Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
Putting our children education & safety first. Faculty & staff all work together to achieve these task which are trying at times but they find a way to GET THE JOB DONE!

Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
Thank you Dr. D Robinson for the 15 yrs of leadership. My angels, Gabrielle, Erica & Kyra McKay have found their niche in life through your leadership & have become strong independent young women because of it as well. PEACE & BLESSINGS FROM THEIR FATHER, ERIC L. McKAY!!!


Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy 2

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
This school has no protocol for dealing with bullying. The principal is hardly ever available and the vice principal is just an excuse maker. My child has been here three years and they have yet to resolve the issues in the classroom. I have decided that enough is enough we are leaving. The only answer given to me is that my child is weak and need to buck up and deal with it. Verbal bullying is real and easier to get away with because there are no physical scars.

Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy 4

Posted July 21, 2010
- a community member
I am a student of Sumner academy.I feel that MOST of the teachers are really focused on teaching every child and going at a nice pace while teaching so that every single student can catch on.But then again I feel that sometimes they can have too many rules that come from other student ruining it for everyone and making everyone suffer the consequences.I think that those certain students who did something wrong should be the ones that suffer the consequences and not every one else.I can understand sometimes everyone gets punished but I think as a school that we have a little too much of it.So as a sumner team I think we can all come together as a team to make something happen about that so that everyone can feel like they're being treated fairly.

Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy
no rating

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
as a parent of a sumner student i think that the teachers and parents need to step there game up,there is just to much volience and i'm afraid for my child to leave school some days.sometimes it just seem like a joke to some of the the staff. they seat back and watch the kids figth.i reall need you all to do something about this .p.s aiways worried


Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2008
- a teacher
I've been teachin in the system long enough to know and excellent school when I see it. My years of experience told me Sumner was a great place, so, when I returned to the classroom I was delighted to be hired as a teacher. Our standards are high and each year we strive to raise them even higher. Most students and parents are absolutely delightful to work with. The kids are happy, the halls are quiet, the children are learning. The staff at Sumner adore their kids. Even the most challenging child has been spoken of lovingly by someone close to him/her. Not only do teachers look after their own students, but former students and siblings are under their watchful eyes. Only the best is acceptable at Sumner and we have it in staff, parents and students!

Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy 5

Posted September 29, 2007
- a student
Sumner is a great school. I just graduated from there June of 2007. I loved it. The teachers are so nice and understanding. Although there may be fights, it is still a wonderful school and your kids would love it. They will learn so much.

Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy 3

Posted April 17, 2007
- a parent
I am a single working parent that has a student at Sumner. It is very hard to get in contact with teachers and or counselors. The teachers there to me are young and inexperienced to deal with kids. Sumner's focuses on the wrong things and instead of the kids progress and learning. They rather worry about what the kids are wearing to school. My opinion is Sumner is not that great.


Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy 5

Posted September 10, 2006
- a parent
I have a 2nd grader that really enjoys this school. He really has matured and also loves reading. His math skills also have improved tremendously. This school and his teachers are pleasurable, approachable and caring for the students.

Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy 5

Posted July 27, 2005
- a student
At Sumner, teachers encourage you to participate wherever your intrests are. The principal actually listens to what you have to say as a parent or student. Discipline & Safety are focused strictlly. At Sumner you learn and have fun.

Nearby schools

Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy
4320 West 5th Ave, Chicago, IL  60624
(773) 534-6730
Last modified Sumner Elementary Math & Sci Community Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top