Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
70 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Taft High School 1

Posted May 01, 2016
- a community member
I just heard a program about proms on NPR (radio) that featured Taft H.S. As described by teachers and a reporter at Taft there is a prom tradition in which during the prom the girls are asked to sit on chairs on the dance floor and then their dates kneel before them. At this point, the boys put their heads between their dates' thighs and remove the garter with their TEETH! What a disgraceful spectacle! Are we kidding? I am barely religious, but what about the dignity of these young women? Why would some "strip club activity" be elevated to a "rite of passage?" I place the blame on the administration, the faculty and the parents.

Taft High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 01, 2016
- a community member
Back to the indifference/ no I mean acquiescence on the faculty's part re: the prom garter ritual.


Taft High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 01, 2016
- a community member
Because of the indifferent attitude on the part of the school in regard to its prom activities.

Taft High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Because the set up for the answer is wrong, you can rate and address different topics in one question. Develop a different tool with questions done separately, and you will a more efficient feedback. Personally, Fairness is not helping or developing in the students you are act as blaming, tired systems that needs organizational intervention. Bueno crei que estaba dando advocay a lo padres que no hablan ingles, porque cambian elformato, si ven es asi como los tratan, lo siento todos espero buscan un futuro mjor, no se juega con la cabeza de la gente. gracias

Taft High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
poniendome en los zapatos de los padres latinos, diria que no se porque hay muy poca ayuda en espanol y es dificil comunicarse con nadie alli.


Taft High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
No continuo con lo mismo ya se los dije en ingles y espero que me escuchen. NO quiero que me aterrorizen a mi hijo. Y luego lo hacen decir cosas que ustedes quieren escuchar por que el no quiere ya mas invenciones de los estudiantes que necesitan una escuela especializada en servir estudiantes, que con un diagnostico de necesidades especiales actuan violantamente y atacan a otros, luego van y mienten con el consejero. Utilizen sus contactos y encuentrenle a esos estudiantes a fitness of good enviroment donde haya forma de controlar esos impulsos y rendirle modificacion en su comportamiento, y una vida mas feliz. Ya dije todo, ahora ganemos todos, y que haya una paz en cada hogar, vayan con Dios.

Taft High School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
about 5 parents whom discuss with me the pain which they been suffering while at the school and more of dozen students that are frustrated with the way they push them around the deans, the counselors.

Taft High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
I only like to see results by the way of democratic evaluation from parents and their children, we fill the information and then is evaluated and you need at least more than half of subjects to reach a conclusion.


Taft High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Open your doors and let parents evaluate with our children in questionnaires or some excellent tool, and you will have your answer, students and parents need to give grade from the head of the school to the most modest worker.

Taft High School 1

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
My son has attended this school because we have no choice, during this time we have experience stress, anxiety and above all fear due to the way they force students, i have my research to admitted to things they have done. The staff is forcing, unruly students to sign documents that are not even appropriate, they don't have in place a program with extreme special needs, and many times these students are aggressive and hurt other students and make stories and they are believed just because they say so. As a parent and professional I find the atmosphere for learning is contaminated with threats and not facilitating a positive experience for my child. Teachers leave without noticed, the tutors and teachers are always in the rush to leave to their home, and there is no one there who listen,reply to e-mails, we call for staffing with all the staff that relates to our children and nothing happen. I will like to send my son to a better school in Chicago where safety and respect plus learning take place but is a dream Chicago Schools are suffering terrible setbacks and the fault in place in our children. Can they Taft allow parents like me to request an honest conversation with a responsible counselor o social worker not cranky or overly tired to discuss why they don't plan and hold responsible the parents and students that are a threat to the other students, I am ready to take action to have one particular pair of parents and the counselor responsible for the damage they are doing to my child by make the school find resources for one particular young lady that is special needs and attack others, a treatment plan need to be implemented, special transportation ultimately find an therapeutic school for her, so she can receive the need she deserve as well that no endanger others students with her constant acting out.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Taft High School
6530 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, IL  60631
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. (773) 534-1000
Last modified Taft High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top