Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Agassiz Elementary School 2

Posted February 29, 2016
- a community member
School is overrated and the parents drink the cool aid beacuse most of the families have few other options. The test scores are declining and the school doesnt aim high enough. Many of the teachers are not proactive enough and do just enough to get the kids through the year. Not many 8th grade graduates are accepted into many if the selective high schools, college graduate numbers are pitiful.

Agassiz Elementary School 4

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year attending. It truly is a great school! Our child is in kindergarten and has a 2nd year teacher (but 1st experience in kindergarten) I do notice how the other kindergarten teacher appears to do more in her classroom but time will tell. My child is excited about going to school everyday and talks about their experiences at home. On a positive note, the principal is wonderful and very approachable! I love how they incorporate, world language, fine arts and technology with their curriculum and what they offer in regards to activities. Both playgrounds are adorable and the school has such a community feel. The children are very nice and bullying is not tolerated here. The only drawback that I have is that some staff members appear frazzled or not friendly. Plus there are clicks in the school (by the parents not the kids).


Agassiz Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
My child has a disability and they physically show empathy and caring and want my child to succeed.

Agassiz Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
This school incorporates this specific philosophy into the classroom and this is presented in the classrooms.

Agassiz Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
We live in the neighborhood and our children attend and excel at Agassiz. Excellent teachers, small class sizes, rigorous academics, IB program, foreign language (so rare in most CPS schools). The principal and staff are focused a successful education for all students.


Agassiz Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Agassiz is an amazing school with a wonderful neighborhood feel (Seminary and George). The classroom sizes are small (love!), the teachers are excellent and the school is thriving - and not overcrowded. With the acclaimed IB program starting, this is a wonderful school and my child is so happy to be there.

Agassiz Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Agassiz is a fantastic school! The teachers are great, kind, and demand high quality work from the students. The principal, Mira Weber, is continuously striving to improve the curriculum and the students' experience at Agassiz. There's a lot of school spirit and positivity flowing through this school. I have two children who attend Agassiz and could not be more thrilled with our experience. Thank you!

Agassiz Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a student at Agassiz. She loves it and is thriving there. The teachers are outstanding. The sense of community at Agassiz is strong - there is a warm, relaxed atmosphere there which is reflected by the staff and students, the dedicated arts, language and phys ed. teachers (and in particular the drama/dance teacher, who is phenomenal), in the art-lined hallways and by the attentive office staff and administration. We love that it's a smaller school, that educational rigor is strong and creative, that the parents are welcoming and get to know one another. It's a safe, respectful, welcoming space (no fights or safety concerns observed) and pretty diverse environment (broadly diverse - including economic, family makeup, etc.). Parental involvement is good, and I and my spouse both volunteer to contribute our part. The LSC and Friends-Of group are active and strong. We drive 30 mins. each way from home, by choice, to get to this fantastic school and be part of its community. We have no regrets about choosing Agassiz for our daughter's education, and look forward to being part of its continued success.


Agassiz Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Agassiz Elementary, the staff at this school are outstanding, I can not say enough good things. We had to leave our Parochial school two years ago due to low enrollment and luckily were accepted to Agassiz. If you are looking for a small school with the small town feel, you have found your place. The education and the attention these children receive is unheard of in most CPS.

Agassiz Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in 6th grade. She writes very well, is a voracious reader, and does well in math. All this while she participates in the after school dance program and the school musical. She also takes piano and voice outside the school. When they say schools are failing kids, I don't know what they mean. She is thriving at Agassiz. From the moment her Dad and I visited the school, I have been happy with what they can do with the kids. Even the autistic kids are able to get on stage and perform something meaningful. The administration is vigilent about behavior and discipline. Even entering and leaving school is orderly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Agassiz Elementary School
2851 North Seminary Avenue, Chicago, IL  60657
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (773) 534-5725
Last modified Agassiz Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top