Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


King College Prep High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
I'd like to thank Mr.Washington for believing in ebry child at king. He is the reason I am so confident in who I am today because he believes that any child can be great.

King College Prep High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
I am greatful to Mr. Melvin Slater and Mr. Alonzo Hoskins for being the supportive Black male teachers they are. They hold our children to high standards and expectations all while being great examples to our children of successful caring Black men. Cathy Dale


King College Prep High School 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
King is one of the best-kept secrets of the Chicago Public Schools system. This is my daughter's second year, and I could not be more pleased with the school. The classes are rigorous, the teachers are absolutely wonderful, and I am really excited about the new interim principal (who was the assistant principal last year)! The fact that it's not far from my house is a total bonus, but I would drive across the city to get there if I had to. (And the football team made it to the state level this year, so there's that, too!)

King College Prep High School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a student
King is a wonderful school. It not only focuses on academics but focuses on the students who go there, they not only have a wonderful curriculum but performing arts as well. From band to dance,King has it all. They really are preparing every student for a road to success and being the best person they could possibly be by steering them in the right direction.

King College Prep High School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a teacher
King is a state-of-the-art high school with three theatre spaces, two gyms, a professional dance studio and a pool. The students are talented, smart, friendly, and down-to-earth with their focus on their very bright futures. King offers every program you could wish for, and the most caring team of teachers and counselors you will find. An award-winning school in many programs, I feel blessed to teach at this school ... what else? Caring, involved community and parents ... steady improvement in test scores and other academic measurements ... a well-rounded curriculum and seemingly endless electives for students to expand their education ... King is the place to be. Period.


King College Prep High School 5

Posted December 06, 2011
- a parent
This was my daughter's number one choice for high school. The curriculum is challenging, but there are so many supports in place. There is before school tutoring, after school tutoring, lunch tutoring and teachers even tutor. There are so many activities that every student can find their place at King. The principal talks about how King molds the minds of scholar-leaders, scholar-athletes, and scholar-artists. I can honestly say that mt daughter is all three.

King College Prep High School 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
I drop my son off each morning and I am amazed to see the principal outside everyday, greeting every student. The team at King takes their jobs very personally. The English teachers volunteer their time after school to re-teach and re-test students who need the additional instruction. There are other teachers who give up their lunch periods to help my son nearly every week. I wish i had this kind of support for my older daughter at another school.

King College Prep High School 4

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
My daughter graduated from King College Prep in 2010 and is doing quite well at a top University. With the leadership of Mr Wright, my consistent communication with the teachers and her desire to do well in school...combination of all three, has provided my daughter an opportunity to receive a great education, and let's not forget scholarship awards!


King College Prep High School 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
My oldest daughter is a sophomore at King and my youngest will be attending in the fall. I am very pleased with this school -- the principal is committed and dynamic, the teachers are dedicated, the school offers a wide variety of extracurricular activities, and the school has numerous leadership and related opportunities, such as the annual King Goes to College Day, where the entire freshmen, sophomore, and junior classes spend the day visiting colleges as close as Loyola and as far away as the University of Michigan. It's an awesome school -- and as more students and parents give it a chance, it will only continue to excel.

King College Prep High School 2

Posted December 30, 2010
- a parent
There is a lot of window dressing at King. Scores have not gone up. A college prep where students do not meet minimum standards...some in the 40s, not even 50% of the students meet in all areas

Nearby schools

King College Prep High School
4445 South Drexel Boulevard, Chicago, IL  60653
(773) 535-1180
Last modified King College Prep High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top