Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2015
- a teacher
As a teacher at Hearst School, I am thrilled to be a part of a school that is growing through innovative techniques set forth by the administration. It is a great working environment where teachers collaborate and expect the best from their students. The new administration has recently brought Hearst from a level 1 to a level 2 school. I feel that Hearst’s greatest strength is that the staff works together just like family and is dedicated to their profession.

Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2015
- a community member
As a longtime community member I watched as a once great and proud school fell into despair and decline. It was sad to see. Two years ago a new principal ( Mrs. Chrobak) was selected under some controversy. At the time I disagreed with the selection, but I can now tell you BEST MOVE EVER! Hearst is a school on the rise. Before Mrs. Chrobak came, walking in to the school was like walking into a dungeon the halls were dark and cluttered Student and teacher faces and moods reflected the look. Now walk in and there is a brightness and vibrancy. Students and teachers are much happier and it shows. Performance is on the rise and all is looking up at Hearst. Mrs. Chrobak is tough but loving. She described herself as firm but fair in those early days and it was the truth.


Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
We are doing amazing things at Hearst! Come to visit us and take a school tour to see for yourself. I am proud to be a part of this school and community. Don't have time for a tour? Check out the website and the latest data for Hearst! We are out scoring the Academy for Global Citizenship Charter in all academic areas. Not an easy climb up from 8 + years on probation. Thank you Principal Chrobak!!! Our school is back on track. Go Warriors!

Hearst Elementary School 4

Posted August 23, 2015
- a teacher
This school has most definitely improved in the past 2 years all thanks to a dedicated principal, wonderful staff and a community dedicated to progress. If their dedication continues this school is on track to becoming one of the best in Chicago's southwest side

Hearst Elementary School 1

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
Don't send your kids to this school!! You will regret it! A lot of bullying and the kids are always swearing around the teachers and disrespecting them. My kids were there for a year, the worst year for my kids education. Some teachers seem to care and some don't care at all! Worst school!!!!!!


Hearst Elementary School 4

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
It is very easy to sit back and talk and talk about likes and dislikes and make judgement on others. Most times all it takes is one person to make a great difference. There is a Local School Council at Hearst that is working hard to do just that making the difference, the positive change not for the community or the parents at large, but for each and every student at Hearst.. Hearst and its; Local School Council needs more parents and community members to come to their monthly LSC meetings with the first being Sept. 18, 2014, 5:30 PM at the school and voice your concerns, subjection to come up with positive simulations that will help the school and it's students. The school needs parents and community members volunteers if only for 2 hours a week or month. Lets stop talking about whats wrong and work together as a team for the successful benefit of our students. What has been said about our students could very well be said by many of our parents within and without of the school building, what standards are we really teaching those who are our sons and daughters or the community youth? Why are they acting this way? The new principal is a great lady trying very hard.

Hearst Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
Worst school ever!!! The students are rude, to everybody including the parents. The teachers are lazy, they let their students do what ever they want. There is no good supervision. I am a parent and I have experienced a lot of bullying, horrible language in that school. Also the bus drivers who are in charge of picking up the children with disabilities are always smoking outside the school and outside the bus. Like I said before worst school ever, I am definitely not leaving my child there. I wish that someone could go and supervise the school.

Hearst Elementary School 1

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
My son is in a special class because he has a speech delay. and so the teacher NEVER let's me know how he's doing in class . Also one of the teaches aid is very rude . How am i supposed to know what he is doing in class or what i need to work with him at home?


Hearst Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
My child has been being bullied at this school over a year, Jeffrey Porter (the principal) will not do anything about it but give me the run around & point blame at others instead of taking action or even attempting to stop this.he won't even return my calls

Hearst Elementary School 1

Posted March 01, 2011
- a parent
DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT allow your children to go here... YOULL be VERY VERY sorry!!!! Its a very violent school and filled with degeneration!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hearst Elementary School
4640 South Lamon Avenue, Chicago, IL  60638
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (773) 535-2376
Last modified Hearst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top