Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 1,854
 

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Steinmetz Academic Centre High School 5

Posted December 25, 2013
- a community member
I graduated from this school and went on to receive a Ph.D in Food Science from Michigan State University. The staff prepared me for a college education. I also like the excellent Alumni Association associated with the school. Best HS Alumni Association in the country. Definitely Best in the West.

Steinmetz Academic Centre High School 4

Posted June 23, 2013
- a student
The new principal has definitely turned this school around for the better! The IB program is very challenging and the friends I've made are amazing. I don't understand the reputation this school has...and I'm sure it will change in a few years with these drastic changes being made. The teachers care so much...I've never had so many great teachers in my life! My grades are phenomenal, and I haven't missed a day of school this year. Of course, some students have fights and maybe aren't as good as they should be, but doesn't every school have that small handful of bad kids? I love it here, and I'm sure you will, too!


Steinmetz Academic Centre High School 1

Posted December 04, 2009
- a community member
I Atended Steinmetz and from my personal experience this school has one of the worst acedemic accomidations. It is very hard to study when fights occur durring passing periods. The school seems to be underfunded in most areas that children need to develop into the mature creative young adults they one day wish to become, and it seems as if the leaders of the school try to create unreasonalble punishments in futile attemps to better their behavior. Tyranny Begets Revolt. 'Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see. ' -Mark Twain

Steinmetz Academic Centre High School 5

Posted June 12, 2008
- a student
I'm a current senior in school. I'm glad I came here. This school is amazing. Teachers cares about you. We have IB, ver smart students. I agree that some students create problems, but principal is trying to change this.

Steinmetz Academic Centre High School 4

Posted January 08, 2008
- a parent
Steinmetz has been very good to my son, he has been involved in extracaricular activities and is going to college. I am very happy with how the teachers have helped and encouraged him. I am looking forward to graduation, thank you.


Steinmetz Academic Centre High School 5

Posted July 20, 2007
- a student
I am a student at Steinmetz. When I began at this school as a freshman I would agree that this school had many problems with students who didn't want to do what there suppose to. Don't blame the school for children who don't want to be successful. Parent's let there children come to school with these problem's. If it's so much of a problem the take part in making it better. Now in my Junior year, I can honestly say that this school has improved greatly. The children who didn't want to be there didn't come. Maybe parent's should stop complaining and help make Steinmetz better and all PUBLIC high schools better. Steinmetz is a great school. Many of the teachers do want these children to finish high school and go to college. Shouldn't the PARENT?

Steinmetz Academic Centre High School 2

Posted February 20, 2007
- a student
i was in the class of 2006 and i did not like steinmetz at all. there are to many fights the sercuity dose nothing there graffitti every where and some teachers cared about there students and other didnt. And people made fun of me because i was a nerd. But is my fault that i come to school on time and do all my work and while they ditch class or hang out in the lunchroom or the halls? I made it through each day by ingoring every1 there and doing all my work.

Steinmetz Academic Centre High School 2

Posted December 07, 2006
- a parent
Many of the classes are over crowded, and many teachers let the Special Ed. students fall through the cracks. No one is helpful, and the teachers and staff clearly have no control over the students. My son attends here, and I wish that I could afford a private school for him!


Steinmetz Academic Centre High School
no rating

Posted January 09, 2006
- a student
Steinmets Academic Center focus in learning.Students and teachers are respectful to each other.I m learning many things in there.I invite all parents who want thier children to get a good education to come in Steinmatz.It s a place for learning all cultures.

Steinmetz Academic Centre High School
no rating

Posted March 10, 2005
- a parent
My very recent experience with this school is unsatisfactory. My son came from the private school sector into Steinmetz. This was absolutely the worse situation that I could have placed my freshman son in. Some of the teachers are horrible, the students are cutting school. With over 2,500 students, there is no way this institution can effectively teach these students. Thank God, I got my son out, right in the nick of time.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Steinmetz Academic Centre High School
3030 North Mobile Avenue, Chicago, IL  60634
(773) 534-3030
Last modified Steinmetz Academic Centre High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Steinmetz Academic Centre High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top