Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hitch Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a community member
I have been here from Pre-school to Fourth Grade. My name was Viet Phan. I transferred after fourth grade, but it was an excellent school.

Hitch Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2015
- a parent
My daughter went here, was very happy, and got into a selective enrollment high school.


Hitch Elementary School 1

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
The old complaints regarding the principal, no longer apply. Middle of last year Hitch received the most amazing principal~! He truly cares. Listens to parents and makes time for any concern. He takes very seriously the ultimate goal of the children receiving a good education. I had nothing but horrible experiences with the other principal. Horrible. The other reviews stating high quality of education, had to be mostly from parents educated here. Perhaps never in the system before, with nothing to compare Hitch too. Pay attention to what they are not learning~!!!!

Hitch Elementary School 3

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Goo school so far my daughter is only in Pre-K and I like the way they inform me about school activities and school academics also the teachers keeps me updated and always reply to my emails.

Hitch Elementary School 1

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
this school is getting lower and lower.Teachers are losing their interest in teaching .Efficiency is gone from school teachers.Kids doesn't want to go to school because of their behavior.


Hitch Elementary School 3

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
I am not sure where they are getting 20 children per teacher. This school is drastically overcrowded and relief does not seem to be in sight. The teachers are great but the class sizes are outrageous.

Hitch Elementary School 1

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Horrible leadership....the principal did nothing when I complained multiple times about teacher neglect and staff issues...My children and I moved out of the neighborhood so I didn't have to send them,,,Trust me folks....there is a reason Hitch has a bad reputation in this neighborhood.

Hitch Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2011
- a parent
We are new to Hitch, my son just started Kindergarten and we are very pleased. My son loves his new school. I do feel that that a 5 is way to low. I did my research before we started here and I am happy with my decision.


Hitch Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2011
- a parent
5 are you kidding! My son has attended for 7 years. He is an honor roll student and it is all due to the staff and principal! There are over 14 afterschool activities, tutors available in the morning, open door policy with the principal(Ms. Reese) and a beautiful area for the kids to play. The nearby Catholic school has recess in the street. They don't even have a playground. We have a running track , field and playground area. The curriculum is always changing to enhance the students abilities and I feel very lucky to have my child be a Hitch Husky!

Hitch Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
My children have been attending Hitch for most of their school' years. The Hitch family cares for their students. I am impressed with the principle, Ms Reese takes great measures for the continued success of the school. If your child has a chance to attend Hitch that is truly a blessing.

Nearby schools

Hitch Elementary School
5625 North Mcvicker Ave, Chicago, IL  60646
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (773) 534-1189
Last modified Hitch Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top