Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Julian High School 4

Posted February 05, 2016
- a student
I enjoy the atmosphere here there have been less bullying, the teachers care about the students they help them out to make sure they are on the right track and are great people to talk Too if you have any problems at home or personal. They take action on how there is violence in the community by having many programs like uprooting violence and peace day.

Julian High School 4

Posted July 02, 2013
- a parent
Bullying is a common experience among Elementary and High School students, across the country. The issue of bullying has been addressed by staff members, students and parents at schools in efforts to find a way to resolve this problem. Percy L. Julian High School has addressed the act of students being bullied in a manner that can be considered outstanding. Some of Julian s hard working and talented students organized the 2nd annual Peace Day assembly on May 10, 2013. Bullying was the main focus of this year s assembly. Julian s students interviewed Jonathan Scott, offensive tackle for the Chicago Bears about bullying, and recorded a public service announcement in early May at Soldiers Field to create awareness about bulling.


Julian High School 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a community member
Percy L. Julian has done an awesome job in creating awareness about "Uprooting Violence and Sowing Seeds of Peace! Julian High School has done a remarkable job on Bullying! Visit their website and read their school newsletter. Its awesome! I give Percy L. Julian High School 5 stars!

Julian High School 1

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
Julian is still out of control with bullying continuing to go on and the student are out of control and the staff do not care. My child is a victim of being bullied and I ask to have a police report on this and I haven't received any update about the matter. I will rank this school as being poor with handling bullying situations. I guess nothing won't be done until it too late when my child is seriously hurt in the school. I have notified the staff about this problem, I will be talking to the media about the bullying at Julian.

Julian High School 4

Posted November 07, 2011
- a student
The school has calmed down. The staff has been improved, and the student population is changing for the better.


Julian High School 5

Posted June 09, 2011
- a teacher
Percy L. Julian is transforming and will once again become the school of choice on the south side. The school has calmed down tremendously, has a caring staff and students who want to make a difference in their community. This school has three outstanding Career Academies - Medical Academy, Business Academy and the award winning Radio TV Broadcast Academy. Everyone knows that Julian has the best marching band, choir and the art department staff includes a well known muralist. the athletic facilities are great with an olympic size beautiful pool. Students in the AVID program master college going strategies and have a very high rate of earning scholarships and entrance to the college of their choice. There are great electives including, zoology, journalism, piano, forensic science, film study, African American literature graphics arts and more. Students elect to take a broad range of Advanced Placement classes. Julian has the highest enrollment in Gallery 37 and Julian's After School Matters is the largest in the city. Pride of the South Side....Percy L. Julian High School.

Julian High School 2

Posted August 21, 2008
- a student
Julian has the potential to be one of the top schools in the state. It has up-to-date facilities as well as qualified teachers. The only problem -- the student population. Many of the students don't understand how important getting an education is. I think my experience would be better if the students really had a better understanding of the quality of the school that they attend.

Julian High School
no rating

Posted January 24, 2006
- a teacher
I'm new to this school and don't know much about it. But it looks like a school that is striving for excellence and to increase the quality of education for their students.


Julian High School 3

Posted June 07, 2005
- a student
Julian is an okay school. The school just needs more community involvement and better leadership. The school needs more discipine and better staff to ensure quality education.

Julian High School 5

Posted January 19, 2005
- a student
Julian is a good school. They've made a lot of improvements since I left in 1995. They are committed to excellence.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Julian High School
10330 South Elizabeth Street, Chicago, IL  60643
(773) 535-5170
Last modified Julian High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Julian High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top