Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Edgebrook Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
We were lucky enough to get a spot at Edgebrook through the CPS lottery. I thought it would be difficult for my child switching schools, but it has been wonderful. She's made many new friends and is finally being challenged academically. We love the school and feel very fortunate to be there. The new principal is always available and working hard to keep Edgebrook among the best in Chicago.

Edgebrook Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
Great school community. Primary grade teachers have all been wonderful, creative teachers. The school is very responsive to kids and families needs. Leadership with a vision and very child-centered. Terrific school!


Edgebrook Elementary School 2

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
We moved to the neighborhood after hearing great things about Edgebrook School. I have to say that we are quite disappointed. It appears that most of the teaching happens at home and is re-enforced at school which appears to be backwards. Also, homework goes unchecked for several weeks and we question the quality of education our children are receiving here. In our opinion, the school rankings are reflective of the parental involvement in this school rather than the teaching standards, which appear to be mediocre to say the least. We will be looking at other options next year.

Edgebrook Elementary School 2

Posted August 11, 2013
- a community member
I absolutely loathe this school's middle school! It is graded on something called the effort system, where you are graded on how hard you try. This is specifically for homework only. So you can get 100% even if you get all the answers wrong but as long as you did your homework, you get a good grade.

Edgebrook Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a community member
You are soon getting what will be the most amazing Principal to ever lead any school!! Congratulations!! He's truly incredible!


Edgebrook Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
Congratulations to all the kids moving up to the next level! You all take so much pride in your work and your test scores show it! A great family atmosphere and community support system!

Edgebrook Elementary School 3

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
Lots of bullying by parents as well as students. Unfortunately, the current principal and employees clearly favor the bully parents and also participate in bullying the others. Very rude staff. My daughter is in her third year here and the academics are just okay. New principal coming soon so hopefully some things will change. It is very clear that special treatment is given to certain parents and students, whom the rules to not apply to. As stated by some other reviewers, this school has a very "elitist" attitude and if you are not in the "elite" group, you and your child/children can be treated badly by the schoo, schizophrenia, and other students.

Edgebrook Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Great School. One of the very best neighborhood schools. Dedicated core of experienced teachers and staff. Committed parent volunteers make this school a great community experience.


Edgebrook Elementary School 1

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Edgebrook Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edgebrook Elementary School
6525 North Hiawatha Avenue, Chicago, IL  60646
(773) 534-1194
Last modified Edgebrook Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edgebrook Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top