Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
69 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 86 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Taft High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Because the set up for the answer is wrong, you can rate and address different topics in one question. Develop a different tool with questions done separately, and you will a more efficient feedback. Personally, Fairness is not helping or developing in the students you are act as blaming, tired systems that needs organizational intervention. Bueno crei que estaba dando advocay a lo padres que no hablan ingles, porque cambian elformato, si ven es asi como los tratan, lo siento todos espero buscan un futuro mjor, no se juega con la cabeza de la gente. gracias

Taft High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
poniendome en los zapatos de los padres latinos, diria que no se porque hay muy poca ayuda en espanol y es dificil comunicarse con nadie alli.


Taft High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
No continuo con lo mismo ya se los dije en ingles y espero que me escuchen. NO quiero que me aterrorizen a mi hijo. Y luego lo hacen decir cosas que ustedes quieren escuchar por que el no quiere ya mas invenciones de los estudiantes que necesitan una escuela especializada en servir estudiantes, que con un diagnostico de necesidades especiales actuan violantamente y atacan a otros, luego van y mienten con el consejero. Utilizen sus contactos y encuentrenle a esos estudiantes a fitness of good enviroment donde haya forma de controlar esos impulsos y rendirle modificacion en su comportamiento, y una vida mas feliz. Ya dije todo, ahora ganemos todos, y que haya una paz en cada hogar, vayan con Dios.

Taft High School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
about 5 parents whom discuss with me the pain which they been suffering while at the school and more of dozen students that are frustrated with the way they push them around the deans, the counselors.

Taft High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
I only like to see results by the way of democratic evaluation from parents and their children, we fill the information and then is evaluated and you need at least more than half of subjects to reach a conclusion.


Taft High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Open your doors and let parents evaluate with our children in questionnaires or some excellent tool, and you will have your answer, students and parents need to give grade from the head of the school to the most modest worker.

Taft High School 1

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
My son has attended this school because we have no choice, during this time we have experience stress, anxiety and above all fear due to the way they force students, i have my research to admitted to things they have done. The staff is forcing, unruly students to sign documents that are not even appropriate, they don't have in place a program with extreme special needs, and many times these students are aggressive and hurt other students and make stories and they are believed just because they say so. As a parent and professional I find the atmosphere for learning is contaminated with threats and not facilitating a positive experience for my child. Teachers leave without noticed, the tutors and teachers are always in the rush to leave to their home, and there is no one there who listen,reply to e-mails, we call for staffing with all the staff that relates to our children and nothing happen. I will like to send my son to a better school in Chicago where safety and respect plus learning take place but is a dream Chicago Schools are suffering terrible setbacks and the fault in place in our children. Can they Taft allow parents like me to request an honest conversation with a responsible counselor o social worker not cranky or overly tired to discuss why they don't plan and hold responsible the parents and students that are a threat to the other students, I am ready to take action to have one particular pair of parents and the counselor responsible for the damage they are doing to my child by make the school find resources for one particular young lady that is special needs and attack others, a treatment plan need to be implemented, special transportation ultimately find an therapeutic school for her, so she can receive the need she deserve as well that no endanger others students with her constant acting out.

Taft High School 4

Posted August 10, 2015
- a student
Taft high school is a great high school, if you attend Ib, AVID,ROTC or the Academic Center. If you do regulars, then your going to have to work really hard to excel in your class. In the good programs that I stated above, kids are respectful to the teachers, do their work and talk once in a while. But in regulars, its chaotic! Im a student at Taft and am a part of IB, but the few regular classes I have are nightmares. Kids swear at the teacher, argue with them, talk as if their outside of school and once in a while, you'll see a few kids using a hookah pen(in class). Now the new principal is doing excellent and the programs their are at a Lane Tech-Northside level, their are some underlying problems here that need to be fixed to reach those levels. First, we have to get rid of the terrible guards here who seem to respect the troublemakers and scream at the kids who are doing nothing wrong. You need your id present when you walk into the lunchroom, but the guards don't even check, they just stare at your face when you walk in. Second problem, the bathrooms here are a mess!! Their are no locks on the stall doors, their is graffiti on the walls and the bathroom overall smells like a sewer(their is also puddles and 2 pieces of toilet paper!) and lastly, we need to discipline some of these kids in regulars. They smoke after school, during school and before school, fight like bulls in the lunchroom and just don't care about their grade. We need to stop caring for these individuals because they don't care about grades, they care about how "dope is cool" and "swag is for life", and meanwhile we employ excellent teachers to teach these fools who'd rather skip school than learn. But overall, Taft is an amazing school with a great science program, theater program and music program. makes sure though to enter a academic program than regulars cause you'll find yourself unchallenged in regulars.


Taft High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 10, 2015
- a student
The teachers excel at doing their job efficiently, correctly and by teaching kids the skills they need in life

Taft High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 10, 2015
- a student
I feel that they just aq right amount of homework for students in their classes overall

Nearby schools

Taft High School
6530 West Bryn Mawr Ave, Chicago, IL  60631
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 86 reviews. (773) 534-1000
Last modified Taft High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top