%
Black60%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income66%
Not low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female69%
Male75%
Black66%
Asian64%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income70%
Not low income76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students46%
Female39%
Male56%
Black38%
Asian73%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income43%
Not low income62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

90.8%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 68% 18%
Hispanic 26% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 1% 3%
White 1% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Janice Keyon Jackson

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3223 West Franklin Boulevard
Chicago, IL 60624
Phone: (773) 534-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Raby High School
Chicago, IL


Ucan Academy
Chicago, IL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT