Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 641
 

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy 5

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
Stone Academy is a very special place thanks to the Principal Onofrio and many great teachers she has on staff. I think it would even be better place if the LSC is not micromanaging every decision made by very capable principal. Also, there are few malicious parents who are just taking way too much of principal's time as well as teacher's time without realizing that time would be better spent if they left teachers and principal do what they do best. It is unfortunate how much weight and time is given to squeaky wheels.

Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
LOVE LOVE LOVE this school! I am so thankful she was offered a seat at this great school. Her teacher is wonderful & is very caring of all her students. Thank you STONE ACADEMY!


Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy 1

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
Ugh. So disappointed in this school. There is a clique of wealthy parents who are "rah, rah" about this school, and who are seriously clueless about what is going on in the classrooms because they are so focused on "ballroom dancing!" The culture between the staff and teachers is very dysfunctional, and it is felt throughout the school community. My children received lots of worksheets, few interesting or engaging projects. The discipline is based on fear and intimidation. Disrespectful of families of color or low-income families, not inclusive. I'm shocked, frankly, that there are as many positive reviews as there are here, because that is not what is being talked about between parents at pickup and drop-off.

Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Stone is a school with a lot of nice activities and dedicated staff. Teachers help the ones in need, but there is not enough time and money to create the programs for students who are above the average.

Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Stone Academy is a rare treasure in the belabored Chicago Public School system for many reasons. In no particular order, Stone celebrates and represents students from many cultures and ethnicities. Every year the school holds a "Heritage Assembly" that celebrates this diversity. The staff and faculy are highly motivated to help every student succeed, and the parents and families are actively involved in our school. The administration has done an excellent job in educating kids on the risks & dangers of bullying, and bullies simply aren't tolerated at Stone. Being a K-8 school, t's common to see older students helping and playing with the younger ones. To know Stone Academy is to love it!


Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a community member
I hate this school, yet I love it so much. I'm relieved that I finally will graduate in a few weeks, yet I don't want to leave Stone. I was here since kindergarten, so I know everything about this place.

Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy 4

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been here for 2 years (under new administration and longer day). Overall this school is very solid with many wonderful teachers, but the class sizes are VERY big (32 in 2nd grade) and the rooms are not. The Principal doesn't think this is a big deal -- but many area school have 27 and we have 32. This means less one-on-one time and it's hard for teacher to get around to all the groups. Kids who do well, will do well regardless. Those who struggle will never catch up! Another minor thing that is actually important to kids and "school community" is the lack of cafeteria and the gym is very small. This limits the types of activities that can be offered and open time for kids to interact.

Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy 4

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
Diverse and kids are respectful of each other and teachers. We've met so many interesting families and appreciate the support of our daughter's teachers who always "have eyes" on her. (Smart but sometimes up to mischief.) The arts program is really wonderful as is Librarian - Ms. Esme ROCKS! Drawbacks are the facilities - school yard is nice, but no cafeteria and tiny old gym. Bathrooms are also safety hazard with exposed pipes -- but I've seen the same or worse in CPS. So many good things in the school and many more yet to come -- JOIN OUR COMMUNITY of LEARNERS!


Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy 4

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
i like this schooll too goo my kids if you do not have past the test:(

Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy 3

Posted May 18, 2011
- a community member
Previously attending this school, I found that it was great. Unfortunately staff switched. Teachers got put into classes that wasn't their forte, thus degrading the learning experience. Gym was everyone's escape, but we were only offered this two to three times a week, much too little compared to the standard of 45 minutes of exercise per DAY. The school has it's highs and lows, but all in all, it's a good school to go to.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy
6239 North Leavitt Street, Chicago, IL  60659
(773) 534-2045
Last modified Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stone Elementary Scholastic Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top