Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
77 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 151 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
I want to say thank you to the amazing Class of 2016- the current 8th graders. I attended the 3 day Outdoor Education trip with you, and I was continually thankful and in awe of your intelligence, comradery, and willingness to be explorers and learners. You make me proud to be part of the Nettelhorst community.
Posted November 19, 2015

Nettelhorst Elementary School 2

Posted June 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is fine as far as CPS goes. I did have a problem with the lack of real science. The "science" teacher deliberately skipped over the chapters that involved climate change and evolution. Neither of these subjects were even touched on in the two years my daughter had her class, which basically consisted of insignificant filler work in place of the standard Illinois science curriculum. This is not a christian school and one would expect real science to be taught.


Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
this school is excellent! the teachers are fantastic: well educated, creative and kind. my son is learning and is being challenged which is great as he is pretty advanced. could not ask for more. we went to a different school before this year that was in an affluent suburb and Nettelhorst compares amazingly well plus offers diversity and creativity which the other one did not.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 3

Posted April 26, 2014
- a community member
Nettlehorst My grandson is in 1st grade. His teacher sends home e-mails with so many errors. one wonders about her competence. She wrote a title on his workbook: "Show in Tell".

Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2012
- a community member
I don't know who the greatschools troll is that posted the story about the principal, but i'm given to doubt it because (1 she doesn't yell at anyone, as is widely known, 2) i've never seen anyone in that office "yell" at anyone in alomst 10 years, and 3) the poster likely has an axe to grind, as there's no context in the story at all. the greatschools boards (for all schools) seem to be peppered with axe-grinders hoping to get a dig in here and there. anonymity makes the reviews sort of useless (particularly the negative ones), because you can't judge the value of the reviewer in any case.


Nettelhorst Elementary School 1

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
Fall 2012 I would not send my child here. Day I visited, Principal was yelling at an adult in the office! How rude and unprofessional. I turned around and left.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 3

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
Nettelhorst has a great story and is on a great path but the academics are not there yet.. It is a beautiful school with phenomenal grounds right out of a fairy tale book but great paintings not a great school make and until they make academics more rigorous the children will suffer. Smaller class sizes, reduced teaching to the test, greater focus on the quality of education is key. Children are being taught below grade versus above grade. This is unfortunate.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2012
- a parent
Having my children at Nettelhorst the past 5 years has been a blessing. The teachers truly care about their development as responsible, caring, educated students. They set positive, high expectations and develop my children to meet those expectations. We have a good partnership and good communication. The administrators take the time to know the students and work with them to resolve conflict and make good choices. Parent involvement is always encouraged. Parents are always welcomed to get involved in school. The community school feeling is evident in that the students never want to go home. As long as everyone continues to work in the best interest of all children, Nettelhorst will remain the best place for my children.


Nettelhorst Elementary School 1

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
Move to Oak Lawn, Evanston or Lincoln Park instead, I would not reccommend this school.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
I've been a parent at Nettelhorst for 8 years, which is well before it was "fashionable" to go to Nettelhorst. Although I respect the views expressed, I do need to challenge the posts given what I know. 1. The Nettelhorst community is one community. This has been demonstrated many times by the fundraisers we have had for our families that have experienced tragedies and hard times. This has happened for many families in Nettelhorst, many of whom are close friends of mine. 2. Raising money is, unfortunately, a necessity in public schools. The vast majority of the money raised at Nettlehorst goes to providing more teachers as our community values quality teachers as the foundation of a quality education. 3. The vast majority of families at Nettelhorst are working class families that make less than six figure salaries. All families are welcome and our community is always looking for more helping hands. 4. Nettelhorst is one of the few schools where you find parents participating and present in the school from the time it opens, until well after schools ends. Nettelhorst is a participatory school and welcomes everyone who wants to participate in their children's education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nettelhorst Elementary School
3252 North Broadway Street, Chicago, IL  60657
(773) 534-5810
Last modified Nettelhorst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nettelhorst Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 151 reviews. Top