Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mather High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
They dont respect student's decision.... like students who wants to transfer to another school because they know that they are not safe in that school

Mather High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
If they do care.. they will let my daughter transfer to another school... without further questioning


Mather High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
They are not fair..... they let other student transfer then my daughter cant... so why? Whats the reaso ??

Mather High School 1

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I was about to transfer my daughter to another school but they dont want to give me a release form.. i dont know why and whats their reason.... is it because or maybe their they will get a bad record... but then i want the safety of my daughter... i dont want her getting scared of going to school and i dont want that one day she's going to tell me .. mom dont want to go to school no more its a scary place!!!! So whats going to happen to her future if thats going to happen, if she got traumatized of whatever is happening in the school... the last time they did a random check on students and what did they got from those students knife, drugs.... like everyday there is fight... what if they hit a passing by student and something happen to that student... are the staff going to be responsibe ...are those staff in the school be the one taking care of the md appt and everything.... ofcourse they they will be covering their butts.... they will find ways not to be blame.... my daughter is smart she have all her class in honors.... but then i dont want her to get low grades and affect her studies because of this school..... just release her!!!

Mather High School 5

Posted November 07, 2014
- a student
Mather has improved so much! Honestly , theres a law academy program there that makes your child to take 5 honors/Ap classes which is basically a IB program. The Tech Academy does the same in Mather. As for Avid helps students who try to succeed to college. Majority of these students are smarter than others students from other schools like lane, schurz, and von steuben .Sports are all Red Division (Second Top division). Principle can hire more coaches for sports and this school will good as lane tech and others.


Mather High School 5

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
My Daughter attended Mather Highschool and has a really high GPA. She Graduated and loved all her friends there. Classes are great with Honors and AP courses. Sports should be improving alot more. The Principle has made alot of changes!

Mather High School 3

Posted June 28, 2014
- a student
Mather isn't the greatest school academic wise, but honestly what you put in determines your outcome. I just graduated and will be attending UIC's Honor College this fall. I was also accepted to Depaul and Loyola. Mather is a great school in terms of diversity and has lots of resources for students. If all you plan on doing is partying and can't muster up a basic level of respect for your teachers, just don't go to high school. I loved my time at Mather. I made great friends and had some great teachers. Mather used to be bad, but the principal is truly invested in fixing Mather's reputation. Anywhere you go in life, you will have to work hard to actually succeed. Don't just go in thinking it's no use to even try to do well.

Mather High School 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
This school has a difficult time complying with IEPs. The CMs and SpEd teacher handed in false progress reports consistently. The school and The CPS atty violated FERPA laws_they seem to have no basic knowledge of standards or procedures. Yes, someone was brought in to rectify but it was all hog wash_still false progress reports til the end. Some teachers were WONDERFUL, others never bothered to read the IEP_my opinion by their comments that omitted basic issues. Stay Away.


Mather High School 5

Posted October 14, 2012
- a student
Honestly as a freshmen myself, when i found out i would have to end up going to Mather, i was upset. But when i started here, i was actually surprised with how good the school was. If some dont know, theres a Law Program, its really good. And applying for all honors is something that would be a good choice too. The teachers so far are really nice and helpful. As for the fights and stuff, lets be honest. All schools have a problem with fights, wether its allot or minor. But in Mather, its not that bad. In the end, it depends on what kind of student you are.

Mather High School 1

Posted July 28, 2012
- a parent
It is sad that I had to give this only 1 star. I am happy with the principles... BUT the rest of the staff just acts like they don't care. And the "security guards" are a joke. The female "security guard" is the worse! I don't care how pretty you think you are there is NO excuse to wear clothes that ar 2 sizes to small. and heals all the time!!! and to propisition one of the students and nothing was done with it!!! GROW UP! the teachers seem to be there to just earn a check. SAD

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mather High School
5835 North Lincoln Avenue, Chicago, IL  60659
(773) 534-4200
Last modified Mather High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Mather High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top