Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mather High School

Public | 8-12 | 1657 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2012

Honestly as a freshmen myself, when i found out i would have to end up going to Mather, i was upset. But when i started here, i was actually surprised with how good the school was. If some dont know, theres a Law Program, its really good. And applying for all honors is something that would be a good choice too. The teachers so far are really nice and helpful. As for the fights and stuff, lets be honest. All schools have a problem with fights, wether its allot or minor. But in Mather, its not that bad. In the end, it depends on what kind of student you are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2012

I don't understand why this school isn't one of the schools that is being closed down by the Mayor. There are some lazy teachers, case managers, and counselors who shouldn't be teaching or involved with children. The principal and two assistant principals are arrogant and self-center who probably got the job by knowing someone. Many gang fights and police presence- which is a good thing because of the gangs there. Yes the school has a lot of sport programs, but what good is it if your children will not be prepared for college or the real world?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

I recommend all freshman when coming to this school to apply for the honors classes. I am a straight A student who comes from Canada and we don't take state tests etc.. Since i didn't have any of those tests, they were thinking of placing me in the ESL courses for extra help. Anyways to wrap this up, try not to go to this school and move to another location. This school is highly NOT recommended as I am basically repeating grade 8 again.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2010

My daughter is a freshman, class of 2013, and it is truly a great school. There is great funding and the diversity is phenominal!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

Mather is a good school in my opinion. true the test scores aren't great ,but the new principle is changing that. And Sports wise the football team which i am on just had a good season we went 7-2 and made state playoffs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Mather is a great school i'm a freshmen and the teachers are really careing and helpful and it's not a bad school it's full of nice people :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2009

i am currently a student at mather high school.i will be graduating on 2012yr.as many of the comments have said , this school is very diverse with so many different ethnicities, which i feel is one of the highlighting and good things about mather. also i must say mather has really good teachers who are very dedicated and caring towards students.this school is amazing and has alot to offer, but only if you really want it....
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

I love this school I'm also trying to get other students to join this amazing high school. It is diverse and you will never leave this school without friends. this high school have friendly teachers and amazing tutors. You got to be here to experience this amazing life time moment
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

My child is currently a 'special needs' student on his 3rd year at Mather. As a parent I have been completely unsatisfied with the cooperation I get as a 'very' involved parent! Attitude, lazyness and no cooperation from the staff at all! And they are very unorganized! And lets not mention very low overall test scores for the school in general. I could go on and on but you get the idea! Send your children elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Mather high is very diverse i have to say but it really does need to rebuild becasue the hallways are so crowded. It is not big enough to space 1800 students. Also, i really think that even though the ' No Child Left Behind' act was stated, the kids that show up to school everyday and actually pay attention and try to succeed in all of there classes are the ones that are going to succeed in life. Some students are just there becasue the have to be there and those students are the ones that ruin the learning enviroment for other students who actually want to learn in school! I believe those students should simply stay home, and let some students actually learn!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2007

I went to mather high school my freshman year and I am returning for my senior year. It is very diverse, I love the teachers there. I have had to attend many different schools because my parents moved alot, and I really loved going to mather high.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2007

Hi, My son went to Mather High School. He is now a sophmore at Depaul University with a 3.65gpa... He built many friendships at Mather High School, several of which are still a key part of his life. I now have a 2nd child heading down the same path at Mather and have no doubt he is in the right place. The caring leadership at Mather High School is what every parent is looking for in an educator. I give Mather High School 4 stars with room for facility improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

Mather high school is a great school. It is diverse and the students dont hate each other (meaning we dont separate ourselves because of other race.) The school is overcrowded and needs to rebuild. It is not safe to have 2200 students in the school when it is built for a capacity of only 1100, but since thier was an act that states 'that no child is left behind' the students have to suffer. Furthermore, the principal doesnt care what the students think and just goes about his way, when he knows things are not working out so good. He likes to percieve mather as the best, and it might just be, but things need to change and quite prankly it needs to happen now!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2004

I think Mather Hogh School is a fine instutite of higher learning and needs to be commended for that. On top of that they have the best CPS cross country and track programs in Illinois(it was at its best from 2000-2004).coach Dale Devinney is very dedicated to the team and to turning Mather into a running powerhouse. They also have a pretty good basketball team under new head coach Hugy Crawford. The other sports(all of them) are really bad and i think it can be credited to the A.D Mr. Richard.Other than sports and a select few teachers the school is really god and gets a bad rap.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

I am an alumni of Mather, I currently attend University of Illinois at urbana-champaign! This school has really helped me to focus and to achieve what many have told me that I will not attain. This just to show that, the teachers and staff are there, and they are qualified, EACH individual needs to work hard to help maintain the school and its structure! I believe that mather can help the individual attain the level I have recieved, and be greatly thankful. The misconception about mather, are great rumors affecting the lives of future students, and faculty.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 6, 2004

Well my son and daughter are attending Mather High school for this year and the past 3 years. This school is not as what I have expected. The principal is not an all around 'caring' person. I feel that he needs to look more into what children want and not what 'he' wants for the school. I am a very caring and upset mother who will not put up with him, for that much longer. Someone needs to take a stand and stand up for their children. My children should not be afraid to enter a school and be tormented, then have no one take action when this happenes. School is suppoose to be safe, not dangerous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

My niece had been living with me and I enrolled her into Mather H.S. She has had many social problems in the past. But upon enrollment she thrived and excelled. She has learned how important a good school, and education is. She has joined sports and has recieved many metals and awards. The principle, teachers and counselors are all the best. They have taken an active roll in her growth and she can come to them with problems of all nature. The staff has been wonderful helping her push forward. At times she has been difficult but this school has stepped each way with her. I feel she would be lost at this time, had not been for Mather H.S. She has great study habits and is looking forward to college in the future. I believe this school will stand by her and see her through. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Non-low incomen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Non-low incomen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
19%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students30%
Female27%
Male33%
Black19%
Asian37%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Low income29%
Non-low income33%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities33%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students36%
Female36%
Male36%
Black26%
Asian36%
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Low income33%
Non-low income59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities40%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students25%
Female18%
Male31%
Black17%
Asian33%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White22%
Low income22%
Non-low income46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities27%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 23%
Asian 24% 4%
White 21% 51%
Black 15% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christie D Jones

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5835 North Lincoln Avenue
Chicago, IL 60659
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 534-2350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Hilary School
Chicago, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT