Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mather High School 3

Posted June 28, 2014
- a student
Mather isn't the greatest school academic wise, but honestly what you put in determines your outcome. I just graduated and will be attending UIC's Honor College this fall. I was also accepted to Depaul and Loyola. Mather is a great school in terms of diversity and has lots of resources for students. If all you plan on doing is partying and can't muster up a basic level of respect for your teachers, just don't go to high school. I loved my time at Mather. I made great friends and had some great teachers. Mather used to be bad, but the principal is truly invested in fixing Mather's reputation. Anywhere you go in life, you will have to work hard to actually succeed. Don't just go in thinking it's no use to even try to do well.

Mather High School 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
This school has a difficult time complying with IEPs. The CMs and SpEd teacher handed in false progress reports consistently. The school and The CPS atty violated FERPA laws_they seem to have no basic knowledge of standards or procedures. Yes, someone was brought in to rectify but it was all hog wash_still false progress reports til the end. Some teachers were WONDERFUL, others never bothered to read the IEP_my opinion by their comments that omitted basic issues. Stay Away.


Mather High School 5

Posted October 14, 2012
- a student
Honestly as a freshmen myself, when i found out i would have to end up going to Mather, i was upset. But when i started here, i was actually surprised with how good the school was. If some dont know, theres a Law Program, its really good. And applying for all honors is something that would be a good choice too. The teachers so far are really nice and helpful. As for the fights and stuff, lets be honest. All schools have a problem with fights, wether its allot or minor. But in Mather, its not that bad. In the end, it depends on what kind of student you are.

Mather High School 1

Posted April 20, 2012
- a parent
I don't understand why this school isn't one of the schools that is being closed down by the Mayor. There are some lazy teachers, case managers, and counselors who shouldn't be teaching or involved with children. The principal and two assistant principals are arrogant and self-center who probably got the job by knowing someone. Many gang fights and police presence- which is a good thing because of the gangs there. Yes the school has a lot of sport programs, but what good is it if your children will not be prepared for college or the real world?

Mather High School 1

Posted December 06, 2010
- a student
I recommend all freshman when coming to this school to apply for the honors classes. I am a straight A student who comes from Canada and we don't take state tests etc.. Since i didn't have any of those tests, they were thinking of placing me in the ESL courses for extra help. Anyways to wrap this up, try not to go to this school and move to another location. This school is highly NOT recommended as I am basically repeating grade 8 again.


Mather High School 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is a freshman, class of 2013, and it is truly a great school. There is great funding and the diversity is phenominal!!!

Mather High School 0
no rating

Posted November 30, 2009
- a student
Mather is a good school in my opinion. true the test scores aren't great ,but the new principle is changing that. And Sports wise the football team which i am on just had a good season we went 7-2 and made state playoffs.

Mather High School 5

Posted October 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mather High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
Mather is a great school i'm a freshmen and the teachers are really careing and helpful and it's not a bad school it's full of nice people :D

Mather High School 0
no rating

Posted March 19, 2009
- a student
i am currently a student at mather high school.i will be graduating on 2012yr.as many of the comments have said , this school is very diverse with so many different ethnicities, which i feel is one of the highlighting and good things about mather. also i must say mather has really good teachers who are very dedicated and caring towards students.this school is amazing and has alot to offer, but only if you really want it....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mather High School
5835 North Lincoln Avenue, Chicago, IL  60659
(773) 534-4200
Last modified Mather High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Mather High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews.