Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 797
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Goudy Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 29, 2015
- a community member
My daughters loved the school and the teachers but had a horrible time being bullied here , I addressed the principle Pamela and vice principle Mr. Yeh and no help . From August 2014 until June 2015 she was cursed ,pushed , hit until I decided to transfer her. I don't know where these children come from but they have tainted the school indeed. The school gave me a hard time with even looking at evidence from the security camera. I can truly say I'm disappointed in the outcome and hope other kids don't have to go through what my daughter did.

Goudy Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Both my children have come to Goudy just this year, from a private Catholic school. The school staff and learning environment are top-notch. The quality of education and exposure to technology, along with fostering a thirst for knowledge and exploration, make this a good environment for learning. It is an urban environment, which we love. Which is to say, there is a beautiful cross-section of people and cultures represented within the student body. If you are more comfortable in a homogenous world, maybe this school would push you beyond your comfort zone. But we love seeing our children prosper and grow, prepared for the world and making friends without consideration of color or culture. Goudy strives to educate children who are well-prepared for a competitive, diverse world. They are honest, fair, and truly committed to their students.


Goudy Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
This School is very great. There Principle 's are very nice and respectful. There students are very respectful. There teachers teach there Students very great,they work hard to get the best of them. They have athletic,smart and healthy students. They are a big school. This School is very lucky because,they have many different race of kids. This School is the best elementary school I have ever seen.
2 people found this helpful

Goudy Elementary School 1

Posted November 15, 2014
- a parent
You should check out community first, like any public school, this is who they cater to in terms of educating children. Then get to know better yet observe administrators, my experience not as bad as most,but definately in need of change of those in charge. They are not advocates of parental involvement and will treat your child based on sterio types and their (administrators) previous school experiences,which are for the most part, not very positive; sure most have been the the public school system for decades, the question is job security vs positive experiences vs dedication to ALL children. I think the 5 star rating is a result of most of them writing their own reviews!

Goudy Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2010
- a community member
A very diverse school with Asians, Hispanics, Blacks, White. Atmosphere is very family-like and welcoming. I transferred in to the school in late 2004 in 3rd grade; 8th grade graduate (class of 2010 :P). The school has so much to offer. They have built a big field for students' convenience where the school parking lot once was located, and has been there for 2-3 years now I believe. They tore down the old Jose Marti building and transformed it into a parking lot for teachers. There is also a school garden in which the students participate in and help create in the plan of going green. The school offers a variety of programs, such as football, boys' & girls' soccer, girl's volleyball, boys' basketball, cheerleading, cross-country & track&field, science club, chess club, student council, book club (Battle of the Books) etc. Technology is outstanding -- computers, laptops, & Smart Boards. Etc.


Goudy Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2009
- a community member
its really good school and good teachers

Goudy Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
It is a school that has had students w/ talent but lacked funds to cultivate skills,also needs musical instruments and updated sports program.

Goudy Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2009
- a parent
great school great environment for young kids. My kinder lil girl learns a lot from this school. knowing that she didn't even attend pre-k. She went to this school as kinder. She didn't even know how to read, write and count to 100 yet. i like this school.


Goudy Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
This school is the best. it provides a great learning enviorment for all that come to it.

Goudy Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2008
- a student
this is the best shool cause people here are like family

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Goudy Elementary School
5120 North Winthrop Avenue, Chicago, IL  60640
(773) 534-2480
Last modified Goudy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Goudy Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top