Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Taft High School

Public | 7-12 | 2936 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

This review is for the academic center at Taft. It is WONDERFUL!!!!!!! My daughter will soon be graduating from eighth grade from Taft AC. She will be attending Northside College Prep in the fall. I truly believe it is with the hard work and dedication of the exceptional teaching staff that this is possible. The students absorb content because they are taught well. I also have a twenty year old daughter who also attended Taft AC and went on to Northside College Prep. She is currently at U of I Urbana studying pre-med. What a hidden gem this school is. If you have a hard working, studious and highly motivated child, this school's 7th and 8th grade program is a perfect fit! It will prepare your child for a successful high school experience. Thank you Mrs. Asvos and staff for a wonderful job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

I felt that Taft's prime objective was to get my son through high school and out the door. His transition plan was abysmal. All the eggs were placed in one basket: that is, job training that met for one hour a week after he graduated. This was clearly not enough support and since he graduated about 3 years ago we've been carving out our own 'transition plan.' My son was quite interested in sports at Taft; the wrestling coach welcomed him but when he approached the baseball coach about trying out for the team the coach discouraged him from even trying. The school has a stellar team but no room for a special ed student to even try out. I found that just plain offensive. Taft really needs to step up its transition resources. Too many kids are left adrift with too few resources brought to the table. High school is a tough environment, particularly in a large, overcrowded Chicago public school. The times my son was verbally abused, called names and teased, he ended up talking to a social worker, not the individuals who did the taunting. Again, ridiculous. There's so much that can be accomplished by assigning peer support for our special ed kids, but that would require some effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

An overcrowded Chicago public high school. Security is lax and the neighbors around the school often complain of inappropriate activity by students who are dodging classes. A number of the teachers are above average but seem overwhelmed at times. My sons graduated from this school but I live in the neighborhood and I keep an active interest in it. It's better than many high schools and there seems to be a core group of involved parents but I am very happy that my sons no longer attend there. It has deteriorated since they attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

My daughter transferred to Taft this year (sophomore) after attending Resurrection College Prep last year. She needed to attend this school due to financial reasons. She was in all AP classes at Res and did very well. They could not put her in honors or IB programs as they were full and now has to wait for recommendations from the teachers to be placed in them for next year. Well she is not challenged at all. They discipline the innocence parties in altercations as well as the guilty. The security is a joke and not enough. The school is overcrowded. The smoking in the bathrooms is obscene. My daughter refuses to go in the unless absolutely necessary. Drugs very accessible. I had to contact them twice because twice my daughter was threatened to be beat up. My daughter positively hates it. I have enrolled my daughter in the CPS Virtual online school for next year. The only other choices for CPS in our area are Schurz or Steinmetz. Sorry these are worse that Taft.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My son is a freshman and he is doing exceptionally well.. He is in honors algebra and he is getting straight A's.. The teachers are doing a great job with my son, he really likes it there. I'm not sure what they could improve on yet, because we're only a few months into the school year, but so far so good..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Taft was at best mediocre for both of my sons, one of whom graduated this past spring and was relieved to get out. Don't expect a lot of interaction from the teachers; the last report card period I attended in the spring of 2013 many teachers were absent because of weather/flooding and when I attempted to reschedule appointments they never responded. More than a few of the teachers really need to retire and that situation will probably get worse this year because of the layoffs and rebalancing of instructors. I don't have too much faith in CPS, especially now and I'm just thankful that my kids are out. We'll see how well prepared they are as they proceed through college.


Posted September 25, 2013

My daughter is a freshman and is in the IB program. If she wasn't I would not have sent her to Taft. I have heard so many stories about this school, fights, smoking weed, and teachers not caring. But my daughter did get in the IP program and she really wanted to attend Taft because she knows alot of kids that go there. Well my first impression was this school is not organized. The registration process was a joke. We were at the school for 3 hours waiting to get her schedule and of course pay the fees. You have to purchase it from the box office during lunch. The kids either eat or don t eat and wait in that long line. The person in the box office is the slowest moving person I have ever seen. I took off a half day of work so I could go to school and buy the bus pass for my daughter so she wouldn t miss lunch. They need a better system to be able to purchase items. As for the teachers my daughter isn't too happy with a few of her teachers. She told me they are mean, they yell at you and don't care. One of her teachers was picking on her and she didn't know why. Now the teacher is picking on another student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I HATE this School. Overcrowded, teachers don't care,security doesn't care,administration doesn't care .You call the Office ,No one answers the phone, you leave a message and no one calls back ever.So frustrating. The Principal herself said they have 1000 more students than they are equipped for. I went to the School and the halls are so bottle necked and dangerously over crowded. I feel for my child and I hope we can move to a better. school district soon.This IS AN AWFUL CPS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

My son is a freshman, not in the IB program. Though the entire school is considered IB,in actuality this is not true,there is the actual IB tier one tests into and their is the general poulation. He is in some honor classes. So far not impressed. The kids are treated like a # and they make sure you know you are just a # are not going to get any individualized attention. Many of the teachers seem burnt out and just going through the motions. He did not get his bus pass for a week-they don't hand them out,students have to wait at the box office,during lunch and the box office closes before the student have gotten through. He says when he goes to the bathroom kids are smoking weed (between security guard checks). As a freshie trying to find his way around he would arrive a few minutes late.So the teacher marked him absent (really teacher you can't check who came in?) . We are very disappointed. I have to say ,we came from a parochial school,so in all fairness,we are used to a more attentive, engaged and nurturing learning envronment. I guess you get what you pay for. If you have a better option,I suggest you excercise it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

The IB program in this school is one of the hidden gems in Chicago. Last year's average score was 25.1, which is higher than some selective enrollment schools, including Lane Tech. And this year, Taft is becoming wall to wall IB, which means all students will have access to the program. Well done Taft!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Choosing to have both our children attend Taft High School has worked out well. This neighborhood school continues to provide a great education while offering its students a plethora of after school activities and sports. For parents that want to be involved, there are opportunities like attending LSC and PTSA meetings, joining the Taft High School Foundation efforts for fundraising, and other campus activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Drugs, fights, over crowded, high drop out rate, some teachers and counselors that just don't care (that can happen anywhere), and lazy security among a few problems. I've walked in and out of that school so many times through side doors where kids were leaving in the middle of the day. If your kid is in the IB program it is probably fine but I would not put my kid back in the regular program. Notice how on this site they don't list the 11th grade test scores like most other schools, they use the 7th and 8th grade IB student scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

My vote of five stars goes to William Howard Taft High School on the Northwest side of Chicago. As an alumnus from 1971, I personally have noticed that Taft was taking a turn for the worst and stopped being the neighborhood school it was when I attended it. Since Dr. Art Tavardian came in as Principal in 1990 he gradually brought back respectability to the school be insisting that GPA scores must change for each and every student. The change has since continued under Ms. Mary Kay Cappatelli who has taken over last year and gradually sought approval from the Local School Council to continue this effort. Now with the leadership of alumni from Taft, the school has now developed a foundation for collecting donated monies that will surely make the future even brighter. Many outstanding alumni graduate from these hallowed halls. Included in these are Jim Jacobs, creator of the Broadway play, Grease; Terry Kath, co-founder of the rock fusion band, Chicago; Jim Grabowski, football great who played for the Green Bay Packers and the Chicago Bears and many more. Taft will always shine as a Number 1 school in Chicago for years to come.


Posted July 25, 2013

Taft is a good high school that has suffered a great deal of neglect by CPS. CPS is now throwing Taft a bone in making it "wall-to-wall" IB. The teachers and counselors at Taft are doing the best that they can given the fact that the school was built for 2400 and in the 2013-2014 school year will in all likelihood have over 3000 students. CPS has cut its budget for Taft in spite of the ever-increasing enrollment.


Posted February 28, 2013

Taft has a bad reputation from past when there were a lot of kids bussed in from the worst parts of Chicago. Today, when it's mostly a neighborhood school, it has become a very good school. And with a new "IB Program For All"l starting 2013, it can only get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

I have two kids at Taft. We pulled our oldest from private school due to the lack of education he was receiving. I had been afraid to send my kids to Taft due to people talking about how bad the school was, needless to say these were people who had never stepped in to Taft so the only thing they knew about it was what they were told by other parents who knew nothing about the school in the first place. With a senior and a sophomore at Taft I am so very pleased with the quality of teaching this school provides. I was surprised at how many students work hard to helping the environment and charities in need. We had been witness to kids being bullied at our old school Notre Dame, luckily our son was not a target. It s too bad people listen to hearsay and not the facts. As far as Taft being on academic probation due to test scores the person who wrote this doesn t understand how that CPS works. The school has a special education program and it was at that point where the school did not gain, unfortunately all classes are meshed together for a total grade score.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

This school deserves more support from CPS than it gets. It's a widely diverse school serving average to academically gifted students. From the exterior, the place gives the heebie jeebies and CPS would serve itself well by spending money on fresh painting/landscaping. But the teachers and administrators I've encountered are topnotch. The principal and Ms. Asvos cares deeply about the students. The school will not parent your child; he or she is expected to be mature enough to perform assignments. CPS, please devote some of your ample resources over here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

As far as neighborhood schools go, Taft is far better than average. But the student with other options should shy away. The Principal and administration are out to improve Taft's reputation (ergo positive reviews). Being a Taft parent for 7 years now, I can tell you my run-in's with Dr. Tarvardian have been negative and included him calling my 8th grader 'lazy'. The school pushes the limits in some respects. For example, they charge students $2 each time a student forgets their ID. The school also charges $6 for student CTA passes, even though they cost $5 elsewhere. Finally, the dress code enforcement is completely out of line. I had a dean call me at work and threaten to give my child 10 days of out of school suspension for having worn a hoodie in the lunch room. No, it was not my child's first infraction, but out of school suspension is more than a bit steep for a dress code violation. I would transfer my child out of Taft if I could. But our options are limited...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

I was a student at Taft H.S. and I have to say that I enjoyed my time there. The educators were great and did there part by educating their students. It's pretty much up to the students to absorb all the knowledge that is being handed to them. While attending T.H.S., the educators showed me how much they cared by pushing me to do my best. They believed in me and made me feel that I could accomplish anything at all. I am where I want to be today. I have an amazing family and a great career. I am a success story thanks to my educators at T.H.S. I believed in me because they believed in me. To all the educators.....KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!


Posted April 28, 2011

WOW there are many bitter parents and current /former students connected with this school! It certainly makes one think twice about this school because it sounds as if one is not in the honors.IB program, they are just cast aside :( Maybe they protest too much??


Posted April 27, 2011

I am a former parent and a school teacher. They are fair, dedicated, and challenge all the students who attend Taft. If you don't like it LEAVE because there are many trying to get in. Taft has a dedicated staff and if you think that kids can't pass the AP tests, come see my kid's scores! And YES, you are expected to parent. SO, do your part and you won't complain and Taft won't babysit your child and they WILL TEACH YOUR CHILD and to your amazement YOUR CHILD WILL BE EDUCATED!!


Posted March 22, 2011

Okay, so I attend Taft High School and not all of these negative comments are true. People should stop saying that Taft does not challenge their children. Maybe, if they were not taking "regular" classes they would be challenged! I am in the IB program, and it is one of the most challenging programs. And you know what, I love it! I also was a student in the Academic Center and I loved that too. Some of the teachers don't know how to teach but other than that, Taft is a great school. Maybe if students actually tried to succeed, parents wouldn't have such a problem with everything! If you don't like Taft, take your student out of here because there are many students that enjoy it! And if your child is having a problem with the "challenging" classes, have them take all honors like I am, and then they will probably complain that it is too challenging for them! Have a nice day.


Posted September 28, 2010

i have read through the negative comments and being a former suburban student who now is raising a family in the city, you will find the same bad things that happen at taft as they do in the suburbs. Be a parent who wants whats best for their child. Don't let them bring an IPod to school and it won't get stolen.(if they didn't lose it). I have had nothing but great things to say about Taft. Teachers are awesome, Counselors are awesome, and principal CARES about your child. He EXPECTS you to parent your child and his teachers to TEACH you child, NOT babysit them. Spend 8,000 a year and get less in a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2010

My son attended the 7th and 8th Grade Taft Academic Center. Ms. Asvos, its principal, is beyond dedicated and devoted to her students. I know that Taft HS can work well with some special needs. The online parent portal for class work and grades was a godsend. The teachers are devoted. A parent's involvement, which was common among AC parents, makes the difference. I would have sent my child to Taft HS, without hesitation. I wonder whether Selective Enrollment is necessary once accepted to the Academic Center. However, in our situation, the Selective Enrollment High School was closer to our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

Taft is one of the best High schools in Chicago, if you have a problem or the student has a problem it can be worked out, the teachers, staff, and principal are all easily accessible, the job of the school is education not to babysit or raise your children, thank you Dr. Tavardian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

best school ever. i went to the academic program and it is so fun and i learned so much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2010

I would not send another child to Taft High School. Very unorganized. Based on the 2009 review, the school should be on academic warning (level 3) but a review by the district says school passed(moved to level 2) Hasn't not made adequate yearly progress. And passing the school anyway hurts our kids. Retaliation happens when you complain. Fights all the time. The way staff treats and speaks to students is horrible. The access to drugs is incredibly alarming. .I should have listened to what I was told about Taft. Parents do anything you can to keep your child out of this school if you want them to be sucessful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

This is an excellent school with challenging classes and a wide variety of afterschool programs including flag football, football, softball and swimming during gym. Ms. Asvos is the director the Academic Center and she works hard on behalf of all of her kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

My children have received a high quality education with highly qualified educators. We are very pleased with Taft High School and its programs. Children who want to learn will always excell but with good teachers and a good curriculum they will do even more. Look seriously at Taft when choosing a high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

This school is very unorganized. The lack of care for the students is horrifying. The principle is rude and doesn't get the job done
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

Taft HS is the best school in Chicago. I have three children attending Taft. The IB program, Honors Academy and Academic Center challenges the students. The teachers are awesome. The students are wonderful. The principal has done an excellent job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

I am a current 8th grader in the Taft Academic center. I do have to say that the education I am getting in the Academic center is much better than my old school. It challenges you, teaches you things, and most of the courses are honors. The teachers are a different matter. The teachers all vary with their attitudes. Some teachers show that they really dislike children and they are just instrcutors that aren't exactly 'teachers', even though you still like, but then there are others that are birlliant and teach you things in a way that you understand. Another issue is the way the school disciplines their students. The security guards are rude and have no respect for the students. I do recomend Taft for the education, but don't count on your child making more than one real friend because Taft has a way of transcending the pressure into hatred.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

Taft is an awesome school in the Chicago land area. We have great teachers and a good learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2008

Taft High School is the best high school on the world. The education is great and it really challenges kids to try their hardest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

The school is a good school in a good neighborhood but the office is very disorganized and disfunctional
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

The Taft Academic Center (7th & 8th grade) is wonderful. The best thing about it is that it is a Jr. High School, which is needed, but lacking in Chicago, to transition kids into high school. The principal is wonderful. He has really turned that whole school around. It's coming back. Most of the teachers seem really good and seem to care about the kids. My daughter has gotten a good education there and has really enjoyed it. I do have to recommend Taft.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

The school has come a long way in the last few years. My daughter is a sophmore and is getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

The education system at Taft is terrible! They are not good with preparing you for college! I felt like I was attending the seventh grade all over again. Fights break out everyday.There is a lot of theft and vandalism too. Overall, the students that attend this school had the worse attitudes that I have seen anywhere!Most of the students dont have any ambition to succeed and a lot of people I ran across dropped out. The best move I made was transferring to a better school in my junior year! I dont think that I would have been as successful as I am today if I would have remained in that negative environment!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 22, 2007

I went to a suburban public schoolMaine South and a private Catholic school Res before coming to Taft and Taft does not even compre to other schools out there. Teachers have low expectations for students and the classes are not rigorous at all. A lot of kids who went on to college were not prepared for the coursework. Aviod at all costs if you're serious about education and being competitive with other students. The 'cheer/dance' team was also a joke. We taught ourselves. We also had low funding and envied other teams.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 18, 2007

Wonderful school that has come a long way from the bottom of the pack. Taft is a school everyone should consider. While it is not a 'selective' enrollment, it has great teachers, great programs and great involvement of parents, LSC and PTSA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

Adequate school that has improved over the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

Great school in great neighborhood
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 4, 2005

I had a great experience at taft!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 12, 2005

Although I think all 3 of my children are recieving a wonderful educationa at Taft, the severe problem with stealing concerns me to no end. It seems that no one at any time is safe with having anything in the school. Gym lockers are broken into, bookbags are torn apart and the kids are all complaining about losing what they have with them. This is certainly something that needs to be stopped.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

My son is attanding Taft H.S. for three years and he is now in his fourth and final year. He not only learned all the subjects but a lot more. He is also enrolled in the NJROTC program that is the best in the City Of Chicago. He has learned many leadership skills and has advanced up very fast. This school is great. It is great because they have one of the Best Principles in the World. Dr. Tarvardian has done so much for the school and made a lot better than the last principle that was there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2004

My son is currently attending Taft and is very happy not only with the kids but the teachers as well. We recently attended Sophmore orientation which only took 20 minutes! These people are so organized it'll make your head spin. Good job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2003

I believe that Taft High School is a great school to attend, because it is there for the students not only to learn the subjects that they need to take to graduate, but also it is there to challange the students in becomming more caring, self-reliant, and responsible adults.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Low income100%
Non-low income100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Low income98%
Non-low income96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Low income100%
Non-low income100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Low income100%
Non-low income97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income94%
Non-low income96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female41%
Male42%
Black36%
Asian42%
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Low income35%
Non-low income52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities45%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students50%
Female52%
Male48%
Black50%
Asian38%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Low income44%
Non-low income62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities55%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students36%
Female32%
Male39%
Black29%
Asian22%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Low income28%
Non-low income48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities40%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 51%
Hispanic 38% 23%
Asian 7% 4%
Black 3% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Kay Cappitelli

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6530 West Bryn Mawr Avenue
Chicago, IL 60631
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 534-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT