Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ebinger Elementary School 1

Posted August 12, 2016
- a parent
We had such a terrible experience sending our son to this school for kindergarten! There wasn't any support with his homeroom teacher with his special needs. His IEP team changed his minutes and goals to basically set him up for failure. It is severely overcrowded. And they do not have a strong special dept. for kids who are struggling. Which I was also very surprised and sad that they don't have a cluster program especially since their principal is a mother of twin boys, one being autistic and the other being typical. You would think she would be more sympathetic with children having special needs. But obliviously, she doesn't care about the children at her school. The principal is more concern about her data goals and whenever Rahm Emanuel, Mayor decides to visit their school. With all of this being said, we have decided one year at Ebinger was enough for us to transfer our son to a different school for the Fall.

Ebinger Elementary School 4

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
Very good for younger age children. My daughter has some learning issues and the school has been very good with working with her. I also have an older child in 7th grade. I would recommend school through 6th grade only. The teachers in 7th grade (most also teach 8th) have been highly disappointing. There is no emphasis on Grammer, very weak writing instruction by a really disorganized instructor. My son struggles with writing and the only thing the teacher has done was tell me that he is behind. No extra assistance provided or effort at all by instructor. Math teacher is fair but tends to loose students. Good use of chrome books however it's hard to assess as parent a when your child might start falling behind until grades are posted online. Basically if I had to do it over again, I would have forced him to go into an academic center at Taft or Lane.


Ebinger Elementary School 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Great principal, fantastic supportive and caring parents. Fund raisers continue to be utilized to support programs for the school. Ongoing changes have been implemented-many art programs have been created, computer lab is up and running, smart boards in each room and iPad carts are available. Now they are focusing on improving the Physical Education (grounds and programs) for the school. Theyh ave Math Night, Literacy Night and Science Night for families to involve their kids. There are off-campus trips for 4th (White Pines Ranch), 6th (New York) and 8th (Washington DC) graders. Principal meets with parents 1x/month. Doors are open for communication. Needs: upgrade rating system for grading especially the exploratory classes. Additionally kids with higher academic prospects need to be challenged and upper grade teachers need to be more creative to motivate their students.

Ebinger Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
My child graduated from this school years ago. This school was amazing, the teachers, the principal were all supportive and if there were any concerns I was contacted immediately. The expectations were set coming in the door. He was well prepared for high school.

Ebinger Elementary School 3

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
Average school, good community support, lacking in academic rigor. 8th grade Algebra students unable to pass high school Algebra placement tests and grammar/usage instruction has been downplayed, which is a large component on selective enrollment HS tests. Many of the high achieving students have left to area Academic Centers. Technology lab is great but highly underutilized as teachers aren't proficient in leading edge educational programs.


Ebinger Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Ebinger excels in reading, math, science and fine arts. The teachers are EXCELLENT and the curriculum is top notch! Unbelievable community feeling, overall great experience.

Ebinger Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2012
- a parent
My child is receiving a great education. The principal, Mrs. Peterson-Klosa, has an open door to listening to the parents and students with needs/issues. She is exceptionally good with special needs children and their parents. I am grateful she took over as principal of Ebinger. Very happy with the teacher we have, and teacher's aides. Our child is doing very well and thriving in the Ebinger School environment. I have seen many parents that are involved in school. I stay at home, but bear in mind many people do have to work and do their best. Curriculum night is ALWAYS packed with parents interested in their child's education. Our school offers sports and after school programs. There seems to be plenty a child could do and join at school whether it is band or sports or even a foreign language program. D.K.

Ebinger Elementary School 4

Posted August 25, 2012
- a parent
It's not bad for a public school. There is room for improvement. The good thing is the Principal, teachers, parents and kids all seem to work towards improving.


Ebinger Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
The community support, the parents the teaching staff are all above and beyond the norm! Its a great neighborhood school.

Ebinger Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2007
- a parent
Terrific teacher committment. My child is in junior high and is challenged. He really loves school. The teachers offer extra help and truly want him to excel. Kudos to the staff at Ebinger.

Nearby schools

Ebinger Elementary School
7350 West Pratt Ave, Chicago, IL  60631
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (773) 534-1070
Last modified Ebinger Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top