Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
79 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 160 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nettelhorst Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
Pre school teacher Dave Hill. He had my 4th and 1st grader both for 2 yrs each. He and his support staff fully prepared my children for Kindergarten.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
Progressive, good parent and community input. Teachers really care. We currently have a 4th and 1st grader. They are very involved and love the school.


Nettelhorst Elementary School 4

Posted February 08, 2016
- a community member
Our daughter started first grade at Nettelhorst in 2015. We really like the school, teachers and parent involvement as well. Its a great community. The only thing we would have liked to see a bit more of, is indulgence in sports. May be it comes in higher grades but havent seen a lot in first grade.

Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
I want to say thank you to the amazing Class of 2016- the current 8th graders. I attended the 3 day Outdoor Education trip with you, and I was continually thankful and in awe of your intelligence, comradery, and willingness to be explorers and learners. You make me proud to be part of the Nettelhorst community.
Posted November 19, 2015

Nettelhorst Elementary School 2

Posted June 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is fine as far as CPS goes. I did have a problem with the lack of real science. The "science" teacher deliberately skipped over the chapters that involved climate change and evolution. Neither of these subjects were even touched on in the two years my daughter had her class, which basically consisted of insignificant filler work in place of the standard Illinois science curriculum. This is not a christian school and one would expect real science to be taught.


Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
this school is excellent! the teachers are fantastic: well educated, creative and kind. my son is learning and is being challenged which is great as he is pretty advanced. could not ask for more. we went to a different school before this year that was in an affluent suburb and Nettelhorst compares amazingly well plus offers diversity and creativity which the other one did not.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 3

Posted April 26, 2014
- a community member
Nettlehorst My grandson is in 1st grade. His teacher sends home e-mails with so many errors. one wonders about her competence. She wrote a title on his workbook: "Show in Tell".

Nettelhorst Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2012
- a community member
I don't know who the greatschools troll is that posted the story about the principal, but i'm given to doubt it because (1 she doesn't yell at anyone, as is widely known, 2) i've never seen anyone in that office "yell" at anyone in alomst 10 years, and 3) the poster likely has an axe to grind, as there's no context in the story at all. the greatschools boards (for all schools) seem to be peppered with axe-grinders hoping to get a dig in here and there. anonymity makes the reviews sort of useless (particularly the negative ones), because you can't judge the value of the reviewer in any case.


Nettelhorst Elementary School 1

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
Fall 2012 I would not send my child here. Day I visited, Principal was yelling at an adult in the office! How rude and unprofessional. I turned around and left.

Nettelhorst Elementary School 3

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
Nettelhorst has a great story and is on a great path but the academics are not there yet.. It is a beautiful school with phenomenal grounds right out of a fairy tale book but great paintings not a great school make and until they make academics more rigorous the children will suffer. Smaller class sizes, reduced teaching to the test, greater focus on the quality of education is key. Children are being taught below grade versus above grade. This is unfortunate.

Nearby schools

Nettelhorst Elementary School
3252 North Broadway St, Chicago, IL  60657
(773) 534-5810
Last modified Nettelhorst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top