Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lyon Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 18, 2015
- a community member
The value of knowledge was clearly not understood by many of the young minds in the room at the time. Students would actively revolt against teachers, and teachers were unable to handle students.

Lyon Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 18, 2015
- a community member
There were several instances where the faculty displayed behavior that was detrimental to the emotional health of their students. Honesty, Integrity, and fairness were clearly not the primary focus of these teachers.


Lyon Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
I must say the current administration is a hard working and dedicated one. The principal always has time for parents. I have two children with an IEP. The services they recieve are stellar. This is by far one of the better schools in Chicago.

Lyon Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2012
- a community member
I graduated from this school in 2009, believe me the teachers prepare you for the world outside and highschool. Right now I'm a senior at Von Steuben and glad with the tons of work Mary Lyon gave me because I learned to work, study, socialize, and become a high achiever! Thank you Mary Lyon teachers/staff members!!!

Lyon Elementary School 3

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
my child is attending this school and she doesnt like it. ive seen personaly see the mountains of difficult and stupid assignments assigned. the extra-curriculums are pretty good though. the teachers are okay. but currently i dont like this school.


Lyon Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 10, 2009
- a student
i just graduated from mary lyon class of 09! been in mary lyon my whole life since kindergarten, i have to say im going to miss this school alot! the teachers exspecially the 8th grade teachers are awsome! bye mary lyon gona miss it

Lyon Elementary School 4

Posted September 03, 2009
- a parent
My son is currently attending Mary Lyon and I have to say he loves his former teacher and is so amped to start 1st grade. The teachers and principal are very dedicated. I would recommend anyone in the area to take their child to this great school!

Lyon Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2008
- a student
I just graduated from Mary Lyon and like Richard i am really going to miss the school. At Mary Lyon our graduating class may not have been the best but one thing was for sure, we were all like family (teachers included). 7th and 8th grade year were the best years of my life! I'll never forget my friends or teachers. =[


Lyon Elementary School 4

Posted April 01, 2007
- a parent
I think that in ten years I have been involved with Mary Lyon there has been many positve changes for the better.Maybe we can utilize this Web site with a calender with LSC dates,1/2 days etc. to keep parents informed of whats going on I am sure that 1/2 of the parents dont even know about this site.Keep up the good work Mary Lyon students,teachers,staff and principal.

Lyon Elementary School 1

Posted July 15, 2006
- a parent
I have children at Mary Lyon school, and I must say there are very great teachers there.Unfortunantly,there is very little programs for the arts, science and no extracurricular at all. There is about 5% of parent involvement, plus a very rude office staff,that needs a lesson in manners. I wish the principal would look into some more arts and music programs to inspire our children. Maybe even add a playground ????

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lyon Elementary School
2941 North McVicker Avenue, Chicago, IL  60634
(773) 534-3120
Last modified Lyon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lyon Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top