Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 1,295

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Locke J Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2013
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten this school year. He has fantastic teachers. He loves school and I love sending him to Locke every day. This is also a school where parents are respected and our opinion matters to the school's staff. And Mr Ortega is the best principal !

Locke J Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2013
- a community member
Im in 7th grade and I used to be a student at Locke. Locke is really cool and the students there are energetic, fun to be around, and they are really commited to learning. When I was in Locke (I moved this year) they would give a lot of fun projects showing creativity and education. And since Locke is an i.b school from grades 6-8 they would give me a lot of projects and homework and I would get a little stressed but it was all worth it because when I am done I feel very proud and after that comes good grades and straight A's. My classmates were outstanding. They were all commited to learning and not fooling around. Learning was easy because the class was calm and quiet, but not all classes are like that. Locke has a lot of programs and the classes are arranged by the ones that want to learn and are high in math (high class or advanced)


Locke J Elementary School 1

Posted December 19, 2012
- a parent
The most worst school. lazy and kids wont learned any reading and spelling.dont put your kids in this useless school.

Locke J Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2011
- a parent
Three of my children have had the honor of being enrolled at Locke. One of my children has a learning disability. I was amazed at how his kindergarten teacher was able to pin point this, and since then Locke has been nothing but accomadating, sympathetic and nuturing. Mrs. Murphy is an excellent teacher, firm yet fair and did wonders for my child. Mr. Ortega is a wonderful principal. He stands by the front door and welcomes the kids to school. He also stands outside after school to bid the kids farewell. Mr. Ortega and staff make school fun for the children, and they look forward to going to school. Keep up the great work.

Locke J Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2010
- a community member
I graduated from Locke School for the class of 2010. I spent all my years here at Locke with dedicated teachers. Teachers here really challenge you with your stengthes. Programs here are fantastic. I always woke up with joy to come to Locke. It's a very safe and calm environment. I had a great time, especially my I.B. years - I am really going to miss it. It's the best choice


Locke J Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
Locke school has a dedicated faculty and great fun for the kids

Locke J Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
Locke is a great school with a diverse staff and student population. The kids are great. The parents and staff are dedicated to making Locke School the best.

Locke J Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
This school has great staff and they have many ways of encouraging our children.


Locke J Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a teacher
Locke school has wonderful students, great parents and a dedicated staff. It is a great place to be!

Locke J Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
I love Locke elementary because there is free of violence, great teachers and there are excellent administrators.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Locke J Elementary School
2828 North Oak Park Avenue, Chicago, IL  60634
(773) 534-3300
Last modified Locke J Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Locke J Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top