Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 886
Before care: No
After care: Yes

2 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mckay Elementary School 2

Posted July 29, 2014
- a community member
Staff should get to know even the baddest students. The staff should behave professionally as role models. The principal has been an important part in the school's possible success. They should promote fun group activities in the classroom. Stop the every hour violence. Teachers should show care towards all students. As hard as that is, they should go through a worthy process of helping the scholars. Behavior is a big problem. Many of the "bad" kids are smart but don't show it due to behavior and the behavioral consequences. The whole point of school is to make every single one of those valued children successful in life. Just because a child has emotional problems, doesn't mean you treat them like dirt. Why does the staff condone 11 year olds fighting over boys or the type of shoes they wear. There should be activities that bring out the beauty in everyone. Schools like this has caused people to go to military charter schools. If public schools would do their duty of having a SAFE, and fun, learning environment, creating a peaceful and happy place for children to get their education, there wouldn't be a need for over the top, judgmental charter schools

Mckay Elementary School 2

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
It would be better if Spanish speakers were allowed to use any language they want. If a fight breaks, it should be stopped immediately. A staff member shouldn't just sit there and watch for a few minutes then start separating the children. More than half of the students have no motivation or mentors to lead them to success. Regardless of what a child does you never bring their confidence down as if they're worth nothing. Students should practice partner and group sharing of their ideas and opinions. A staff member shouldn't support bullying or peers judging each other.


Mckay Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2008
- a parent
I agree that the principal is making an effort to better the school for our children. I believe that her and some of the staff cares. There appears to be more teachers out this year making sure the children go home. As for parents complaining, come by and see what your children are doing and how the are behaving let the adminstrative staff & teachers know you are concern with your child's education and there saftey. Form a relationship with the staff not just your child's teacher.So that when yor child is getting out of hand or not . My opionion is that when the staff doesn't think you care that's how they label our children. And as for teachers you must know that you must talk to kids with respect patience and understanding. All children are special, and unique and have different situtations and should be treated as such.

Mckay Elementary School 3

Posted September 25, 2008
- a parent
Ithink this school is really improving, because of the principal. She's a wonderful person.and cares about her children needs. All this complaining, parents get involved.Do some volunteer work ,we all need each other.

Mckay Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mckay Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Mckay Elementary School 3

Posted March 24, 2006
- a parent
school is going to the dogs. 2nd principal this year. my sons six grade class has had three teachers this year not counting the subs . we need more parents to step up and support our schools and teachers . by doing this we support our kids who in turn will support us . the staff does a great job every time i visit . we must talk to the teachers , security guards , the principal the dean . find out if our kids are given the chance to succeed and if so whether they are taking advantage of that chance. we owe it to them and everybody that came before and after us. and most importantly they owe it to themselves. their education is all they have and thats whats will classify their place in life. an f now determines what avenues you have later. thanx , concerned parent

Mckay Elementary School 1

Posted March 16, 2006
- a parent
The teacher display an inability to communicate with the children. They are constantly raising their voice at the children. They have been though several principal this school year. Academically they need a lot of help.


Mckay Elementary School 3

Posted January 15, 2006
- a administrator
The school has to cope with difficult problems of overcrowding. Most teachers try to help students

Mckay Elementary School 3

Posted September 11, 2005
- a former student
I am very happy with the new principal. She is patient, knowledgeable, and seems to be making positive changes at the school. It is clear that she has put the children first. I have talked to the parents in the neighborhood, and they are satisfied that she has great ideas and is making great strides to increase the test scores, attendance, and parent involvement, and reduce discipline problems. The new school year is starting off just great.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mckay Elementary School
6901 South Fairfield Avenue, Chicago, IL  60629
(773) 535-9340
Last modified Mckay Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mckay Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top