Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 117 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jahn Elementary School 2

Posted March 10, 2016
- a community member
The new principal at Jahn is overly concerned about catering to the pre-school, kindergarten, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd grade parents. He seems to have forgotten the middle school students. He is also not very responsive to ALL parents. Everyone deserves a good education, not just the "newcomers" to the school.

Jahn Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mr. Herring for always being available and receptive to parents! You are a priceless gem in the CPS system and the Jahn family feels supported and confident with you at the helm.


Jahn Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I've seen the homework my child bring home adjust based on her speed of learning. It has gotten progressively harder as the year has gone on and I'm happy to see her rise to the occasion. The teachers are always monitoring how she's doing and the classes all have a special University of Chicago reading evaluation done throughout the year.

Jahn Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
The blended classrooms at jahn bring the special education directly into the general ed rooms -- the kids have "bucket buddies" from age preschool on up and are learning empathy toward others I could never teach them at home.

Jahn Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I think that the greatschools ratings data is outdated from the 2013 school year -- this school is improving dramatically each year but the biggest strides have been in the past 2 years -- it has jumped now to a Level 1 rated CPS school with high scores across the board in academic achievement, attendance, and 360-evaluations. The teachers and administration are so receptive to parents and the whole Jahn community is so approachable. You won't find another school in the area with the diversity, co-teaching blended classrooms, and staff:student ratio that Jahn has. It is a wonderful place of learning for my two kids.


Jahn Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Jahn is a great up and coming school. The principal Mr. Herring and teachers are fantastic. The community of parents are really welcoming and involved as well. We are really happy with our experience here.

Jahn Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
Jahn is an amazing school with excellent teachers and strong administration. It is a fantastic neighborhood school!

Jahn Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2015
- a community member
We couldn't be more happy with Jahn Elementary, the staff, amazing Principal that's committed and driven to make Jahn the best school around. The curriculum is the same as any other CPS school, having friends in other schools I've got to learn first hand that no other school is different or better then Jahn. My Kindergartener last year started getting bored and acting out in class, his teacher right away suggested challenging him more. His behavior not only improved but his reading, writing and spelling completely turned around. Top notch teachers for a Top notch School!! Thanks Jahn!!


Jahn Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a community member
This is a great school with a committed staff and amazing principal. We are a full inclusion school, so students get the benefits of two dynamic teachers in the classroom teaching to all learning styles.

Jahn Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
From what I see but my son is only in preschool but from what I see it does.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jahn Elementary School
3149 North Wolcott Avenue, Chicago, IL  60657
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 117 reviews. (773) 534-5500
Last modified Jahn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top