Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Agassiz Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
It all depends on who you get. There are some great teachers but it not because of a great school it is just who they are as a person.

Agassiz Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
Students are not met where they are and supported to achieve what they are capable of.


Agassiz Elementary School 2

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
This school is very average to below average if you look at that other schools within this network and in the neighborhood. It is NOT attracting neighborhood kids. The test scores are dropping and the low income is rising. Kids come to this school from all over the city and therefore cliqs have been formed. The principal is only involved with the parents she feels are worthy of her attention and their kids don't need that much help. If you have a conflict of style or you have an issue, she will listen but not change a thing. She rarely returns messages unless you get nasty. There are kids that are favored. This school does not have a solid social emotional foundation that meets all kids where they are at makes them feel special for achieving what they are capable of. There is no supportive structure to help kids navigate feelings and conflict which there are many with so many kids from low income families and or have learning disabilities. The teachers after the first few grade levels are frazzled and burnt out. The same kids get recognized and supported especially if you are in with the principal. If you have a child that is average or below average academically or socially, they will not feel special here. Most parents don't realize this until about 2nd or 3rd grade where huge turnover happens.

Agassiz Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
This is our 7th year at the school and we currently have a 4th grader and a 2nd grader. Agassiz is a well-rounded school that attends to the social-emotional needs much more than many CPS schools. In addition, students receive instruction in foreign language, dance, drama, and music throughout the school year. Our children are thriving and LOVE school, which is what is most important to us as parents. They are learning and excelling in math and reading, but their love for learning, compassion for others, open-minded and positive attitudes, ability to persevere, and opportunities to take risks (get on the stage for the all-school dance show, for example) are helping them develop and blossom in ways beyond just traditional academic growth. I am proud that they are developing into well-rounded confident citizens and that they go to school in such a supportive environment. Certainly all schools have room for improvement here and there, but as a CPS teacher and former CPS central office employee, I know that Agassiz is a special and unique place. There is a sense of community and many annual rituals that bring the students, staff, and parents together to raise money and celebrate all that Agassiz has to offer.

Agassiz Elementary School 2

Posted February 29, 2016
- a community member
School is overrated and the parents drink the cool aid beacuse most of the families have few other options. The test scores are declining and the school doesnt aim high enough. Many of the teachers are not proactive enough and do just enough to get the kids through the year. Not many 8th grade graduates are accepted into many if the selective high schools, college graduate numbers are pitiful.


Agassiz Elementary School 4

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year attending. It truly is a great school! Our child is in kindergarten and has a 2nd year teacher (but 1st experience in kindergarten) I do notice how the other kindergarten teacher appears to do more in her classroom but time will tell. My child is excited about going to school everyday and talks about their experiences at home. On a positive note, the principal is wonderful and very approachable! I love how they incorporate, world language, fine arts and technology with their curriculum and what they offer in regards to activities. Both playgrounds are adorable and the school has such a community feel. The children are very nice and bullying is not tolerated here. The only drawback that I have is that some staff members appear frazzled or not friendly. Plus there are clicks in the school (by the parents not the kids).

Agassiz Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
My child has a disability and they physically show empathy and caring and want my child to succeed.

Agassiz Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
This school incorporates this specific philosophy into the classroom and this is presented in the classrooms.


Agassiz Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
We live in the neighborhood and our children attend and excel at Agassiz. Excellent teachers, small class sizes, rigorous academics, IB program, foreign language (so rare in most CPS schools). The principal and staff are focused a successful education for all students.

Agassiz Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Agassiz is an amazing school with a wonderful neighborhood feel (Seminary and George). The classroom sizes are small (love!), the teachers are excellent and the school is thriving - and not overcrowded. With the acclaimed IB program starting, this is a wonderful school and my child is so happy to be there.

Nearby schools

Agassiz Elementary School
2851 North Seminary Avenue, Chicago, IL  60657
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (773) 534-5725
Last modified Agassiz Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top