Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Young Magnet High School

Public | 7-12 | 2171 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2007

I am currently in 7th grade at WY. This school excells academically, but not due to the teachers. The teacher quality is basically average, however the students here excell and that is what makes WY so 'academically enriched'. The things they teach us here are a lot more difficult than at most other schools, which is great for a lot of gifted students. However, if you consider sending your child here you should think about it more carefully.The best thing about here is that it offers a variety of different classes. (Orchestra, dance, AP, Sculpture, Marine Biology, Trigonomety etc.)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2007

My child attended the Academic Center and continued on until his sophomore year. He loved 7th and 8th grade and he was able to quickly adjust to the rigor. However, they assume that just because these kids are very bright that they know everything and are capable of making adult like decisions; and if not, 'oh well'. As mentioned before there are just a handful of teachers that will go above and beyond to help a child and even they seem a bit overwhelmed. Warning...if our child has a problem with cliques don t send them here...all the clubs are clique oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

Young prepared my WY graduate(2004) well for college level work. My class of 2007 child also seems well prepared. The courses were challenging and offered at different skill levels. I would choose it again, However, the teachers do not impress me as particularly skilled or committed. The math and science instruction is substandard. I am satisfied with the experience my children gained at Young, esp. compared to what else is available in CPS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

I attended Whitney Young from 2001-2005 and I consider the students, faculty, and staff members of my extended family. I truly feel I was part of something special whether it be setting football records, winning track and field championships, going to watch the Lady Dolphins dominate, or being in Illinois' best high school choir. The courses offered at WY are challenging and that is why being successful at WY is so fulfilling. I was allowed to grow as a person and student. I was allowed to express myself through the arts like choir and video production. Teachers and parents, not only my own but also parents of my friends, took a special interest in me and provided a network/support system that enabled me to excel. If I could do those 4 years of my life over again, I wouldn't change a thing. GO DOLPHINS!!!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 11, 2006

My daughter just gained admission, she couldn't be more thrilled. Even though she will be traveling from the far northwest side of Chicago, we all feel it's worth it! Their open house was the best of any we went to. Very organized, completely informational...& honest views from individual students. The range of classes are amazing, opportunities abound. Not to mention on cool school (& my daughter LOVES the bridges!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2005

Whitney young is an excellent school all around! The Diversity, location, academics and clubs/sports make this one great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2005

I'm an incoming senior at Whitney Young, and I can say that WY is truly one of the best high schools a student can attend. There's a large variety of regular, honors, and AP classes, and most of the teachers are great. They really get involved in your learning, and care about the student as a person. The school has also implemented a new system called Edline, where teachers can post a student's grades online, and send out messages to students and parents. Its very useful for parents to keep up to date on what's happening in their child's classes. The extracurriculars are amazing. I've played sports every year I've attended WY, and the experience is unforgettable. The coaches are supportive, and team friendships are lasting. There's also a large variety of organizations to participate in. The student body is also incredibly diverse. WY's just a great school overall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2005

I am not a parent but a former student of Whitney Young, I was reading another student's review and it bothered me. At Whitney Young, you do not have to belong to a clique to survive. I wasn't a part of any type of clique and I did fairly well. Besides this, the interactions amongst students and faculty is great. Many times, I have discussed issues that I have had in class and my parents were always informed of my performance in classes. There were times where I did fall behind but with the faculty's help, I made it and I made it strong. Whitney Young is a very caring institution.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 1, 2004

As a new parent of two boys, one 7th and one 9th, I am overwhelmed with Whitney. Having said that, I wouldn't have my boys at any other school. Why? Whitney is a reflection of real life. It's not always fair. It's an opportunity to prepare your child for future battles. Contrary to what some other parents have written, I find the parental contact superior to most schools. Edline is the bomb! I feel sorry for my children. I check it every week. It helps me keep them on track. My favorite line...'Is Edline going to make me smile, or should we cancel Christmas now?'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2004

As a problematic student going through the maturity phase of my life, I can say that my mother's wisdom was way beyond her. My attending Whitney Young not only prepared me for college, but life after college. Yes there are cliques you have to deal with, but tell me where in life you do not have to deal with that. Yes, they expect more, but why shouldn't you expect the best from the best? I can't relate to the non-contacting of parents when you fall behind. In fact, they contact my mom a little 'too much', but it helped me get to where I am today. I mean I learned how to golf before it was 'fashionable' to golf. I learned archery and most importantly, I learned to believe in the greatness that I already possess and utilize that for the advancement of society as a whole! Go Whitney Young!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 30, 2004

I absolutely loved my time at whitney young. I went there from 1988-1994. I came in through the academic center and continued through high shool. It's the best high school in the city.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 16, 2004

I've finally graduated from Whitney Young in 2004. My mother's recently informed me that while my sister was a freshman at WY she spoke with a math teacher who said in order to survive at Whitney Young you have to belong in a clique. This is unfotunately true. The support among classmates, staff and social services, for those of us who fell between the cracks, was not very available. So many of the students are snooty and impatient with others who learn/adjust at different paces. The deadlines for many assignments considering the proportions are rediculous. While at Whitney Young I met the principal senior year--my first time. She just said, 'Your grades are way to low to be a Whitney Young student.' Some good things about the school are the handful of genuinely conscerned teachers, the diversity of students and courses--including languages, social studies and electives, facilities, some teaching approaches and safety.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 23, 2004

In the event that a student falls behind, the parent is not notified. Because all of the students attending Young are so bright, the 'above average' but not extremely accelerated can slip by. My daughter was failing chemistry and I was never notified. This school is only good for the very independent and goal-oriented student. It is too easy for all other students to slip by. The school was very large and not personal enough for my liking. My daughter only met the principal three times in four years. Parents must be proactive if they have a student at Young.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2003

Good choice among both public and private options. Great urban location! Great cross section of student racial, ethnic and economic backgrounds. Students of all abilities can meet their potential. Broad range of course and extracurricular options. Confident, prepared and results oriented teachers. Strong supportive parent groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Low income100%
Non-low income100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black95%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Low income97%
Non-low income100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Low income100%
Non-low income100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Low income100%
Non-low income100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Low income97%
Non-low income100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male99%
Black92%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low income96%
Non-low income100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male97%
Black93%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White98%
Low income96%
Non-low income99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students95%
Female93%
Male97%
Black80%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low income89%
Non-low income99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 29% 51%
Black 27% 18%
Hispanic 22% 23%
Asian 18% 4%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joyce Dorsey Kenner
Fax number
  • (773) 534-7261

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

211 South Laflin Street
Chicago, IL 60607
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 534-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT