Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 38 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Peterson Elementary School 4

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
The teachers here are phenomenal! My daughter transferred here from a Catholic school and everyone has been so welcoming. The teachers have helped he r transition into this new environment. She is doing very well academically and has made new friends.

Peterson Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
Peterson is an awesome, community supported school. Nothing is status quo. Each event, classroom, team, teacher, parent and organization is constantly evolving, educating and evaluating itself. It is so much fun to feel like a welcome part of this neighborhood school that profoundly embraces it's social and cultural diversity. I feel like my kids are safely getting an education that supports who they are and what they want to become.


Peterson Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
Peterson Elementary is absolutely the best grade school any parent could ever want for their child. the Faculty and teaching staff are truly dedicated, passionate educators. the sense of community within the school is palpable. Kids in the same grade have a true bond with each other - and vertically - the teachers are connected - as well as older to younger kids connected through mentoring. The music program is phenomenal -- with instruction starting at 1st and 3rd grades. Many other schools don't start choir, theater or band programs will 4th, 5th or even 6th grades.

Peterson Elementary School 4

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
Peterson is a fantastic neighborhood school with fantastic dedicated teachers and caring and involved parents. There are great opportunities at the school for your child to get involved in many extra activities. I do wish that there was after school care for working parents and language classes offered but with a tight budget that's probably not possible. We had the opportunity to move into any neighborhood in Chicago to attend a school and chose Peterson for it's deep community.

Peterson Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
Peterson School is what public education should be: open to everyone, striving for excellence, balancing academics with enrichment and awareness of the softer things that make life interesting, demonstrating - not just speaking about - care for others, for community, for earth. Does it have its troubles? Sure. All places do. But in the past 10 years since I have had children there, the school has had a steady cohort of inspiring teachers, involved parents, intentional collaborations all working to make things better. There's really no better way to learn, is there? Watching all the adults around you work hard to make things better allows children the freedom to make their own mistakes and work to get better. I love our school for that.


Peterson Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
I can not imagine why anyone would not love and embrace this school. Get involved and you will feel the same.

Peterson Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
Peterson elementary school is awesome. The teachers are extremely kind and helpful. They never hesitate to reach out to help a student in need of guidance. The best part of the school is the music program. The children learn to play many instruments and have the oppurtunity to be a member of a high ranking band and choir.

Peterson Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
My child recently started Kindergartern at Peterson. This school is truly a hidden gem. The school is extremely diverse with around 40 languages spoken in student homes. Academic performance is impressive and many graduates go on to great Chicago high schools. Even though it is a larger school, there is a community feel. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. The principal and staff care about the students and families. We are so happy we are a Peterson family!


Peterson Elementary School 1

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
Call Anna Alvaravo @773-534-1113 if u have any Issues with this school, she's the person u would report to. She's in the downtown office

Peterson Elementary School 3

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
The teachers here are terrible. Be prepared to get outside help for your children so they will be able to get into a select high school. These teachers buck the administration at every turn and make sure parents and students know. I don't understand why these teachers stay if they hate teaching here so much, move on. I looked back at the history of Peterson's administration and found that in the last 13 years there have been 4 principals, I think the teachers are so difficult that principals don't want to stay. I hope the teachers are reading this, maybe it will give them that push they need to leave!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peterson Elementary School
5510 North Christiana Avenue, Chicago, IL  60625
(773) 534-5070
Last modified Peterson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Peterson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top