Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mcdade Elementary Classical School 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
The kindergarten curriculum is definitely rigorous. The teacher is really concerned about the students and makes an effort to differentiate the levels of giftedness by providing opportunities to be challenged. It can seem overwhelming the amount of homework given. However, the goal is to have your child ready to compete in this ever changing technology driven society. Parents will have to be responsible for encouraging, assisting and motivating their student to do the best they can. The school provides two online programs that ALL students have access to. Those programs help to enhance or challenge students who may be a little further ahead of their peers or may need additional assistance learning concepts. The PTA has the potential to grow. If more parents participated in that and volunteered in the classroom the students would have more opportunities available in term of resources. As a working parent, the after school program Something to Build Upon is a great resource. They provide activities and help with homework.

Mcdade Elementary Classical School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
The administration at McDade has gone to great lengths to procure technology for the school as the school continuously gets passed over for technology grants from CPS even though it's a Level 1 school. The PTA has really stepped it up this year to provide programs for parents as well as activities for students and collaborating more with the principal on fundraising. The teachers continue to improve themselves through professional development and facilitate student learning through the use of technology. They also appreciate feedback from parents.The school fee remains low even though the school provides 2 online learning programs of which more students need to take advantage. One thing that needs to improve is the students' attitudes toward academic achievement. They're all intelligent children yet some feel the need to tease others about their academic excellence.


Mcdade Elementary Classical School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My school is McDade,Im very please with McDade level of academi .With the advanced curriculum my child have greatly improved. I just wish that every school was set up on this level for all childern to have a chance at advanced curriculum,and to be around people who care and show that theycare. McDade is Awesome!

Mcdade Elementary Classical School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
McDade Is a school of excellence. The staff is always available to help, and answer questions at anytime. The school email and website additions are a great source of information in the mobile age. The school size is perfect my child thrives in this environment.

Mcdade Elementary Classical School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
McDade is a gem on the Southside of Chicago. Teachers and support staff are excellent. Class sizes are ideal for learning and you couldn't ask for a better school climate. I know my child received a solid foundation having attended K-6. I'm proud to saw that my nephew is currently a student and the focus on character building and students excelling hasn't changed. Go Dolphins!


Mcdade Elementary Classical School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a community member
im 10 years old and im used to be i class with some of your children my name is miles jones i left in 4th grade i was a student there im visitng my class this might ring a bell i was in class with ,khRI,LAUREN WEAVER, RAVIEN,KEITH IM FRIENDS WITH THAT WHOLE CLASS AND ALL THE TEACHERS THERE.

Mcdade Elementary Classical School 0
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
McDade Classical School is one of the best schools on the southside of Chicago. I have subbed at this school a few times, and they have an excellent administrator, faculty, and staff. The administrator and faculty care very much about the children and their well being. They have an advanced curriculum and the teachers love for their students learn new and exciting things. The school is small, but they offer so much to the students that attend there. I am honored to have been a cadre substitute for this school. McDade explifies excellency in a city where some of the schools have been stereotyped as some of the worse in the country.

Mcdade Elementary Classical School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
I love McDade!!! Yes, you do get the warm, cozy feeling when you walk through the doors. The academics are great, the free extra-curricular activities after school are wonderful, the winter and spring festivals are awesome...I could go on and on....the PTA, the principal, etc. Yes, there are a lot a textbook teaching, but that's what classical is. McDade is not classified as a 'gifted' school, so, no, critical thinking is not a big focus. We got around that by completing our own critical thinking exercises and puzzles. My only concerns are that McDade only goes to 6th grade and there is no diversification. On the other hand, I am proud that these little black children on the southside of Chicago are scoring just as high or even higher than their more diverse, counterparts. I don't think there is another all black school in the city that can boast this.


Mcdade Elementary Classical School 0
no rating

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
Environment = plus. Small, caring, functional Academics = standard public education. The 'Classical School' distinction is lost on me. There are no Classics here. Just standard-issue, big corporation textbook studies. There appears to be little integration between subjects and teachers, and the quality of instruction is poor to adequate. 4th grade mathematics is solid, but even here we find a great focus on ISAT and not much concern with critical thinking. The idea that this is a 'select' public school either is absurd or the standards of education have been so degraded that we have little hope as a society. Core knowledge in fundamental subjects is absent. A love of learning, creativity, and critical thinking are not being fostered. What we have is a kinder, gentler alternative to the totally disfunctional neighborhood schools that have historically been the other option for those not going the private route.

Mcdade Elementary Classical School 5

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcdade Elementary Classical School
8801 South Indiana Avenue, Chicago, IL  60619
(773) 535-3669
Last modified Mcdade Elementary Classical School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcdade Elementary Classical School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top