Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 962
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Palmer Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a teacher
We are a Level 1 school as per our 2014 Elementary School Quality Rating Report. This comes from a combination of the NWEA scores from Spring, 2014, daily attendance, parent surveys, our data quality, and the growth of our students as per the NWEA. Thank you students for the hard work you did.

Palmer Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Palmer school is really a great school. We have fantastic teachers and staff, who truly want all of our children to succeed. Palmer is also getting a new art room, computer lab, and band class starting this next school year 2014-2015.


Palmer Elementary School 4

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Everyday are Palmer school is improving i love Palmer school thank you teachers and staff . Palmer school rocks

Palmer Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Palmer Shool is a very goo school for all kids. It has activities that interact with both boys and girls in all ages. The staff members all work hard soothe students can have a good time. This school is very different from other schools I have taken my kids to. It has talent shows for those students that want to express their talents, it has game night, it has Jamfest the night all both parents and students look forward to, it also has literacy night where the students get to do activities for fun with the staff members. Palmer school has many activities that try to enhance the students to learn and they do it in a fun way so the children will want to learn.

Palmer Elementary School 4

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely love Palmer! The teachers are great and really care for their students. My boys love going to school everyday.The new principal has been doing a great job so far and seems to be involved with both students and staff. Palmer Elementary is on its way to the top.


Palmer Elementary School 4

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
There is a lot of good stuff happening at Palmer! The new Principal is very committed and determined to improve the school and he got a lot accomplished in the time he's been there. Starting in the fall, a Comprehensive Gifted Program will be offered. My kids like going to school and I can't say enough about the dedicated teachers I've met so far. It's a great neighborhood school, smaller class sizes, outdoor recess, music program, art, dance and some after school options. The only thing I miss is a tighter parent community, although the PTA is working hard on changing that by organizing social events like Game Nights, Movie Nights etc.

Palmer Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing the kids are nice the parents are nice the new principle is nice everything is organized great library and the school has so many programs for kids to learn and do activities before school and after school and everybody there is just really nice I recommend your kid going there

Palmer Elementary School 2

Posted March 16, 2012
- a parent
Palmer is a regular chicago public school. You've got teachers who really care and go the extra mile and otheres that just are bad. Some of the teachers are very mean, othere teachers have no athority in there own class. One of my daughters teacher collected money for a field trip that never happend and wasn't ok'd buy the princable. She never refunded the money. Big problems with bullies, girls like to presure othere girls to fight after school. The school rarely returns phone calls, Princable is always in a meeting. During the winter a child broke his leg walking into the school. Because of ice all over the place. I watched the EMT's put the boy on a stretcher I asked the Princable if the need money salt, we all could donate so this doesn't happen, no answer. Later I see a huge bag of rockk salt right by the entrence. Aparently they don't care enough to use it. There are some truely wonderful staff and teachers but not enough.


Palmer Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 06, 2010
- a parent
Because they have people who care from top to bottom.

Palmer Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 23, 2010
- a parent
I think the principal, teachers and staff are working extremely hard to make this a top school in the district on both an academic and social/emotional level. A major strength is our diverse community of families who make up our school community. If you make just the slightest effort you'll find that our parents are so open, welcoming, and helpful - everyday it's a joy to meet and talk with other parents, grandmothers and grandfathers who care so much about the well being of their kids. I'm confident, based on the turnout at the first parent meeting and open house, that with we will continue to build on our strengths and exceed our goals for the year!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palmer Elementary School
5051 N Kenneth Ave, Chicago, IL  60630
(773) 534-3704
Last modified Palmer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Palmer Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top