Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 77 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


150 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nettelhorst Elementary School 2

Posted June 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is fine as far as CPS goes. I did have a problem with the lack of real science. The "science" teacher deliberately skipped over the chapters that involved climate change and evolution. Neither of these subjects were even touched on in the two years my daughter had her class, which basically consisted of insignificant filler work in place of the standard Illinois science curriculum. This is not a christian school and one would expect real science to be taught.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
this school is excellent! the teachers are fantastic: well educated, creative and kind. my son is learning and is being challenged which is great as he is pretty advanced. could not ask for more. we went to a different school before this year that was in an affluent suburb and Nettelhorst compares amazingly well plus offers diversity and creativity which the other one did not.


Nettelhorst Elementary School 3

Posted April 26, 2014
- a community member
Nettlehorst My grandson is in 1st grade. His teacher sends home e-mails with so many errors. one wonders about her competence. She wrote a title on his workbook: "Show in Tell".

Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2012
- a community member
I don't know who the greatschools troll is that posted the story about the principal, but i'm given to doubt it because (1 she doesn't yell at anyone, as is widely known, 2) i've never seen anyone in that office "yell" at anyone in alomst 10 years, and 3) the poster likely has an axe to grind, as there's no context in the story at all. the greatschools boards (for all schools) seem to be peppered with axe-grinders hoping to get a dig in here and there. anonymity makes the reviews sort of useless (particularly the negative ones), because you can't judge the value of the reviewer in any case.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 1

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
Fall 2012 I would not send my child here. Day I visited, Principal was yelling at an adult in the office! How rude and unprofessional. I turned around and left.


Nettelhorst Elementary School 3

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
Nettelhorst has a great story and is on a great path but the academics are not there yet.. It is a beautiful school with phenomenal grounds right out of a fairy tale book but great paintings not a great school make and until they make academics more rigorous the children will suffer. Smaller class sizes, reduced teaching to the test, greater focus on the quality of education is key. Children are being taught below grade versus above grade. This is unfortunate.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2012
- a parent
Having my children at Nettelhorst the past 5 years has been a blessing. The teachers truly care about their development as responsible, caring, educated students. They set positive, high expectations and develop my children to meet those expectations. We have a good partnership and good communication. The administrators take the time to know the students and work with them to resolve conflict and make good choices. Parent involvement is always encouraged. Parents are always welcomed to get involved in school. The community school feeling is evident in that the students never want to go home. As long as everyone continues to work in the best interest of all children, Nettelhorst will remain the best place for my children.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 1

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
Move to Oak Lawn, Evanston or Lincoln Park instead, I would not reccommend this school.


Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
I've been a parent at Nettelhorst for 8 years, which is well before it was "fashionable" to go to Nettelhorst. Although I respect the views expressed, I do need to challenge the posts given what I know. 1. The Nettelhorst community is one community. This has been demonstrated many times by the fundraisers we have had for our families that have experienced tragedies and hard times. This has happened for many families in Nettelhorst, many of whom are close friends of mine. 2. Raising money is, unfortunately, a necessity in public schools. The vast majority of the money raised at Nettlehorst goes to providing more teachers as our community values quality teachers as the foundation of a quality education. 3. The vast majority of families at Nettelhorst are working class families that make less than six figure salaries. All families are welcome and our community is always looking for more helping hands. 4. Nettelhorst is one of the few schools where you find parents participating and present in the school from the time it opens, until well after schools ends. Nettelhorst is a participatory school and welcomes everyone who wants to participate in their children's education.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 2

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
Nettelhorst does not live up to the reviews of this school, they are manufactured by an overzealous parent's co-op's panderings last year to boost a higher rating. The school is disorganized, touts diversity yet is really about higher income bracket parents creating an elitist community where fund raising is the main concern. The fund raising also divides the school into the haves and have nots, creates resentments on the part of those who feel they cannot join in. Unless your family makes a six digit figure every year, stay away, you are not welcome.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nettelhorst Elementary School
3252 North Broadway Street, Chicago, IL  60657
(773) 534-5810
Last modified Nettelhorst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nettelhorst Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 150 reviews.