Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 590
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holden Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2014
- a community member
Holden is great! The teachers are excellent, funny, and caring for each students' education. The students, although a bit hyped up, help each other in a good and environmental way. I am an 8th grader attending Holden and so far, this grammar school experience for me as been an excelling, fabulous, and marvelous trail for me. Excellent school!

Holden Elementary School 1

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
I agree with some of the other comments, though they are old. The past two years have been tough. Most of the teachers are great, though there are a few that lack teaching skill. Also they say they have a zero tolerance for bullies, yet my child was bullied and after almost two months of me visiting, calling and emailing I finally recieved a response. The process was another thing. I feel that Holden is not what it used to be and can be. Very unhappy with the school now. Half of the sports and programs were cancelled.


Holden Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Holden teachers are the best! The principal goes above and beyond. how may times do you see the principal of a school come out and pick up garbage around the school and the park area. he walks around the school before it starts checking on children making sure things are safe and after school he comes and checks that everything is in order. i know he really cares about his students & staff. i give him A++++

Holden Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Holden School is one of the oldest educational institutions in our neighborhood. It is necessary to support the thriving schools in this area, because education is the most important indicator of a healthy community. The teachers, students, families and community work hard to maintain this quality institution and deserve this award to support their future efforts.

Holden Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Know members on the LSC, and find them to be great people, who really care about the Students first; As well as the community. Definitely teaching the next generation great values!


Holden Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are great! They take the time out to help the kids and don't just push them away.

Holden Elementary School 4

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
I like how the teachers interact with students and glad that we have a good amount of parents who do come to the meetings to participate and/or volunteer.

Holden Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a community member
It's a great place for kids to start their path of success! Dreams are born here.


Holden Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Holden has very little crime with their diverse population and neighborhood gang influence

Holden Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
I was a part of the pta when my children first started school there in 2000. and now my daughter is still a part of the school. the teachers are there to assist, they put in extra time to stay and help students when they need it. Holden's PTA helps to bring awareness to important issues and assists the children in learning and makes them want to come to school with fun events for learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holden Elementary School
1104 West 31st Street, Chicago, IL  60608
(773) 535-7200
Last modified Holden Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Holden Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top