Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 536
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


51 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
Our child is a Kindergartener at Mark Sheridan. This school has been excellent. His primary teacher and specialist teachers have been extremely supportive and enthusiastic. The administration is passionate, caring and involved. The older children at the school are extraordinarily polite and well mannered and they provide positive role models for the younger children. The school has great diversity. In addition, there is an intangible positive vibe about the school that is infectious. Class sizes are very good for CPS. The building has tons of charm.
1 person found this helpful

Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
It's my son's second year attending Mark Sheridan and all I can say is that it' a wonderful school. The teachers and staff that I have meet so far have been wonderful. The education that the child receive here at Mark Sheridan might be challenging, but in the end, it's a great challenge that the students will benefit from moving into the future. Keep up the great work MSA!


Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
Mark Sheridan is an example of what all public schools can be. Diverse, challenging, always striving to do even better than the last year. The teaching and administrative staff are highly invested in the success of the students and in keeping the parents in lock-step with their mission. Not only are the academic achievements outstanding but the requirements for every student to practice inclusiveness and civility makes for a wonderful experience for all MSA students.

Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Is great i have 3 children here and would recommend every child to attend. I Love Mark Sheridan.

Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2012
- a parent
I LOVE this school! It has great education and it's great for kids. The teachers, principle, and staff are amazing too. My child goes there and tells me her day everyday. :)


Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
As a college professor who has conducted research in urban public schools and as parent of a MS student, I have come to appreciate the effort that MS faculty and staff continue to make to ensure the success of students . It starts at the front door with the Principal who knows students by their names and greets them at the school door. It continues in the classroom with a teacher who types an individualized progress report for my daughter at the end of each semester. It extends to relationships with parents who are welcomed into the life and environment of the school. And finally, it continues in the way that the administrators, faculty, and staff "make it work" for the students. MS is an island in the CPS system. When are schools are failing just blocks away, MS continues to succeed with a very diverse student population and diminished resources. No whining. No belly-aching about the performance reviews. No negativity. Just doing school as it ought to be done everywhere in Chicago!
1 person found this helpful

Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
I have two kids that went to MSA. One has graduated and the other is in 7th. The school is great and the teachers really do care about your child and their relationship with the parents. Majority of the teachers are very understanding and approachable. The involvement of the parents at school is great. No matter what the event was there is always a group of parents helping out. Most of all the school is challenging and prepares the children for high school very well. I am very proud to say I am a wildcat mom and I recommend this school.

Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted February 22, 2011
- a parent
This is the fourth year that my two children (who are currently in grades 3 and 4) have attended MSA, and I could not be more pleased. My children are given demanding and thought-provoking work and homework that does not exceed their abilities but demands their best work. The teachers at MSA are involved, in close contact with me, and work incredibly hard. The administration is available and accessible. The school's anti-bullying policy has been a huge benefit to my daughter and my son has received excellent special education support from the IES department as well as his regular ed. teachers. We feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to watch our children thrive at MSA.


Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy 0
no rating

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
Mark Sheridan is a 'Spotlight' school, which speaks for itself. The structure of the classes beginning with kindergarten is symbolic of the character of the instructors and the principle when it comes to defining a solid knowledge base. The children are taught to be responsible and self-directed, which is a plus in today's society.

Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy 0
no rating

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
The school provides a conducive, intellectual learning environment for students. Students are trained to think outside the box and develop critical thinking skills which is necessary in a changing and competitive society.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy
533 West 27th Street, Chicago, IL  60616
(773) 534-9120
Last modified Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top