Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Palmer Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
Palmer is a great neighborhood school in an otherwise challenging school system. It's a melting pot of cultures, representative of Chicago as a whole. The principal, Mr. Ray, is an enthusiastic leader, who has worked hard to raise the level of excellence at the school. He continues to create programs to help the teachers and students develop and achieve at higher levels. The community can see the positive change that has taken place over the last few years and I hope that more people in and around the neighborhood will consider Palmer. A neighborhood school is only as strong as its neighbors!

Palmer Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a teacher
I highly suggest that parents check out the rating the school received from CPS. The latest report card rated Palmer a Level One school using the most recent NWEA test scores, most recent attendance, and most recent surveys. You can not rate a school by test scores that are over 2 years old and pass/fail scores changed from the previous years. A new administration has been in place since those ISAT scores were released. New programs are in place with a better outlook to the future.


Palmer Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Palmer school is really a great school. We have fantastic teachers and staff, who truly want all of our children to succeed. Palmer is also getting a new art room, computer lab, and band class starting this next school year 2014-2015.

Palmer Elementary School 4

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Everyday are Palmer school is improving i love Palmer school thank you teachers and staff . Palmer school rocks

Palmer Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Palmer Shool is a very goo school for all kids. It has activities that interact with both boys and girls in all ages. The staff members all work hard soothe students can have a good time. This school is very different from other schools I have taken my kids to. It has talent shows for those students that want to express their talents, it has game night, it has Jamfest the night all both parents and students look forward to, it also has literacy night where the students get to do activities for fun with the staff members. Palmer school has many activities that try to enhance the students to learn and they do it in a fun way so the children will want to learn.


Palmer Elementary School 4

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely love Palmer! The teachers are great and really care for their students. My boys love going to school everyday.The new principal has been doing a great job so far and seems to be involved with both students and staff. Palmer Elementary is on its way to the top.

Palmer Elementary School 4

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
There is a lot of good stuff happening at Palmer! The new Principal is very committed and determined to improve the school and he got a lot accomplished in the time he's been there. Starting in the fall, a Comprehensive Gifted Program will be offered. My kids like going to school and I can't say enough about the dedicated teachers I've met so far. It's a great neighborhood school, smaller class sizes, outdoor recess, music program, art, dance and some after school options. The only thing I miss is a tighter parent community, although the PTA is working hard on changing that by organizing social events like Game Nights, Movie Nights etc.

Palmer Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing the kids are nice the parents are nice the new principle is nice everything is organized great library and the school has so many programs for kids to learn and do activities before school and after school and everybody there is just really nice I recommend your kid going there


Palmer Elementary School 2

Posted March 16, 2012
- a parent
Palmer is a regular chicago public school. You've got teachers who really care and go the extra mile and otheres that just are bad. Some of the teachers are very mean, othere teachers have no athority in there own class. One of my daughters teacher collected money for a field trip that never happend and wasn't ok'd buy the princable. She never refunded the money. Big problems with bullies, girls like to presure othere girls to fight after school. The school rarely returns phone calls, Princable is always in a meeting. During the winter a child broke his leg walking into the school. Because of ice all over the place. I watched the EMT's put the boy on a stretcher I asked the Princable if the need money salt, we all could donate so this doesn't happen, no answer. Later I see a huge bag of rockk salt right by the entrence. Aparently they don't care enough to use it. There are some truely wonderful staff and teachers but not enough.

Palmer Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 06, 2010
- a parent
Because they have people who care from top to bottom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palmer Elementary School
5051 N Kenneth Ave, Chicago, IL  60630
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (773) 534-3704
Last modified Palmer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top