Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Murray Elementary Language Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 28, 2015
- a parent
They have developed incentives for the children to make good decisions and to treat peers with respect.

Murray Elementary Language Academy 5

Posted November 28, 2015
- a parent
My son loves Murray. We were concerned about the large class sizes and our child being able to adjust in a public school. The staff really makes the effort to personally know each child. My son is thriving under their instruction! I look forward to my youngest son attending next year. Thank you Murray teachers, staff, and parents! You really have made this experience a pleasure so far!


Murray Elementary Language Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Ms Laws & Ms Abu-Shanab are outstanding kindergarten teachers. My daughter is currently in first grade and we love Dr. Brown, Mr Brown, & Ms Williams as well. They care about your child and they are on top of their academics. Thank you Murray teachers!

Murray Elementary Language Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Reading and writing are big in K and 1st grade. They can use a little more math.

Murray Elementary Language Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is painfully shy but very bright. The school makes it a point to help her with her quietness.


Murray Elementary Language Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
The teachers keep it real with parents and students. A good student requires a hands on parent. The teachers do very well here (K and 1st so far) but you also have to do this thing called parenting for your child to be successful.

Murray Elementary Language Academy 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
LOVE Murrays! The teachers and the staff members, including Ms Cooper and Ms Dixon make our family feel like we are a part of Murray's family. Thank you Murray!

Murray Elementary Language Academy 5

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
I'm amazed at how much the teachers are doing for the children. My son attended kindergarten with Ms. Alvarado and her 2 assistants. He had a great time and has made a lot of progress in academics and behavior, and he kept saying he's going to miss his teacher. I think this school is great, the staff led by Mr. Mason are very supportive, and the parent-teacher partnership is there all thru out the year during my son's kindergarten. I would recommend this school and also recommended for more parents to get involve. I assisted for half a day and I can say that was a lot of work. The teachers definitely needs help. And if our vision is bring up good persons out of our children, we need to support our children's teachers. They invest a lot in our kids and they deserve the respect and support they can get.


Murray Elementary Language Academy 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a parent
Murray is a terrific school. The school was rated Level 1+, the highest CPS rating a school can earn. The staff is nurturing and parent friendly. The parents are involved all aspects of the school. No school is perfect. Perfection is reached when all parties work together for the students. Aspects of perfection are visible at Murray. And there is still room for growth, no doubt. The school has hired some great new teachers in the middle school. I am still excited about this school, and its vision for improving learning for all students.

Murray Elementary Language Academy 4

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
They do have 2 after school program options: Right at School and Nichols Park is attached to the school. Both the Principal and new Assistant Principal are very engaged with the school and the students. Everyone seems very responsive to challenges and I've seen many positive changes this year. The PTO and LSC are very informative and inclusive to all parent involvement.

Nearby schools

Murray Elementary Language Academy
5335 South Kenwood Ave, Chicago, IL  60615
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 78 reviews. (773) 535-0585
Last modified Murray Elementary Language Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top