Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mount Greenwood Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Mrs Schumacker is a highly respected member of the school and all the children love her.

Mount Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
I always feel welcome as a parent and am very happy either the education provided


Mount Greenwood Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to Mrs Bopp and all the teachers/staff at MTG school for making it such a wonderful place for my child to go! We are so grateful for all you do!!!!

Mount Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Excellent Leadership and teaching staff. Challenges the students. The students are being prepared for the next level of education.

Mount Greenwood Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to everyone involved with MTG Athletics! The school leaders for your hard work, the teachers for your continued dedication and the VOLUNTEER Staff and Coaches who take time out of your own lives to allow our children the opportunity to play for Mt. Greenwood School! Go Eagles!!


Mount Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school, great academics and leadership. I pulled my child out of a local private school in evergreen park, il and it was the best choice I ever made as a parent. In fact, my honor student at that school was tutored to get up to par at MTG. The academics run circles around the private school. There is a much more christian atmosphere also...tolerance is encouraged and manners are enforced. If you live in the Mt Greenwood neighborhood, consider yourself lucky to have this as a choice. The opportunities are excellent here too. My child is now attending a private high school excelling in classes. MtG school is a gem.

Mount Greenwood Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
I say just right but there have been times when the load has been a bit much.

Mount Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
First off, I attended here 20 years ago and it's leaps and bounds ahead of those days. My parents pulled me out then. We were apprehensive at first but did a great deal of research. Now our children attend and we couldn't be happier. It truly has become a neighborhood school. Ms. Reidy is extremely dedicated and it continues down through the entire staff. Multiple parents have relocated from catholic schools or suburban districts with highly regarded schools and have ranked Mt. G higher in their years of observations. The education, homework and support levels are second to none.


Mount Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a community member
I have always went to Catholic schools growing up. My mom sent my sibling here instead because she heard great things about the school, it's closer to home, and to save money. I went with her to the orientation for Kindergarten and I've been to numerous events with my mom and all I can say is I wouldn't have minded going there! My sister is doing very challenging math at a young age, and they are working with iPads. It's like a free catholic school for neighborhood kids. I have also heard the principal speak a few different times with the kindergarten orientation and she was awesome! If I still live in the neighborhood when I have kids... You'd bet I would sent them here with no hesitation.

Mount Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
Best grammar school on the southside, the neighborhood really needs a high school for its residents. Morgan park has its own, why not mt. Greenwood? New high schools are being built across the city, what is wrong with our neighborhood? Why can't we have a new high school?

Nearby schools

Mount Greenwood Elementary School
10841 South Homan Ave, Chicago, IL  60655
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (773) 535-2786
Last modified Mount Greenwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top