Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Otis Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
The classroom sizes are too big, the focus gets lost most of the time. No one should ever lose focus.

Otis Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
The admin is horrible. No sense of knowledge. This school needs to be investigated as soon as possible!


Otis Elementary School 1

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
This really deserves no stars! The staff at Otis is one of the worst admin I have ever spoken with. They know nothing about what is going on in school nor do they care to help out a parent. This school needs to be under investigation!! I will do everything in my power to make sure of it.

Otis Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a community member
This school is amazing. I am in 8th grade and i have been here since preschool. Iv'e had some of the best memories in this school. Iv'e never been sad that I have to go school. The teachers are nice and actually care about you. They want you to graduate and be succesful. When I graduate, im really going to miss this school. I highly recomend it to anyone.

Otis Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 09, 2010
- a parent
I am speaking as a parent and educator that this school is the finest school that CPS has in their system. The staff is like a family. Everyone works for the benefit of the students. The autism program is incredible. They believe in bringing out the beauty in all children. The students and families are very nice. Mr. Sanchez is a young man who should run CPS day. The Case Manager is 100000 percent for the students.


Otis Elementary School 1

Posted July 06, 2009
- a parent
My son has attended Otis for 2 years, and I am currently working on tranfering him out. The teachers he has had in Kindergarten and 1st grade were great, but the resources they have to work with are severly lacking. There is a general lack of knowledge with the office staff regarding the happenings with in the school, and english is definitely not a language priority to them.

Otis Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2009
- a parent
Great school all around. I am very impressed by the whole organization. My children love their teachers. It is a warm and inviting school. The principal is a caring young man who always makes time for parents. I am very happy with Otis school.

Otis Elementary School 4

Posted February 21, 2009
- a parent
Otis is a moving in the right direction. There is a positive atmosphere throughout the school. I would recommend Otis to anyone.


Otis Elementary School 4

Posted March 24, 2008
- a parent
I am very glad my child attends Otis Elementary. The teaching staff is excellent an dkmnowledgable. There is a positive atmosphere in the building. Students are eager to learn and genuinely care about the school. The school is making impressive gains on test scores. Otis a world language program in Spanish, Italian or Latin. If you are choosng a good school, take a look at Otis.

Otis Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2008
- a parent
Otis is a good school on its way to becoming great. My son s kindergarten teacher, Ms. Dejesus, is one of the best teachers I have ever seen. My son cannot wait to go to school every day. A great word to describe Otis would be, nurturing. Teachers, parents, and administrators work as a team to bring about a great quality education. As I was looking for the best school for my soon, what struck me the most when I entered Otis was the positive atmosphere throughout the building. Kids were smiling and teachers were laughing in the hallways. When I entered the main office, I was greeted and attended by a great office staff. My general impression was very positive. My son has been at Otis for 7 months and I am very happy I with my choice.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Otis Elementary School
525 North Armour St, Chicago, IL  60642
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (773) 534-7665
Last modified Otis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top