Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ebinger Elementary School 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Great principal, fantastic supportive and caring parents. Fund raisers continue to be utilized to support programs for the school. Ongoing changes have been implemented-many art programs have been created, computer lab is up and running, smart boards in each room and iPad carts are available. Now they are focusing on improving the Physical Education (grounds and programs) for the school. Theyh ave Math Night, Literacy Night and Science Night for families to involve their kids. There are off-campus trips for 4th (White Pines Ranch), 6th (New York) and 8th (Washington DC) graders. Principal meets with parents 1x/month. Doors are open for communication. Needs: upgrade rating system for grading especially the exploratory classes. Additionally kids with higher academic prospects need to be challenged and upper grade teachers need to be more creative to motivate their students.

Ebinger Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
My child graduated from this school years ago. This school was amazing, the teachers, the principal were all supportive and if there were any concerns I was contacted immediately. The expectations were set coming in the door. He was well prepared for high school.


Ebinger Elementary School 3

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
Average school, good community support, lacking in academic rigor. 8th grade Algebra students unable to pass high school Algebra placement tests and grammar/usage instruction has been downplayed, which is a large component on selective enrollment HS tests. Many of the high achieving students have left to area Academic Centers. Technology lab is great but highly underutilized as teachers aren't proficient in leading edge educational programs.

Ebinger Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Ebinger excels in reading, math, science and fine arts. The teachers are EXCELLENT and the curriculum is top notch! Unbelievable community feeling, overall great experience.

Ebinger Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2012
- a parent
My child is receiving a great education. The principal, Mrs. Peterson-Klosa, has an open door to listening to the parents and students with needs/issues. She is exceptionally good with special needs children and their parents. I am grateful she took over as principal of Ebinger. Very happy with the teacher we have, and teacher's aides. Our child is doing very well and thriving in the Ebinger School environment. I have seen many parents that are involved in school. I stay at home, but bear in mind many people do have to work and do their best. Curriculum night is ALWAYS packed with parents interested in their child's education. Our school offers sports and after school programs. There seems to be plenty a child could do and join at school whether it is band or sports or even a foreign language program. D.K.


Ebinger Elementary School 4

Posted August 25, 2012
- a parent
It's not bad for a public school. There is room for improvement. The good thing is the Principal, teachers, parents and kids all seem to work towards improving.

Ebinger Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
The community support, the parents the teaching staff are all above and beyond the norm! Its a great neighborhood school.

Ebinger Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2007
- a parent
Terrific teacher committment. My child is in junior high and is challenged. He really loves school. The teachers offer extra help and truly want him to excel. Kudos to the staff at Ebinger.


Ebinger Elementary School 4

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ebinger Elementary School 4

Posted February 13, 2007
- a parent
Academics are #1 at Ebinger. Standards are incredibly high. Teachers are committed & hold students accountable (but need to communicate more via newsletters & web). After school includes sports, art, scouts, chess, choir, math & reading enrichment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ebinger Elementary School
7350 West Pratt Avenue, Chicago, IL  60631
(773) 534-1070
Last modified Ebinger Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ebinger Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top